We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayes Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayes Barton
Ranked #11 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for a week from 9 Aug 14 what a great welcome we had from Joan and Chris a friendly run hotel with great food,Very clean would stay again. also very dog friendly free wifi at bar are and lounge. Jeanette Steve and Grace

Room Tip: family room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, our first time at this hotel, brilliant food, people and atmosphere. We enjoyed every minute and felt very welcome! Very lovely, and accepting toward our 4 legged friend and would recommend to anyone who is wanting a relaxing pet friendly holiday!

We will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed here several times. It is excellent, lovely owners, very well cooked breakfast and it is very clean. We have friends locally and will be back as soon as we can. Cant fault it. It is only a few minutes walk to the village where there are lots of good pubs and restaurants. I know from other guests who have an evening meal thats Joan's cooking is very good for an evening meal there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnetaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our second trip to the IOW. The last time we took our trailer tent because we can never find anywhere that will cater for my gluten free diet and also take dogs. However having seen their advertisement we thought we would take the plunge.
It couldn't have been better The food was excellent, the bed very comfortable and the room sparkling clean. Chris and Joan couldn't have been more helpful and I loved the little touches, such as a hot water bottle if you need one. Katie was adorable and very good with other dogs. Our nervous lurcher visibly relaxed because everyone was friendly without overwhelming him. Ace.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and if we go to the IOW again we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second stay at Hayes Barton. As before Joan and Chris made us very welcome and as before the food was absolutely wonderful. Joan's cooking is fantastic and the menu varied - just make your choice. The wonderful waitress Jean is a breath of fresh air and very friendly - always nice to have a chat with her. Can't fault the Hayes Barton at all - you won't find anywhere better.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the front of the property and has a king size bed. Room 5 has been newly decorated wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at Hayes Barton ... We stayed in a newly refurbished room that was cosy and tastefully done. Joan and Chris made us feel so welcome as did Katie their lovely dog!! We don't usually stay more than once at a place as we like to try new places but this is such a lovely place we wouldn't find anywhere nicer so without doubt we'll be back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A Warm Welcoming, Child Friendly, Family Eating, Super Cooking, Dog Loving, Good Staffing, Super Cleaning Hotel for all the Family. A great place to take you family if you want to go around the Island and have a look around. Super!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Barton

Property: Hayes Barton
Address: 7 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayes Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true home from home in a quiet area in Shanklin. Close to a local park with a childrens' play area and grass and woodland walks to take your dog. We offer Bed and Breakfast and Half Board (both inclusive of car ferry) options. We have an AA Dining Award which is given in recognition of a very special, high quality dinner, with emphasis on freshly prepared local ingredients. We have a variety of bedroom options from standard double bedroom to bedrooms with superking size beds and family suites each comprising two bedrooms with an interconnecting door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hayes Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Barton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing