We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views and friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Overstrand Hotel

The Overstrand Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Overstrand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely views and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Three night stay making good use of the outdoor pool after breakfast and before going out for the day. Pool open 9.30 till 7pm. Friendly staff and a good breakfast available with fixed times 8.30 to 9.15/9.30am. Bar open 8 to 10 pm. Ensuite was tight for space and the shower spray over the bath with shower screen not easy to use without soaking the floor. Lovely views with lots of outdoor space and close to the coastal path. Great TV in the room but difficult to watch from either the double bed or the bunk beds given its position on the wall to the side of the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family0fthree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have stayed for a week at the Overstrand hotel for the last four years and find it to be a very relaxing place for all the family. The setting is lovely with a large heated pool and spacious garden . The rooms are clean and most have great views. Breakfast is one of the best available for the price, with a very good selection. The staff are really very pleasant and welcoming. I doubt there is a better hotel in shanklin in it's price range. Recommended.
I Davies

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Overstrand is a friendly and welcoming hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner. Personal service by the owner is hard to come by these days but a true bonus in the Overstrand. Good clean rooms, warm and clean communal areas. Very accepting of large parties - a great all rounder for a short stay venue! Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughes8372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here with my parents and grandparents, had a lovely week overall. The facilities include a bar and lounge, heated outdoor pool, tennis court, spacious garden and comfortable dining area. Special requirements were made at breakfast and the staff were happy to oblige us.

A wonderful place, would stay there again if we go back to the island.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_halsall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We had come to the end of an adventurous sailing holiday and wanted some luxury on the isle of wight to finish with. We found we could stay at the overstrand hotel which is fantastically situated between sandown and shanklin with awesome views out to sea. It also has a lovely outdoor swimming pool which our 4 children aged 3-13 yrs thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel itself is characterful and charming with very friendly staff. The breakfast was full english and we would certainly recommend staying. The only draw back ( which in our view actually was a bonus)was they only do breakfast but frankly shanklin sea front with all it's restaurants is only 10 mins walk away along the coastal path which you get to via the hotel garden gate. Thankyou for a great stay! it made our holiday - the Halfpennys

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Rooms (we had a double and a single): nice, if a little bit dusty and over-furnished (the double had two bedside chests of drawers, a separate large chest, a dressing table with two more chests of drawers and a double wardrobe!). Ensuite OK - only a shower cubicle in ours but there was a separate bathroom just down the corridor for those who wanted it. We didn't have a sea view - from the orientation of the house I suspect few rooms do.

Outside, the open lawn overlooks the bay - a fantastic place to sit and soak in the view. The small open-air swimming pool is clean and well-maintained, though its shape is more for splashing around in than actually swimming. (Note: 50p charge for a towel to use by the pool.) The grass tennis court on the other hand looks like several small land mines have been let off in it!

The breakfast was fine as hotel breakfasts go - nothing spectacular but perfectly good -again with a great view from the dining room. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the hotel bar, but I think we were its only customers that night. In a way it's a shame this hotel doesn't offer dinner, as it would make a good place to relax for the evening.

Most of the other guests were families with young children ,and the hotel seemed well set up to cope with these.

If I have one real criticism, it's this: the hotel is signed up to the tourist board's "Cyclists Welcome" scheme. We were certainly welcome, but the scheme rules say the hotel must provide secure cycle accommodation. In fact our bikes ended up in an open shed, with nothing fixed to attach our locks to. They need to do better on that. The other minor quibble is that they tend to go a little over the top with the notices telling you things you can't do - but I guess that's a grand old English guest-house tradition!

Overall though, a pleasant stay and I'd go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We have at last had a minute to write a review for or stay at the Overstrand Hotel. This has been an unexpectedly top-notch holiday. Having enjoyed Brittany for the last couple of years we decided on a re-vsit to the Isle of Wight - time and logistics etc. The Overstrand Hotel proved to be of recommendable quality. The house itself is a pretty decent piece of early Twentieth Century vernacular Architecture - samples of stained glass being of great quality. The hotel offers good facilities for children (five and over?) with tennis court and swimming pool. The pool is the right temperature and the pool area seems to catch the sun. Tennis court needs a bit of tlc but we all enjoyed it nevertheless. The garden offers a panoramic view over the sea that has to be the envy of most Shanklin and Sandown residents, it is really good! Topped off with a good cooked breakfast every morning, and a couple of drinks on an evening, and polite and friendly hosts, you get a good return for the extra few pounds the hotel costs over the average. Quiet, relaxing, and recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.8 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#13 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.2 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
0.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overstrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overstrand Hotel

Property: The Overstrand Hotel
Address: Howard Road, Shanklin PO37 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Overstrand Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing