We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The bedroom, king size bed , french doors and television
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom, king size bed , french doors and television
Private decking area, south facing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The bedroom, king size bed , french doors and television
Private decking area, south facing
The whole garden
Old Shanklin
Outside the Property
Shanklin Theatre
Wonderful isle for cycling
Isle of Wight steam train
Off road fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidV195...
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a fantastic stay at the lovely ivy garden cottage,the welcome pack was a fantastic touch and very much appreciated as it saved us shipping g that evening.

We particularly enjoyed the decked area, it was fantastic having a space that was just for us and we loved having breakfast and dinner out on the deck which was south facing and helped us make the most of every minute we spent on the island.

The cottage was wonderfully clean and had everything we needed for our stay.

The next time we are on the island we will be sure to book here.

Thank you for making us so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
We are so glad that you enjoyed The Ivy Cottage. It is a real pleasure that our guests make the most of the accommodation, the weather helped! Thanks you for being great guests and we would love to see you again, soon?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not dog friendly”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

There is no doubting Ivy Garden Cottage is a lovely rental with a very generous welcome package BUT I booked it for my first ever holiday for just me and my dog.so I was very careful with my choice of accommodation. The advertising said " specifically for our dog and pet lovers and has an area of garden for their use". This area was decoratively roped off decking. The lawn was only to be used with my dog on a lead and I was to ensure that he didn't poo or wee. Instead of being a beautiful cottage to retreat to after a long morning walk it was like a prison with bard doors consequently we cut our visit short.
Also I couldn't connect to the Wifi.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
I am sorry for the way you feel regarding the Cottage. The garden is shared with guests that do not have dogs and with children therefore it is only reasonable that the dog is on a lead especially if the owner is not in complete control. The weather must also be a factor as it was very hot and being inside was difficult. I do not consider leaving a dog in the accommodation alone is fair on the dog or to the accommodation. Maybe we could both learn a lesson from this and ensure that in future we are all aware of the issues of taking a dog on holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosy cottage hideaway!”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was a pleasure to stay at the Ivy Cottage - perfect location, just 10 mins walk into town or down to the beach. The cottage itself is fully equipped and perfect size for a couple - we especially loved the private patio - having breakfast outside on a sunny morning was lovely. Marion and Keith were perfect hosts, we really appreciated the added extras - bread, milk and some fabulous homemade scones. We can't recommend the cottage highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the patio area is a recent addition and so glad it was good for your breakfasts! We hope you see you back soon or anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Peaceful ”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The most perfect little cottage in a beautiful setting, wonderfully placed for easy access to all that Shanklin and beyond has to offer. Furnished and equipped to a high standard, we especially enjoyed the little terrace in the morning and how private and peaceful the cottage was. We genuinely could not have found a better place to stay and Marion is so lovely, we couldn't want for anything more.

A real gem. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
How lovely so glad you both enjoyed yourselves. We would love to see you back anytime soon??
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola f
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“relaxation at its best”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ivy Garden Cottage and would thoroughly reccommend it. A small haven of peace and quiet secluded from the main house nicely furnished and just big enough for two. Clean, comfortable and a little home from home. My daughter loved it and we intend to go back next year for longer. The Isle of Wight has so much to offer and our sunny days on the beach made it even more perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to you and your daughter returning
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLWB
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great location, warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Having recently returned from a lovely stay at the Ivy Cottage on the Isle of Wight visiting family I would recommend this rental. We were welcomed warmly by host Marion with fresh scones and made to feel immediately at home. Staying with our 3 month old daughter was also not a problem and we found the space, particularly the beautiful garden, ideal. The location was peaceful and private and perfect for reaching the town and beach by foot.
A great choice if you are looking for the personal touch and a home from home in a convenient location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing