We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to isle of wight”
Review of St Brelades Hotel

St Brelades Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Brelades Hotel
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just to say thank you to Don for making us welcome at St brelades
this was our first visit to the isle of wight and our first stay in a B&B
The accomodation was excellent as was the breakfast
I would recommend to our friends and family should they visit the island
and would certainly not hesitate to stay again
once again thank you Don for making our stay on the Island absolutely excellent

THANKS Shane,Mandy & Georgia

Room Tip: Just speak to Don and he will sort your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have just returned from a one week stay at St Brelades with my wife.

The hotel is in a superb location; a short walk downhill to the beach and the old village.

The owners were fantastic- friendly & helpful and the staff were great. The breakfast was brilliant (we had the English, but there are plenty of other options).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and are planning on heading back next year... Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

i stayed here with my two children for a few nights in the summer holidays, don was really welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the beds were amazing and had bunk beds for the kids which was good, breakfast was outstanding and filled you up for the day, had a room with toys for young children to play with, you can also relax in this room when the kids have gone to bed. location is good as its a walking distance away from shanklin beach and shops, was a overall good hotel to stay at, we really enjoyed our stay and we will be returning again next year x

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just returned from a short break on IoW at St Brelades. Both Don and Caroline are great hosts, welcoming and friendly as well as their family.
Hotel is in a great location, 2 mins from Shanklin's seafront and lots of activities so great if you are traveling with small children as I did.
Our stay was made very comfortable and all extra requests met with a keen sense of willing to help.
Our room was very clean and breakfasts here are generous and organised well for both adults and children. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place for anyone looking to stay in Shanklin. Well done Don and Caroline. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I recently visited this hotel with 25 year sixes for their school journey and we had a great time. We all had the choice of cereal, toast and a cooked breakfast each morning and a range of sandwiches were provided for our packed lunches each day. Our evening meals were also great and included a desert. The rooms were of a good standard and any issues were delt with in a timely fashion. The family running the hotel worked closely with us throughout our stay to give the children feedback about the tidiest and most behaved rooms. They also set down clear boundaries for the children, explaining that if these were met, they would provide the children with a disco for the last night. I can't fault the hotel and would highly recommend it any school thinking of booking it for their year sixes or a family trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernicecorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

If you are thinking of booking a school residential visit to the Isle of Wight, this is the best possible hotel. First of all, Don and Caroline are the most friendly, welcoming and accommodating of hosts. You couldn't hope to meet two more lovely, smiley and approachable people - and they are also very patient and understanding (even when the odd bit of sand might be brought back in from the beach!). Secondly, the food is superb. Careful thought has obviously been put into the menu as the hotel provides tasty but healthy meals which use good quality ingredients too. The children always give Don's cooking the thumbs up! Vegetarians and children with other dietary requirements are always looked after very well indeed. Thirdly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and sleep 2 to 5 children (which we prefer as the children seem to settle quicker at night time than in hotels we've stayed in where there have been 8 children in a room where four bunk beds have been squeezed in). Also, the lounge area offers a nice space for the children to socialise during their 'down time'. Finally the proximity to the beach is a real bonus. In fact the location of St Brelades is just perfect. One year, our school stayed in a hotel in Sandown instead (because of St Brelades popularity with school groups meaning we couldn't be accommodated), but we made sure that we were first in the queue the following year to guarantee a return to our number one choice on the island. The children tend to forget all about home as St Brelades is so homely that they end up not wanting to return to the mainland! We've already booked to return in 2013. Can't wait! (Chris, Year Six Teacher)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

School journey 2012
"Memeroble in a positive way
“Memorable in a positive way”
“So welcoming
So easy to get to the sea.
“It was wicked”
"I found it very welcoming."
"Rooms were fantastic!"
"Food was lovely."
"Close to the sea."
"Friendly staff."
"Loved the way the rooms were set out."
"Enjoyed my stay there."
"Had a fantastic disco laid on by the staff/owners."
"Great blace to be."
"I liked the high expectation of and firmness with the children, but also the fun side of the staff/owners"
"The staff at our school are looking forward to returning next year."

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Brelades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Brelades Hotel

Address: 15 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class:3 star — St Brelades Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safe golden beaches, esplanade and coastal cliff top walks are only a short stroll from St Brelades. Clean comfortable accommodation with friendly professional service. Perfectly located in Shanklin for the beach and the old village. Family rooms available, ferry crossing can be arranged. We pride ourselves on good hospitality, good food and excellent service. Whether it be a short break or a family holiday, St Brelades offers you a memorable time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Brelades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Brelades Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing