We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for comfort, convenience and exploring the beautiful Isle.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westfield Lodges and Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal location for comfort, convenience and exploring the beautiful Isle.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed a week in a lovely sea view self catering apartment. It was in excellent condition with all the modern conveniences. The heated swimming pool was a definite bonus. Great value for money and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtwtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

had a long weekend in the isle of wight, and booked this apartment through hoeseasons. wasnt really what we were expecting as usually go to holiday camps. but we were very pleased with the apartment. clean, good amenities, seperate living area and bedroom with a nice balcony. could quite happily have moved in! the only downside it is downhill so walking anywhere means going uphill, and the closest pub or shop is a good 20 min to half hour walk, depending on your speed. other than that i would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank behappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here with my family in August 2011 and I can honestly say it is the worst place I have ever stayed, how they can state on their website that this is luxury accommodation is totally beyond me!
We stayed in a three bedroom apartment directly above the swimming pool. The apartment absolutely stunk of chlorine - and that is not because the swimming pool was clean - it most certainly wasnt, there was mould growing up the walls of the pool which looked like it had a life all of its own.
There were cracked tiles on the bathroom floor which were dangerous to walk on, the bath was dirty with mould around the edges of the tiles - disgusting.
Both my daughter and I were ill during the holiday which was probably something to do with whatever lurgies were lurking around that disgusting filthy hole!
I would never ever advise anyone to go here - unless you have some macabre fetish for staying in filthy hovels which stink of about a million wet dogs, chlorine and general yukiness!!

Room Tip: Good room - Get back in your car, drive straight out of there........and go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here 2011 for one miserable week. Everyone in the lodges that we spoke to were complaining and couldn't wait to return home. Do not go to this awful place. The smell of the stained beds will remain with me for a long time. Swimming pool was absolutely filthy and I'm glad we did not take our grandchildren on this particular holiday. Should be closed down and the staff retrained for something useful like dog walking as they hadn't got a clue!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda186312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Didn't check trip advisor before we visited - how I wish we had. We stayed in one of the wooden lodges on site, and I can say without any doubt that it was the worst accomodation that I have ever stayed in. I will try to summarise the main problems we had, then go into more detail below as it is quite lengthy! If you are considering staying here I urge you to read my full experience.

The lodge was dirty, shabby, lots of things were broken or didn't work, and with small children I would say it was also dangerous. In my opinion it should have been condemned. The main 'block' of apartments (which look like a prison) was also disappointing, with weeds growing everywhere, overgrown trees, bushes and grass, and a swimming pool which was disgustingly dirty (mould, hair, old plasters) and dangerous (electric shower falling off wall, disconnected smoke alarm). I spent the week complaining, but got nowhere on most things. The on-site manager left during our first week, leaving a thoroughly unhelpful caretaker who spent most of her day sitting outside reception smoking, and who was unhelpful to the point of rudeness. Upon return home, numerous letters to the park and the owners were ignored. Speaking to the cleaners who were doing their best to tidy things up on the day of our departure, they agreed with all my complaints and said the place deserved to be shut down.

Below is a full rundown of our two week holiday. Following discovery of the 'main' issues, and being faced with no help from the park staff, I then went round taking note of anything that was below standard.:

Boiler broken - no hot water.
Fridge light didn’t work.
Neither cooker hood light nor extractor fan worked.
Freezer iced so bad it didn't work. Fridge also affected.
Trees outside lodge by parking bay severely overgrown. When car parked correctly in bay, access to boot impossible due to overgrown conifer. Access to front passenger door of car impeded by palm tree. Unable to get to lodge from drivers side of car due to overgrown conifer at rear, palm tree at side and other side of overgrown conifer blocking only other access. Only way to lodge is by crouching under overgrown tree or going round palm tree and through next-door lodge’s ‘front garden’. Car therefore had to be parked at an awkward angle (and partly obstructing access road to other accommodation on site) to allow my wife room to get in/out and to allow any of us access to the boot.
TV remote doesn’t work despite new batteries, as old batteries have been in it so long they have corroded the contacts. Remote held together with sellotape.
Toilet seat fell apart.
Towel ring in bathroom came off wall.
Toilet roll holder in bathroom came off wall.
Bedside lamp switch doesn’t work properly – difficult to get lamp to stay on.
Sauna in pool area not working for entire two week duration of our stay. ‘Out of order’ sign on door been up for so long it is faded and creased almost to the point of illegibility.
Shower rail in pool area of changing room fell off wall.
Middle washing machine (out of 3 in small laundry room) won’t drain water – fault light ‘check drain’ flashes. Water pumps out all over laundry room floor.
Left hand washing machine (out of 3) does not take in water and therefore completes a ‘dry wash’
Right hand washing machine didn't work at all.
Several items of crockery chipped.
Not a full set of six of everything (it is a six berth lodge) – teaspoons, wine glasses, tumblers…
Peeling paint in bathroom.
Faded pictures on wall.
Fronts falling off several drawers in bedrooms.
Smoke alarm in pool area disconnected and wires hanging from ceiling.
Missing ceiling tiles in swimming pool area.
Two lamps in swimming pool area not working.
Wooden railing around balcony of lodge next to ours had a number of poles missing, which during our first week the family staying there had to tie up with a piece of washing line to prevent their small children falling through.
Broken plastic planter/trough beneath balcony full of weeds rather than plants.
Lawn needed cutting for whole two weeks – unacceptably long especially for young children when grass is wet.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very pleased with the 2 bed apartment which was well furnished and bright and clean. Booking had been straight forward with helpful staff on the phone. The apartment was fully equipped not only with kitchen equipment (including a teapot!) but also with hairdryer, ironing board, clothes airer and seat pads for the good quality patio furniture on our ground floor patio - no sea view, but weren't in during the day anyway - A pity we didn't need to use it, but lovely for warm summer days. As this was an autumn break we were pleased that we had central heating which functioned perfectly. Our two sons, 13 & 7 loved the tennis court and swimming pool, which was clean and heated to a very pleasant temperature. Have since read some of the other negative reviews which seem to relate to the lodges, so can't comment, but apart from agreeing with the usefulness of a coat stand or coat hooks, there was nothing that made a difference to the enjoyability of our stay, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninepatch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Dirty,dangerous and damp.
The lodges should have been knocked down years ago!
Don't bother complaining as the bloke on site is simply not interested!(and very rude!)

Room Tip: try another site, many other lovely sites, wish i had known then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westfield Lodges and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westfield Lodges and Apartments

Property: Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Address: Westfield Lodges & Apartments Shore Road | Bonchurch, Ventnor PO38 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Westfield Lodges And Apartments Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing