We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now known as Riveria Park Apartments - needs some tlc!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westfield Lodges and Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Now known as Riveria Park Apartments - needs some tlc!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Enjoyed a few days in a second floor apartment. The accommodation might once have been 4 star, but it needs some tlc to bring it back to that star quality. It was an ideal base, but first impressions were that outside of lodges needed a jetwash, apartment block a lick of paint and trees, hedges etc., bit overgrown and needed a tidy up. Sign at the entrance still says Westfield Lodges and Apartments with Riveria logo. It's either one or the other as different logos on welcome pack etc too ??

The accommodation was clean and a nice size for family of 4 - double room and separate room with bunk beds, lounge/diner/kitchenette, with all essential kitchen equipment - however, negatives were little small things that could so easily have been sorted like .... dripping tap in kitchen, handle that fell off kitchen door in my hand, no lightshades, and the sauna in the swimming pool area that had obviously been out of order for some time, as notice saying 'out of order' was faded and tatty. Such a shame as a bit of money spent on keeping this place up together would make a big difference.

However, saying that, the small car parking area - which has a designated numbered space for each apartment (but bit of nightmare to get into and out of) was full during our mid week break, so very popular and especially for people with dogs - unless like us they too where expecting just that little bit more.

Not much in walking distance. Bonchurch village shop etc., has closed down and so only Pond Cafe Restaurant open in evenings and turn right on foot out of apartments and this will lead you down to Bonchurch shore area, turn right again at the sea and follow the sea wall along to Ventnor. This took us about 20/30 mins walk, which was lovely on a sunny day and ended our walk with a drink at the Spyglass Inn.

Room Tip: I would imagine paying extra for 3rd floor apartment, which should have a sea view would be benefici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diam0nd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were invited by our friends to share their six berth lodge, fondly called "the shed". It was fine. I was expecting a hole going on previous reviews but it was ok. It needs investment but it's location is very lovely. There are so many easy little things that could improve ratings and it's a shame. As a base it was fine. If we had booked it as "luxury accommodation" I too would have been miffed and someone should complain to the ASA because the Lodges are certainly not that but for the price we paid it was acceptable. If I had paid Hoseasons prices I would have been very unhappy.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElviraQueenofnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

What's the true meaning of luxury not Westfield lodges and apartments. We spent a week here in average accomadtion. On our floor the emergency lighting was a table lamp plugged in through a fire door which when we arrived was held open with a fire extinguisher. Cleanliness was not that great even though the carpet was vaxed prior to our arrival. It worried me why it warranted a call to tell me it needed doing,It was still wet and made the apartment smell for days. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable it would be worth the extra £100 for another bedroom as I sure the osteopath I'm booked in with will cost more! Another issue is that the bars and restaurants are advertised as being 5mins walking distance but this was not the case. A car is essential which determined our evenings. Overall had a nice holiday but would of enjoyed a bit more "luxury".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

we arrived on the 21st July expecting 'luxury accomodation' as advertised, this was far from luxury unless you have never ever been away before. We had booked to stay for a week in a lodge (magpie number 6). Here are all of the bad points that i am going to list - front porch light broken, table and chairs outside are rubbish ( in fear of collapsing to the floor), dirty indoor furniture (armchairs and sofa was dirty and dining chairs were filthy), the lodge in general has a dirty smell as if it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, extractor fan in kitchen broken, walls are dirty and paint was peeling off (especially in bathroom), mini hoover with no power lead (how are you meant to use it then?!), no shower! (in this day and age why wouldn't you have a shower considering they are a lot cheaper than baths) it took 4 of us approx 3 hours to each have a bath, bedding is rubbish (we had to make our own beds daily as the covers kept coming off), rooms are dusty and dirty, bedroom lamp not working properly, no drinking glasses only whiskey tumblers, towel rail came off in bathroom as did the toilet roll holder, mattresses are uncomfortable, laundry room is wet behind the washing machines, swimming pool is dirty (brown sludge on the wall at deep end, cieling tiles missing, dirty shower, i have never seen anyone to go and clean it, also the sauna was advertised and has not been working for a few years according to other reviews), tennis raquets missing and not enough balls, parking space is very limited (cannot open boot properly as overgrown trees), owners of the site actually let their dog excrete all over the grass, and to top it all off just as the OLYMPICS opening ceremony was about to start (the ONE time during the week we wanted to watch tv) the tv didn't work as the wires had actually snapped in the cable- we complained about this and they said 'someone checks the tv every week' of course they do?.... I think these people need to realise that it is a real job to provide accomodation for people so take it seriously! And it is false advertising (which you could actually take someone to court for) by saying it is luxury accomodation because it isn't!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed a week in a lovely sea view self catering apartment. It was in excellent condition with all the modern conveniences. The heated swimming pool was a definite bonus. Great value for money and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtwtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

had a long weekend in the isle of wight, and booked this apartment through hoeseasons. wasnt really what we were expecting as usually go to holiday camps. but we were very pleased with the apartment. clean, good amenities, seperate living area and bedroom with a nice balcony. could quite happily have moved in! the only downside it is downhill so walking anywhere means going uphill, and the closest pub or shop is a good 20 min to half hour walk, depending on your speed. other than that i would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank behappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here with my family in August 2011 and I can honestly say it is the worst place I have ever stayed, how they can state on their website that this is luxury accommodation is totally beyond me!
We stayed in a three bedroom apartment directly above the swimming pool. The apartment absolutely stunk of chlorine - and that is not because the swimming pool was clean - it most certainly wasnt, there was mould growing up the walls of the pool which looked like it had a life all of its own.
There were cracked tiles on the bathroom floor which were dangerous to walk on, the bath was dirty with mould around the edges of the tiles - disgusting.
Both my daughter and I were ill during the holiday which was probably something to do with whatever lurgies were lurking around that disgusting filthy hole!
I would never ever advise anyone to go here - unless you have some macabre fetish for staying in filthy hovels which stink of about a million wet dogs, chlorine and general yukiness!!

Room Tip: Good room - Get back in your car, drive straight out of there........and go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westfield Lodges and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westfield Lodges and Apartments

Property: Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Address: Westfield Lodges & Apartments Shore Road | Bonchurch, Ventnor PO38 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Westfield Lodges And Apartments Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing