We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable break but some work required to amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable break but some work required to amenities”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our family of 3 plus dog returned to Westfield Lodges and stayed in the same apartment as a year previously. The 4 berth/2 bed ground floor apartment with patio area was comfortable and well equipped and as we remembered. However, a year on, the property is beginning to look in need of some tidying up - the apartment itself was fine although the tiled bathroom floor has numerous cracked tiles so needs replacing, and a lick of paint on the walls wouldn't go amiss. Minor things like a couple of missing lampshades, extractor fan lighting that works, replacing batteries in a wall clock, and buying a couple of table lamps and sorting out dripping taps and replacing the shower screen which leaks on the bathroom floor could all be sorted in a day and would return the accommodation to a good standard. As noted by other reviewers, the outside masonry could do with painting, the grounds tidying up and the sauna in the swimming pool complex which has been out of order for a year repairing, Our apartment had a washing machine so we didn't need to use the communal facilities but 1 of the 4 machines was out of order and another stuck together with tape. At the price we paid for a week, which included the ferry, these are not major gripes but if I had paid £1800 for a fortnight in August I would have been disappointed. The accommodation is within a 20/25 minute walk of Ventnor (along the sea wall), which is great if dry. Bonchurch is quaint (but hilly) and a car to get around is essential. Don't let the comments above put you off going as its a relaxing place to stay, but be prepared for the fact first impressions maybe a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will probably have sea views. Ground floor apartments don't have views but have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed in a Westfield (AKA Riveria) apartment and loved it so much we came back for another stay !!!

I cannot believe how well priced these lodges and apartments are because they are really, really good being clean, tidy, well equipped and with a really nice atmosphere.

All the staff are really friendly and caring. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them

Everything we needed was in the apartment and everything worked - central heating, washing machine, kitchen stuff, bathroom stuff, TV/DVD etc

The WiFi was really easy to log on to, the connection was always available and never broke and it seemed to be slightly above average speed

The only problem is car parking is very tight (although a few nights (when they were not fully occupied) it was easier to maneuver)

Over the time of our two holidays here, we met a lot of people who all seemed to like it as well

Also the area itself is really special with a very peaceful and timeless atmosphere, lovely walks and stunning views

The sea shore is so near you can hear it and a lot of the lodges and the top apartments have a sea view (the ground apartments have a large patio with outdoor table and chairs instead)

Our best memory, sitting back at the nearby Spyglass Inn with a pint of Guiness and a steak and chips meal, listening to the live music and crashing sea, watching the sun go down

Are we coming back for a third stay ? Yes !!

To all staff at Westfield - thank you SO, SO much for our two best holiday's ever :o)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomALeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Enjoyed a few days in a second floor apartment. The accommodation might once have been 4 star, but it needs some tlc to bring it back to that star quality. It was an ideal base, but first impressions were that outside of lodges needed a jetwash, apartment block a lick of paint and trees, hedges etc., bit overgrown and needed a tidy up. Sign at the entrance still says Westfield Lodges and Apartments with Riveria logo. It's either one or the other as different logos on welcome pack etc too ??

The accommodation was clean and a nice size for family of 4 - double room and separate room with bunk beds, lounge/diner/kitchenette, with all essential kitchen equipment - however, negatives were little small things that could so easily have been sorted like .... dripping tap in kitchen, handle that fell off kitchen door in my hand, no lightshades, and the sauna in the swimming pool area that had obviously been out of order for some time, as notice saying 'out of order' was faded and tatty. Such a shame as a bit of money spent on keeping this place up together would make a big difference.

However, saying that, the small car parking area - which has a designated numbered space for each apartment (but bit of nightmare to get into and out of) was full during our mid week break, so very popular and especially for people with dogs - unless like us they too where expecting just that little bit more.

Not much in walking distance. Bonchurch village shop etc., has closed down and so only Pond Cafe Restaurant open in evenings and turn right on foot out of apartments and this will lead you down to Bonchurch shore area, turn right again at the sea and follow the sea wall along to Ventnor. This took us about 20/30 mins walk, which was lovely on a sunny day and ended our walk with a drink at the Spyglass Inn.

Room Tip: I would imagine paying extra for 3rd floor apartment, which should have a sea view would be benefici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diam0nd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were invited by our friends to share their six berth lodge, fondly called "the shed". It was fine. I was expecting a hole going on previous reviews but it was ok. It needs investment but it's location is very lovely. There are so many easy little things that could improve ratings and it's a shame. As a base it was fine. If we had booked it as "luxury accommodation" I too would have been miffed and someone should complain to the ASA because the Lodges are certainly not that but for the price we paid it was acceptable. If I had paid Hoseasons prices I would have been very unhappy.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElviraQueenofnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What's the true meaning of luxury not Westfield lodges and apartments. We spent a week here in average accomadtion. On our floor the emergency lighting was a table lamp plugged in through a fire door which when we arrived was held open with a fire extinguisher. Cleanliness was not that great even though the carpet was vaxed prior to our arrival. It worried me why it warranted a call to tell me it needed doing,It was still wet and made the apartment smell for days. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable it would be worth the extra £100 for another bedroom as I sure the osteopath I'm booked in with will cost more! Another issue is that the bars and restaurants are advertised as being 5mins walking distance but this was not the case. A car is essential which determined our evenings. Overall had a nice holiday but would of enjoyed a bit more "luxury".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

we arrived on the 21st July expecting 'luxury accomodation' as advertised, this was far from luxury unless you have never ever been away before. We had booked to stay for a week in a lodge (magpie number 6). Here are all of the bad points that i am going to list - front porch light broken, table and chairs outside are rubbish ( in fear of collapsing to the floor), dirty indoor furniture (armchairs and sofa was dirty and dining chairs were filthy), the lodge in general has a dirty smell as if it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, extractor fan in kitchen broken, walls are dirty and paint was peeling off (especially in bathroom), mini hoover with no power lead (how are you meant to use it then?!), no shower! (in this day and age why wouldn't you have a shower considering they are a lot cheaper than baths) it took 4 of us approx 3 hours to each have a bath, bedding is rubbish (we had to make our own beds daily as the covers kept coming off), rooms are dusty and dirty, bedroom lamp not working properly, no drinking glasses only whiskey tumblers, towel rail came off in bathroom as did the toilet roll holder, mattresses are uncomfortable, laundry room is wet behind the washing machines, swimming pool is dirty (brown sludge on the wall at deep end, cieling tiles missing, dirty shower, i have never seen anyone to go and clean it, also the sauna was advertised and has not been working for a few years according to other reviews), tennis raquets missing and not enough balls, parking space is very limited (cannot open boot properly as overgrown trees), owners of the site actually let their dog excrete all over the grass, and to top it all off just as the OLYMPICS opening ceremony was about to start (the ONE time during the week we wanted to watch tv) the tv didn't work as the wires had actually snapped in the cable- we complained about this and they said 'someone checks the tv every week' of course they do?.... I think these people need to realise that it is a real job to provide accomodation for people so take it seriously! And it is false advertising (which you could actually take someone to court for) by saying it is luxury accomodation because it isn't!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed a week in a lovely sea view self catering apartment. It was in excellent condition with all the modern conveniences. The heated swimming pool was a definite bonus. Great value for money and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtwtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.3 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#4 of 17 in Ventnor
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westfield Lodges and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westfield Lodges and Apartments

Property: Westfield Lodges and Apartments
Address: Westfield Lodges & Apartments Shore Road | Bonchurch, Ventnor PO38 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Westfield Lodges And Apartments Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing