We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

The Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Been here twice with my boyfriend. If you like donkeys, it's the place for you. He even bought a donkey t-shirt.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    264
    43
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
havant
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Good to see the donkeys well loved, and well looked after.

Thank you Dave in the shop for your help and enthusiasm.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnerough08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definatly worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Hi we took my Granddaughter on the last bank holiday, and she really enjoyed it, so did we all, they do such a great job caring for the animals, I was shocked to see how many donkey's they had there, I was shocked to learn on arrival that they do not charge for entry, as it is well worth paying for, they just ask that people give donation, so please try and be as generous as possible as they are doing such a great job, and the animals are expensive to keep, and they are mostly I believe are volunteers working there, the whole story of how the sanctuary was stared is all on display and very interesting to my 7 year old Granddaughter.
Keep up the great work.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Donkey Heaven..!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My partner and me have just returned home from a wonderful weeks holiday on the IOW, the IOW Donkey Sanctuary being one of the stops.

A lovely place to see these beautiful creatures live happily compared to their previous lives. Free on admission but can't stress enough for the public to leave a donation. The donkey sanctuary works very hard to give these donkeys a happy home.

There is plenty of car parking, a little shop and cafe selling donkey souvenirs, coffee and cakes. The staff were so friendly, helpful and enthusiastic explaining about the different donkeys and layout of the sanctuary. Well worth a visit and will definitely go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worksop
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Free to enter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Ten mins and youve done here but its free to enter. Staff are helpful. Lots of donkeys to see. Small shop. Could do with bit more to see but it is very nice place to see.

Helpful?
Thank sarahmtyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing