We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay - lovely spyglass”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spyglass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spyglass Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Ventnor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yay - lovely spyglass”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We love this pub. Very family and dog friendly, not pretentious, good food (simple and gummy with large portions) and not too expensive. A lovely view over Ventnor and a thoroughly nice place to go. A good range of ales too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

we love the spyglass! we went there for a meal when we were staying in Ventnor 5 yrs ago, and have just come back from anouther holiday on IOW. we had to go back to see if it was as good as we remebered...it is! lovely food and a fantastic view what more could you ask for? have not stayed, but with that view i'd like to.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Have been coming to the Isle of Wight since I was a little girl (I'm now in my twenties), and every year my family and I always return here at least once during our holiday.

Warning: MASSIVE PORTIONS, so come ready for a good meal, and see you if have room for a pud (I particularly recommend the hot sticky toffee pudding).

Fantastic views, in fact I haven't come across views like it anywhere I've been in the world.

The only areas that could be improved are the inside of the pub and the staff: the inside is very very very dark - even for a traditional pub, it really is about the fantastic outside area and the views. The staff can also be a little rude but nothing too bad to really complain about.

An place you absolutely must visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemisstravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Having just read the V B review which coated the best pub on the south coast, never mind the IOW, we would like to point out that this pub is always busy and the queue for food goes out of the door for 10 months of the year!
I was once told that people would crawl over broken glass and barbed wire to eat and drink at the Spy and this still holds true. Location, location, location, quality food, quality food, quality food. Thanks Henry and Ryan.
It just goes to show that envy and jealousy have no place on review websites.
Greed and avarice are the currency of major tourism and any minx that believes otherwise should keep playing the guitar.

Room Tip: If you don't like it, stay at The Royal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We spent a week in Ventnor (not staying at The Spyglass) in May, 2011.

We had been recommended The Spyglass by a couple of people, who said the food and location were fab!

We were delighted when we realised The Spyglass was a 5 minute stroll along the Esplanade from where we were staying.

The pub is a "traditional" style pub (dark, low ceilings, cluttered) but that kind of added to the charm. Set right on the waters edge, at the end of the beach, the view is truly breath-taking, and it really is one of the best spots on the island.

We went to the bar, to be greeted by 5 members of staff, none of them welcoming, none of them asking how they could help. Eventually, a gentleman grunted in our direction (after eventually putting his pint of ale down to serve us) and took our drink orders, only to be told, they didn't accept card payment for anything less than £10. We cobbled together the money for our drinks and went to sit outside the pub to take in the view.

Undeterred, we went back for something to eat in the evening. After a hunt for a menu (be warned garlic is served with almost every meal in some shape or form!) we went to the bar, to be greeted by the same unhelpful and unapproachable staff (minus the man who served us earlier, I can only assume he was in a corner somewhere with his beer). Reluctantly (again) a member of staff took my order and mumbled to me that they didn't really do starters (even though what we were ordering was on their "specials" board as a starter) and all the food would come up at the same time.

We paid for the "starters" and then went back to the bar and ordered our main courses separately.

The food in itself was very good (we had sirloin steak - no steak knife, and sea bass from the specials board). The portions are massive, you certainly don't need a starter or a pud, given the amount of food you get, it’s very good value for money.

The tables are very close together however, and the pub is quite dark. It's quite clear that the staff are not happy in their work (we did go there more than once) and that they really don't want to be there. The staff favour the locals (who have tables especially reserved for them near the bar) and resent tourists - there certainly isn't a warm welcome you'd expect to get when you see how traditional the pub is, which is a bit of a shame, given where it is.

People will go there and go back, as we did, not because of the warm welcome, but because of its location and maybe that's why they can get away with being so very rude to the tourists - the tourists who come to spend their money and who allow them to stay open and serve their precious locals out of season.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawa-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I've been to the Isle of Wight many times and have always wanted to stay here. But what a shame -- now that I have I probably won't be coming back.

The location is absolutely breathtaking... probably the best on the island with a beautiful view out to sea and a lovely terrace for having a drink. The rooms themselves are actually small one-bedroom flats, which would in theory make them perfect for a week's holiday. But the flat I stayed in was in serious need of redecorating -- and not just because I was hoping for a plasma TV or a marble wet room. For £75 a night you know not to expect 5-star luxury... but cleanliness is kind of essential even in rooms above a pub. There's no other way of saying it -- it's really grimy and needs a good scrubbing. There's a small kitchenette built into the corner of the living room and I'm guessing it's had 10 years of fry ups permeating the woodchip wallpaper and the swirly pub carpet. I opened every window in the place and it still smelled like someone had left a chip pan under the sofa. There was a kettle which looked like it had last been used by a crew of builders and a toaster covered in somebody else's crumbs. And the bathroom is a throwback to some distant decade when bathing was considered a chore and any comfort a frivolous luxury.

Be careful too if you're hoping for a balcony and a view of the sea. Only two of the flats have a view and even they overlook the roof of the party room. The "balcony" is really only a wide walkway at the top of a flight of dodgy metal steps, and when you try to sit out with a drink you can't hear the sea over the noise of the huge refrigeration unit. Which is also outside the bedroom windows so that's also what you hear at night.

Too bad -- with a little bit of care this could be a really great place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telbel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The setting of the Spyglass is beautiful - right down by the bay and on a sunny morning we felt like we were in the Med. The rooms are in fact a small flat with a bedroom. lounge and kitchen area. We liked this idea and arrived to find the ingredients for breakfast in the fridge. it seemed like the flat hadn't been used much recently as it felt a little musty but turning the heaters up to full soon fixed this.

I wasn't over impressede by the restaurant. The food we had was lovely HOWEVER a request for a starter was met with the comment that they didn't really do starters and anything we ordered would come out together (OK - we cancelled the started then !) and I know the kitchen had closed but thet still couldn't find us a plate of cheese. Small whinges I know. Then when I realised there wasn't any orange juice for breakfast the kitchen staff couldn't help with this as this required the bar to be open.....

Just really small things that niggled me a little.

Do be careful with access though as the upper flat required climbing a narrow steep metal staircase and anyone tall would need to be careful not to bang their head on it. I think that they may not accept children and if they do access could be difficult.

However overall the setting and convenience of the Spyglass win out. We paid £75 for two including breakfast for one night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn

Property: The Spyglass Inn
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Hotel Ventnor
The Spyglass Inn Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing