We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Spyglass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spyglass Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Ventnor B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We have been visiting Ventnor a lot over the past 5 years and a trip is never complete without a pint of Guinness and a crab salad at the Spyglass Inn. Great home comfort food and always a warm welcome. The menu is huge and there are always a few daily specials too. Most weekends there is live music. Great place :-)

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of friends. To start with it is very difficult to park here and so after you have been along the sea front (and hopefully found somewhere to park) go to the car park at the far end of the sea front from the restaurant and park there. We came in December and the car park was empty.

The pub is very atmospheric. I had the sea food curry it was delicious! (Although not hot - spice wise) - my husband had bread plaice and chips which was also well cooked. Service was good and food well presented. I would recommend the restaurant even with the effort needed for parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent a week in Ventnor and went here on 3 different nights (once for food).

Great location on the seafront, can sit on the 'top deck' and look out over the beach while having a nice pint of local ale.

Food is great - don't expect michelin-starred food, but as far as pub grub goes it is really nice, massive portions so make sure you are hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Wonderful location love Isle of Wight , the pub itself was lively and found the food good but the accomodation was very dated and amenities provided in the flat were inadequate. Also should state on their website that anyone with mobility problem should not stay as steep climb up narrow metal stairs to the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is just a review of the pub restaurant - The Spyglass.

We should amplify the above statement by making it clear that we visited the venue twice at what we would consider peak times and indeed despite tables crammed into every corner we were not able to find anywhere to sit, so arrive well ahead to stake your table. A third visit on a stormy Wednesday provided us with ample choice at 8pm. The pub itself is located at one end of Ventnor Beach and provides a broad view of both the beach and the shipping lanes as both cruises and the Royal Navy depart for open seas. There is no shortage of outside seating, on two decks with the ocean right below you, but even these can become packed when the weather tempts both tourists and locals to come out. Despite the bottleneck mentioned in other reviews, food orders were dealt with promptly and ours arrived in twenty minutes. An army of staff are crammed behind the quaint bar areas and fans of nautical themed decor items will not find themselves wanting for more here. Portions are ample, but some dishes sadly come without sides. Aiming to test the locally recommended seafood, I had half a lobster while my companion went for the fresh mackarel fish. She easily won out with it being among the best fresh sea food dish either of us had ever tasted, the Lobster seemed fine though being my first ever, I had little to compare it to, but I would certainly have another and it came with two heft sized hunks of fresh bread. However on a return visit we would both go for fresh fish catch of the day (There was certainly no doubt it was)
Don't expect waiter service, this is a pub and its a little too crammed for that, but staff will help as and when they can. No sign of the grumpy old Victor Meldrew in previous reviews, but we will be keeping an eye out for him in future. Also be aware that that there is an extended lounge area on the far end of the building which you access from the outside. Piano music is often provided on some nights. Overall we would come back. Our rating would actually be phrased as good though the prices overall are a little above average.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warlingham ,surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Perfect for lunchtime or evening ( great music every night) with tables right on seawall if weather ok to sit outside. If not the pub is subdivided into lovely atmospheric nooks and crannies serving fresh varied and large portions of great seafood and locally sourced produce generally.

You can even stay in one of the cottages attached.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kilgore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Visited twice for dinner while staying for week on island. Very buzzy each evening but were lucky to find a table in family area inside the pub with sea views near the door. The seabass and swordfish were best I've ever eaten, hubbie loved his steak and then burger, while son's scampi was devoured, although macaroni cheese was swimming in sauce and too rich for his liking. Perfect chips, crisp, salad and the freshest bread. Never had to wait more than 25 mins for food, despite how busy it was, and staff were friendly and efficient. To summarise, great food, location and atmosphere (free entertainment from singers to accordion player most nights)... Dog friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Page71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn

Property: The Spyglass Inn
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Hotel Ventnor
The Spyglass Inn Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing