We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly suprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spyglass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spyglass Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Merida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I've been here quite a few times in the past, and had some of the problems previously described- sticky tables, rammed, dark, etc. None such issues this time however- I took my kids for dinner as my 3-year-old son is pirate obsessed, and he loved all the ship memorabilia and the sitting at the ship's wheel table completely made his day. Table was cleaned as soon as we sat down, we had plenty of space and the food was good, especially as mine was accompanied by a pretty nice pint of 49er.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mejosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    17
    16
    5
See reviews for
31
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

On a recent visit to Ventnor myself and my partner had a few meals here with her two boys. The first was a lazy lunch on the terrace overlooking the beach and the second was an evening meal.

The food is well cooked and the portions are massive. I had the deluxe cheeseburger and my partner the cheese and coleslaw jacket potato, possibly the largest jacket either of us have ever seen!

Although the food is good the real reason for coming here is the view. Sitting on the terrace with a beer or some wine overlooking the beach while the kids play and build sand castles is fantastic and a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

The evening meal we had was also very good although you need to arrive early to grab a seat inside the pub if it's not warm enough to sit outside. If you don't you'll end up in the boathouse which is a function room/family area and although not completely soulless it lacks the charm of the main pub being an add on to the side of the main building.

Overall I'd defiantly return when next on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortgageboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We only visited The Spyglass Inn for food, didn't stay here. We went as a group of friends and had drinks and dinner here. Initially we only wanted a pre-dinner drink but given how pleasant the pub is we decided to have dinner there. Food is very nice, not too special, but good seafood. Service is good too. There was a gentleman playing the piano which made the evening even more pleasant. Good food and good beer, very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermelon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Visited this pub for food a long time ago, when the food was great. So on returning to the island after 10 years it was always going to be a destination for a meal. What a mistake! The pub seems to have gone seriously downhill, and may well be totally reliant on its great location for business. The food was bland and uninspired. The waitress who brought the food couple barely be bothered to speak, and only brought condiments after we pointed out that there were none. The fries were clearly cooked from frozen, and were heaped up to try and make the expensive meals worthwhile... though were barely edible (I left the majority of mine as did my partner).

I love Ventnor and its mix of old fashioned shops and boutiques, I'll definately be back to the town. The Spyglass Inn will only be a destination for a cool drink on a hot day on the beach... maybe!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Ventnor, with its shambling victorian villas tripping down the cliff into the sea, is a delight. At the far west end of the sometimes tacky seaside prom is a delightful pub. On the edge of the sea. A raised terrace; hot in the micro climate of Ventnor summers, wild and romantic in winter. Almost always full of people, just there for the view, whatever the weather.
Walls of photos and nick nacks inside alcoves and twisted rooms, like a proper 'mucky' pub, to keep you cosy indoors if the weather is just too wild outside. You can feel the ghosts of smugglers past and delve into dark corners for forgotten contraband!
The seafood is always spot on, specials board well worth sampling; the beer hand pulled, good, local and plentiful.
Park in the carpark above the pub, and finish off with a walk along the undercliff.
There are excellent bistro bijou restaraunts in the town if that's your thing, but none with this character - or this location

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have often eaten at the Spyglass and felt very much that it relies on it's location and that the quality of food and service is really not great. I have three times had to send food back that was barely tepid. But due to its convenient location for an event we were going to we decided to stay there in the B & B accommodation. We had it explained to us that the rate was for a 'suite' which included a kitchette where the necessary ingredients for a cooked breakfast would be left for us to cook ourselves. At the time this sounded quite good as it would give us flexibility. When we got to our 'suite' we found that it was a largish room with a sofa and a small table and chairs at one end and a bed at the other. Off the sofa area was the oldest, tiredest kitchette I have ever seen. It was beyond dismal, surpassed only by the dismal and freezing bathroom. All was worn, grubby and unpleasant. The bed had a very cheap very bouncy mattress and we had to leave the fan heater (our only heating) on the whole evening we were out just to get the place up to temperature. The view from the 'suite' was its only saving grace. In the morning when we looked at kitchen in daylight it and the utensils we so old and filthy that we left the breakfast ingredients in the fridge and went to a nearby cafe for breakfast. This meant we paid £80 for a very poor room in a town where a very good room is £70 and we had to pay for breakfast elsewhere. I really would not recommend anyone to stay here, despite the location, it is high time the owners pulled their fingers out and renovated.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manda_samm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We have been visiting Ventnor a lot over the past 5 years and a trip is never complete without a pint of Guinness and a crab salad at the Spyglass Inn. Great home comfort food and always a warm welcome. The menu is huge and there are always a few daily specials too. Most weekends there is live music. Great place :-)

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn

Property: The Spyglass Inn
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Hotel Ventnor
The Spyglass Inn Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing