We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good meal”
Review of The Spyglass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spyglass Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Ventnor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good meal”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Halfway through our visit we visited the Spyglass Inn. Cant complain at all - tuna steak cooked to my liking was delicious, the manager let us taste the excellent red wine before purchasing, 10 year old attempted to eat a burger that Adam Richman would struggle with, and everyone left satisfied. Good food, fairly fast service, managed to book the last Thai Curry in advance which was nice of them to reserve for us and was plentiful, and after a day touring Godshill it was a welcome place to go, rest, and eat well. Its a cosy pub and you can't book in advance, so turn up early, nab your seats, and settle down. They sometimes have musical entertainers - best to ask in advance if that's not your thing. Visited on a Monday 6-8pm. Place was about 2/3 full but getting busier as the evening wore on. Room to sit outside and dine and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    37
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've stayed several times here at their b&b and love the fact that I go to sleep at night hearing the sea, that I can cook my breakfast in the little kitchen, and then I can walk down to the pub to have a meal in the evening. It's fairly pricey but I've always found the food quite good - not Cordon Bleu but it is a pub! I like the atmosphere there too.
I'm going again on Friday so may update my review then!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Pity this pub is so poor as it is in a splendid location right by the sea. The staff vary between slapdash and plain rude. The drinks are over-priced and the food is way over-priced, although those with large appetites and small expectations might be happy with the large portions which unfortunately do not hide the tackiness of almost all of the food on offer.

The bars are unkempt, but not in an agreeably rustic way...they are just neglected, dirty, smell of stale beer and the whole place needs a clean, polish and paint. Like many pubs in prime locations, the Spyglass is there to extract the maximum cash from customers while providing the minimum effort or care in return. It is not really a pub in the sense I understand, but merely a production line establishment designed to get the largest possible turnover for the smallest possible outlay.

If you are desperately thirsty or hungry little harm will come to you by spending your money here, but The Met Tapas Bar on the same Esplanade is far, far better and cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Whilst staying in ventnor we thought we would try out a nice evening meal at the spyglass. Very bad move!!! Wife orderd roast chicken which came up like boiled tasteless chicken and I ordered burger special which was like two Iceland burgers in a bun!! All uncooked greasy sausage meat and def no way at all homecooked!!!! Absolutely terrible and would never eat their again! Ime a chef and I know crap food when I see it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby504182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were only so disappointed by our last visit because of how nice the Spyglass has been in the past. Their Lasagne was about as good as quality pub food gets and great value.
They have increased the price and replaced a great home made meal with what is definitely a supermarket bought version. £20 for two supermarket meals is poor value by anyone's standards.

It's a real shame as this place used to be lovely. Still a nice cozy pub with great views but being sold supermarket food at ten times the price is extremely poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

As a Islander this is one of the few pubs I recommended. The view is breathtaking either on a cold winter night with stormy waves crashing outside or a calm summers evening, and we are regular visitors- however we visited this week, pub was fairly quiet and to be honest we were rather disappointed. Three meals ordered, Thai fish curry, Gammon and a Macaroni cheese- Curry was tasty but presented with a blob of cold rice and a few lost looking prawn crackers, Gammon was huge but jacket potato black inside and the pasta sauce seemed to taste and look like it was made from melted orange processed cheese squares and was complimented by pasta ranging from under cooked, to dried out and shrivelled- so sadly we wont be eating there again , which is a shame as sadly the food has let down a perfect little pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyriderbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Went late afternoon on Saturday. Disappointed that we could not reserve a table whilst we had a drink on the deck. Staff were not very helpful in trying to get us a place to sit for 9 people. Pub itself despite being a large building is cramped inside which adds to the atmosphere but makes thing difficult for large groups. Food was good and plentiful and fairly priced and a great location. So overall they have got some of the harder things right, they just need to be a bit more helpful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn

Property: The Spyglass Inn
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Hotel Ventnor
The Spyglass Inn Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing