We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage in superb location.”
other travellers have booked this property
The view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view!
The South of France?
No - it's Ventnor Bay! The newly fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The view!
The South of France?
No - it's Ventnor Bay!
The newly fitted kitchen
The comfortable living area
The main bedroom
Bedroom 2 with sturdy bunks
The newly fitted shower room
Canute Cottage on the Esplanade
The Victorian beach hut, just a few steps away!
The famous Ventnor beach huts
Ventnor Beach
Ventnor Bay
Ventnor Park
The Botanical Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth A
1 review
“Superb cottage in superb location.”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a week in August. It was the first time we went to Ventnor and the first time we stayed in Canute Cottage. The whole stay was amazing and we're already looking at booking our next stay. Very highly recommend this place!

The cottage is modern and really well kept throughout. The kitchen was so well equipped that my husband managed to make a full roast dinner on the Sunday without any issues. The shower is very powerful and the heated towel rails are a lovely extra. The beds are really comfy (although the double bed was a tad short for my tall husband). The full Sky package was much appreciated in the evenings when we didn't go out. We watched some great movies and my hubby didn't miss any of the football. Wifi works perfectly too. The owners are lovely and very helpful. On arrival, they had left us a lovely cake, some biscuits, milk & fresh bread which was very much appreciated.

The location is excellent - you are literally a stone's throw away from the beech and it was a delight to wake up early, take my coffee to the beech (5 steps away!) and watch the sun come up whilst the waves crashed on the beech. Pure bliss!

Our 11-year-old son loved the place too. He had the freedom to explore, make friends & play in the sea. Having the added benefit of the fully equipped beach hut was fab.

All in all, a wonderful holiday and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thanks Ruth for the great review! we'll be pleased to welcome you again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cottage for a family”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage with our two grandaughters age 7 & 11. The cottage is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. A lovely welcome from the owners including home made cakes. The position is fantastic for the beach and the use of the beach hut is an excellent facility. Plenty of places to eat out and local shops. However I found the double bed a problem - I am 6ft 4! A slightly larger toaster would be an asset. We had a lovely holiday and the children will remember their stay on the Isle of Wight when they return to the USA. We would certainly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenbar...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool As At Canutes”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Canutes for a week. This is a lovely,clean, newly decorated and updated cottage right on the front at Ventnor. Its very bright and airy with an excellent sea veiw with skylights at the back of the property to catch the sea breeze and sunlight.

The decor is very simple but befits the modernised property and is very calming. Just across the single lane road 20ft away is the cottages beach hut with windbreak,deck chairs,buckets and spades etc. You can also hire sun loungers etc from a local business that runs and maintains the beach and its very clean and rubbish free.

We had some excellent days ,chilling out ,reading and watching the tide slowly roll in and it gets the sun for most of the day. There some excellent local eateries and cafes on the front but under 10 mins walk away is Ventnor town center which has some lovely little shops and a couple of small supermarkets (coop and tescos). Also some lovely places to eat and excellent fish and chips at The Chippy.

We didnt need to park a car but a parking permit comes with the flat. We recommend using the buses to get about and take in the veiws and get an excellent value Vectis bus 7 day rover ticket for £24 which is valid all over the island.There are some lovely local walks but some very pretty villages to visit as well as more traditional seaside places near by.

Osbourne house is well worth a visit and the walk across the downs from Freshwater to the Needles has amazing veiws.Theres is loads to do on the island but Ventnor is a lovely place to come back to at the end of the day and Canutes is the perfect retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you! So pleased that you enjoyed the cottage - see you in September!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage, very hi spec and so comfortable and bright”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband myself and our 18 month old daughter spent an absolutely lovely few days in Canute Cottage. It is idyllic, waking up to the sound of the sea - it is literally on the doorstep, out of the front door onto Ventnor beach - so relaxing. But what is so nice about this cottage is the things that are included and make it so special: FULL SKY TV!!!! Sport movies and all displayed on a lovely high end brand new TV. Fast broadband. Motorised and blinded skylights above the beds (really nice). Full island parking permit. Easy and plentiful parking up and down the esplanade and also a large carpark just a few steps up the road and a lovely welcome tray of handmade treats (delicious) and a surprisingly well stocked larder (eg bread, butter etc). We were so impressed, most holiday cottages furnish cheaply with tired furniture but this cottage is all shiny new and very comfortable. Jeane and Toni are great hosts and you want for nothing, so helpful. The bathroom was gleaming and spotless with a great shower. So impressed and would love to stay again, can't recommend highly enough - thank you for such a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks very much for this review - so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We'd be pleased to welcome you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 May 2017
Many thanks for this - we look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing