We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
The view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view!
The South of France?
No - it's Ventnor Bay! The newly fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The view!
The South of France?
No - it's Ventnor Bay!
The newly fitted kitchen
The comfortable living area
The main bedroom
Bedroom 2 with sturdy bunks
The newly fitted shower room
Canute Cottage on the Esplanade
The Victorian beach hut, just a few steps away!
The famous Ventnor beach huts
Ventnor Beach
Ventnor Bay
Ventnor Park
The Botanical Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa P
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I simply cannot fault this cottage or the owners, both were amazing. The locations is fantastic and the cottage is done to a high spec. The added extras including car parking and beach hut were greatly appreciated. Additionally the little extras like home baked cake, milk, butter, apples, choices of tea and coffee as well as salt, pepper, oil etc were very much appreciated. Though having said all that out granddaughter's favourite was the box of toys under the bed. She enjoyed hours of fun and we enjoyed a little peace and down time. We would love to take her back, though we would also love to go back as a couple, this cottage is ideal for both.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thanks, Lisa for your lovely comments! Thanks also for leaving the cottage so tidy - it was a pleasure to have you as guests, welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmar...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great cottage in a wonderful location.
Just loved Canute Cottage. Everything you need is in the cottage and more. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The many extras supplied by Jeane and Tony were really appreciated. The position right opposite the beach was beautiful and we could have sat all day and looked at the ocean. If only we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
Thank you, Margaret for the great review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed it - welcome back any time! Jeane & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRS JULIE...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

An absolutely lovely place to stay, everything had been thought of. Clean, & well decorated. Great place for kids on the seafront. Parking permit allows for free parking almost anywhere on the island. We had a lovely long weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thanks Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent establishment in ideal location”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Situate directly on the esplanade at Ventnor. Just open the door and cross the road and one is on the beach. Perfect.

Free parking at most locations on the Island, coupled with a full Sky TV package make this a bargain holiday not to be missed.

The property was well furnished and decorated. It was light and airy.

There is so much to do on the Island for individuals and families alike. Ventnor has lots to offer especially in establishments for dining.

When I return (which is annually) I'll check and see if Canute Cottage is available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Many thanks WiIl! We look forward to seeing you again.

Jeane & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALLY G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely sea-front holiday home”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in this fabulous little place right on the esplanade in Ventnor and thoroughly enjoyed our week!
The cottage was very clean, well equipped, comfortable and in a superb position. Plenty of places to eat along the sea front, and lovely walks along the cliff path. Well worth a trip to the botanic gardens too. We had fantastic weather which always helps, and swam in the sea most days.The beach was very clean and litter free.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thanks Sally. We're pleased that you had such a good holiday and would welcome you again any time. Tony & Jeane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
479rutha
1 review
“Superb cottage in superb location.”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a week in August. It was the first time we went to Ventnor and the first time we stayed in Canute Cottage. The whole stay was amazing and we're already looking at booking our next stay. Very highly recommend this place!

The cottage is modern and really well kept throughout. The kitchen was so well equipped that my husband managed to make a full roast dinner on the Sunday without any issues. The shower is very powerful and the heated towel rails are a lovely extra. The beds are really comfy (although the double bed was a tad short for my tall husband). The full Sky package was much appreciated in the evenings when we didn't go out. We watched some great movies and my hubby didn't miss any of the football. Wifi works perfectly too. The owners are lovely and very helpful. On arrival, they had left us a lovely cake, some biscuits, milk & fresh bread which was very much appreciated.

The location is excellent - you are literally a stone's throw away from the beech and it was a delight to wake up early, take my coffee to the beech (5 steps away!) and watch the sun come up whilst the waves crashed on the beech. Pure bliss!

Our 11-year-old son loved the place too. He had the freedom to explore, make friends & play in the sea. Having the added benefit of the fully equipped beach hut was fab.

All in all, a wonderful holiday and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thanks Ruth for the great review! we'll be pleased to welcome you again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cottage for a family”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage with our two grandaughters age 7 & 11. The cottage is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. A lovely welcome from the owners including home made cakes. The position is fantastic for the beach and the use of the beach hut is an excellent facility. Plenty of places to eat out and local shops. However I found the double bed a problem - I am 6ft 4! A slightly larger toaster would be an asset. We had a lovely holiday and the children will remember their stay on the Isle of Wight when they return to the USA. We would certainly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing