We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before. This is a great food experience! Lovely setting, superb food and excellent service.”

The Hambrough Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £12 - £39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Hambrough Restaurant sits high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor and both our gorgeous Restaurant and Bar offer spectacular views over the whole of Ventnor bay. The Hambrough Restaurant's is one of key destinations on the Island's culinary map. The Restaurant is open to residents and non-residents from Wednesday to Sunday for Lunch and Tuesday to Saturday for Dinner. Our Bar is open to all daily from 11 am serving teas, coffees, wines, champagnes and cocktails. It is the perfect spot to enjoy an indulgent afternoon cocktail, pop into for a drink after being on the beach or having an aperitif before Dinner.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been patrons of the Hamborough restaurant for more than 20 years. Last night was our first visit with the new chef Curtis in charge of the kitchen. We were absolutely delighted. His predecessor was excellent but the new chef is young and enthusiastic and motivated to set the bar even higher. We think the food experience now is at Michelin one star level. The venue, with sea view, has always been superb and the dining room sufficiently intimate not to feel crowded even when full. Geo, the maitre d' provides a welcoming and avuncular encouragement both to pursue the wine selctions but also just to enjoy the whole experience.
We are 'foodies', and really appreciated the variety of choices and attention to detail in the items on the menu. We heartily recommend the experiecne and will be going back in the near future!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magslola2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2024

What a wonderful evening we enjoyed at the Hambrough. Gio, the manager, could not have given us a warmer welcome or friendlier service. From the start he talked about the food and wine with great enthusiasm and knowledge. The kitchen did not disappoint, the meal was exceptional and so were the wines. I would happily recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great night out.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beltayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

A real foodie experience wonderfully prepared and presented dishes use locally sourced ingredients superb !
Best food on the island.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank mz1stclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

This is a seriously good restaurant. The food was outstanding. It’s a little strange/ funny inside, maybe not what you might expect from this type of high end restaurant but the people are kind and friendly.
We enjoyed our evening. I wouldn’t hesitate to say this really has to be one of the best restaurants on the Isle Of White. Well priced for such good food. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

A mother's day treat like no other, the moment I walked through the door I was made to feel special, We were seated the most wonderful view over the sea. Beautiful pink champagne was delivered without request, how wonderful. The staff were exceptionally attentive. Our first course (excuse me for not remembering the proper wording) was a puff filled with most delicious smoked cheese sauce topped with delicious caviar, next we had ox cheek pie with most amazing chard crisp. The main meal was lamb, wow what a punch of flavour and beautifully presented with luscious creamy garlic mash. The dessert was pear sponge, but the added extra bits made it sumptuous with every bite. Overall the food was my most memorable ever, every mouthful was a taste bud explosion. Excellent service, exceptional food. 👏

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Hambrough Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hambrough Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.