We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Manser B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manser B&B
Ranked #11 of 17 Ventnor B&B and Inns
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Found this place online and after a brief chat with Jill , we were booked and all set . We have been well looked after and all our needs (and our dogs needs) have been met . Great location beside beach , lovely people and friendly dogs , definately shall be back and for longer the next time especially after a smashing breakfast all of which was local and delicious . Definately worth a look

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here as a family, and were given two rooms, we also took the dog! They are lovely people, very welcoming, and the breakfast introduced my kids to eggs benedict (very well cooked). Their hounds were very keen on my dog, and he was chased around by them so he also had a good time. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our first time back to Ventnor since our honeymoon 40 years ago. Brought our border collie for a few days walking. We were very lucky both with amazing weather for October but also in choosing Manser B&B.

Manser just has to be the best B&B in the area. Jill, Sue and Pete are lovely people. They made us feel very welcome.

The location is just right - out the back garden gate 100 yards down to Castle Cove beach (dog ban having ended), turn right 100 yards to Steephill Cove or walk left for 15 minutes walk to reach Ventnor for evening food.

Quiet, clean and spacious ensuite rooms, and the ultimate breakfast providing fuel for those longer walks on the downs above Ventnor, Shanklin Chine along to Culver Cliffs, St Catherine's Hill and Hoy monument, Compton Bay, Tennyson Trail.

Great, we really it, thanks guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtteryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I'm sure that Manser is a lovely place to stay, but unfortunately we never got the chance to find out as our rooms were rebooked to other guests because we had not "confirmed our tentative booking"! We had sent a deposit of £44!!!

Out of the blue, we were informed of this cancellation (by post, no preliminary phone call) 3 weeks before our stay. Our ferry was booked, our plans made and we were really looking forward to our weekend. We were shocked!

So, if you are planning on staying at Manser, make sure that you regularly keep in touch with the owners so that they do not make the same mistake again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Really amazing place to go, surrounded By beautiful scenery! Pete, Jill and sue were very welcoming and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The dogs were no problem, you wouldn't notice they were there, but lapped up any attention possible! The twin room was very comfortable, homely and clean.. Made a perfect home for the week we stayed. The en suite was impecible, with a good shower, etc. Our room had a bay window, which gave a beautiful view over steephill cove.Breakfast was delicious, really tasty. Good hearty portions were served, with optional extras (cereal, yoghurt, etc.) and pete made a very good waiter, while Jill and Sue made very good chefs!! We had a lovely stay in the isle of Wight, travelling around and enjoying the beautiful weather we had!! Steep hill cove was absolutely beautiful, And only a few minutes walk away from the b&b, which came in more than handy. Vent nor was only a fifteen minutes walk away, so we enjoyed a brisk walk there a few times!! All round excellence, really good, would recommend it to Anyone. Really good value for money, had a really lovely stay!!

Room Tip: Twin room or double room, both fully equipped with tv sets, en suite, etc, with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Peter and Jill are very welcoming and friendly. The family room was a very good standard, and there were great extra touches such as bottles of water in the room every day, chocolates, and well-stocked tea & coffee etc. (The Tooth Fairy even visited our room when our son's tooth fell out!). The breakfast menu is extensive and really filled us up. This B&B is a great location for Steephill Cove and the Botanical Gardens. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a great time at the Manser. Jill, Pete and Sue were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them.  Their BandB was beautiful, really well kept, clean and nicely decorated. 

Our room was spacious, comfortable and full of little touches which were above and beyond what we would have expected.

I have never slept on such beautifully fresh smelling pillows and everything in the room was spotless.

One of the best things about the Manser was that we were able to take our whippet Cody there. He was made very welcomed by everyone including the resident labradors.

As mentioned by other guests, breakfast here is legendary. There is no better way to start the day than with a full English at the Manser, we had a quality monster breakfast every morning!

We are looking forward to going back next year or even sooner, can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lain_Coubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 17 in Ventnor
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Maur
St Maur
#5 of 17 in Ventnor
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manser B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manser B&B

Property: Manser B&B
Address: Manser Steephill Road, Ventnor PO38 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run bed and breakfast above steephill cove, we have two large doubles and a twin, (all en-suite). Extensive breakfast menu (all dietry requirments catered for),guest lounge. we charge £35pppn all year round (sorry no credit/debit cards). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manser B&B Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing