We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Drawer”
Review of Manser B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manser B&B
Ranked #11 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Jill, Pete and Sue are the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. My family and I stayed for a 2 night break and felt immediately at home.
Rooms are spotless and well equipped. My only criticism is that I am used to a larger bed, so found our one a bit small. Guests also have use of a private lounge/dining area which is perfect if you fancy a night in with a takeaway.
Breakfast choice and quality is outstanding, with delicious locally sourced produce.
Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the hot tub, but it is available to guests all year.
The Manser is in a perfect location between Ventnor town and Steephill Cove, in a very quiet road.
I have stayed in a few B&Bs on the Isle Of Wight and would rate this as the best.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

Excellent location, close to Ventor Botanical Gardens. The owners are wonderfully welcoming. Very homely, clean cosy rooms, containing everything you need. Fab jukebox and huge full english breakfast. Bonus Hot Tub. Lovely walk from back garden down onto the cove or promanade. Value for money. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtimesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Wonderful location, outside of Ventnor town , nearer to Steephill Cove, walk out the back gate to the Cove. The owners cannot do enough for you. There is a hot tub should you wish to use it, a beautiful garden, guests lounge, and a Juke Box !!. Comfortable rooms all ensuite, rooms have tv, hospitality tray, including a variety of biscuits and chocolates. Bottled water provided daily on your bedside cabinet. The breakfast is a dream, such variety and superbly cooked . Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-Humphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Superb information from the hosts, lots of stories & reflections on life. Every morning starts with a bang, the juke box is on at breakfast time if you wish it, Pete dances for you. Would not hesitate to return!

Garry

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

perfect in every way! ideal location on the coastal path and for local town. breakfast is 5*
Owners welcoming & helpful to everyone. a must for the isle of wight visitor offering incredible value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Manser very much. Ventnor is a lovely place to stay with lots of places of interest, beautiful scenery/walk, places to eat and beaches.

The coastal path at the back of Manser is great and the view at the other end (2 minute walk) is amazing!

Jilly, Pete, and Sue could not do enough for us, they are extremely welcoming and they made our stay extra special. The 3 labradors are georgeous. We will definitely be returning next year or even sooner!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkinWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My Husband & I just knew that we had stumbled on very special accommodation,as soon as we entered the front gate of "Manser".

Our welcome was so warming by Gill,Pete,Sue and the 3 resident dogs,Poppy,BB & Toby and we immediately felt part of the family.We were offered a drink,but we declined.
Our room was so spacious,lovely,airy and there were so many little "extras" in the en-suite room.Not only was there the usual tray of teas and coffees,but there was also sachets of drinking chocolate and many varieties of herbal teas,together with 4 packets of biscuits. On the dressing table there was a bowl of chocolates and a bottle of water on each of the bedside cabinets. These were all replaced daily,by Sue who did the rooms so thoroughly.

We filled in a breakfast menu each evening,so as Gilly could get it all prepared for the time we stated we would be down. The menu was so vast,there were boxes of cereals,porridge(the best I had ever tasted),fresh fruit salad,which went down a treat on the porridge,instead of my usual spoonfuls of sugar! A large choice of a full English Breakfast,Kedgeree,Eggs Benedict,Croissants,Pancakes and not forgetting toast,Marmalade & Jam. It was fantastic and kept us going all day - Pete was brilliant as a waiter!! They just wanted to give us the very best in every way - including putting on weight!! The tables were laid beautifully,with flowers on each one - extra little touches.

The three labradors were adorable,so well behaved and they weren't allowed where the guests were. They were quite happy in their beautiful back garden,which the guests could freely use,with 2 sets of table & chairs - we were even offered drinks whilst there!
To our amazement there was even a hot tub for the guests use - a real luxury not found in many places.In the hall was a Juke Box,if you fancied listening to some of your favourite old or modern music.

There is a lovely cosy guest lounge,with T.V. books and games for the guests use.

Gilly,Pete & Sue go that little bit extra to make sure the holiday spent with them is "Memorable" in so many ways. We would give this B & B 5* status and would highly recommend it,as we feel it would be a job to find anywhere better.

It is near to Ventnor,very close to the beautiful Botanical Gardens and at the rear of the garden is a gate which leads you down to Steephill Cove - a glorious spot,with small restaurants selling freshly caught Crab and Lobster,served in various ways.

The only downfall that we can think of is that we had to return home at the end of a week of comfort and relaxation,not forgetting the wonderful weather they are fortunate to get in Ventnor.

We came as Guests and we left as Friends!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Maur
St Maur
#5 of 18 in Ventnor
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manser B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manser B&B

Address: Manser Steephill Road, Ventnor PO38 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run bed and breakfast above steephill cove, we have two large doubles and a twin, (all en-suite). Extensive breakfast menu (all dietry requirments catered for),guest lounge. we charge £35pppn all year round (sorry no credit/debit cards). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manser B&B Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing