We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a haven of peace and tranquillity.”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a haven of peace and tranquillity.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a gem of a hotel. It felt more like being in a lovely house - with staff who made you feel so special. The food was excellent, our room was beautiful and very comfortable. It was lovely to come in each day and have tea or coffee served in the conservatory overlooking the garden and the sea. There are two comfortable sitting rooms and the conservatory - so always plenty of room to relax.Everything is spotlessly clean, with great attention to detail - [really comfortable beds.] Congratulations to Gert and his team who have made this hotel such a wonderful place to stay and" recharge your bateries."

Room Tip: A seaview room would always be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mitcham Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We read the review of the hotel in the Sunday Telegraph and thought it was our kind of hotel, we were not dissapointed.
Everything was superb. We had room 1 which was beautifully appointed with a wonderfully comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom.

We ate in every night and the food was always of a high standard. The service was attentive but unobtrusive and nothing was too much for the staff. Breakfast was truly amazing, sausages to die for.

Hillside would not be so good if it wasn't for the excellent staff, including the two lovely ladies who cleaned the room each day with a cheery smile and a great sense of humour.

Hillside is though, so very good because of the unfailing drive and enthusiasm of Gert for whom nothing was too much trouble.

We will definatly be coming back. One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Well done to everyone for a truly inspiring hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large with a bay window and although on the side of the house still had a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were delighted with this lovely hotel. We stayed in the "Stables" which is in the gardens and enjoyed a huge bedroom on the first floor with a large ,comfortablee sofa, welsh blankets, new Bang & OlufsonTV. The shower room was below on the ground floor reached by a spiral staircase which was fine for us but might not be suitable for the elderly. The views from the hotel's garden room overlooking the bay are wonderful. The food was very good and the pre-dinner aperitifs were generous! Gert, the owner and his team are friendly and helpful and he clearly has a passion for delivering a top notch experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Recently stayed at Hillside for 3 nights and our stay lived up to expectations in every way. The decor is good and the all the rooms spotlessly clean. What impressed most of all was the way that Gert and his team make everyone so welcome. It seems effortless when people get it right but they certainly have paid attention to detail and put their guests first. We dined there each night and the food and wine were both superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a stunning boutique bed and breakfast. The service is so friendly and attentive. The rooms and common areas are so tastefully done and it is spotlessly clean. You are asked to knock on the door if you return after 10.00pm which is fine (it did make my husband feel uncomfortable) but do just be aware of that. The views from the house are gorgeous and sitting in their conservatory looking out are wonderful. They are always on hand to offer a pot of tea or glass of wine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were travelling with my mother in law, who is in her late-80s, and Hillside proved to be an ideal choice for us all. My mother in law was able to stay in a ground-floor room. An amazing hotel, in a peaceful location, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished, with interesting contemporary artwork. The service was excellent and both manager and staff really friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, especially for my mother in law, who thoroughly enjoyed her stay. We felt we were leaving old friends by the time we came away! Our room was bright and spotless, the beds were very comfortable. We had 2 evening meals in the hotel, both of which were to a high standard, with much attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Having arrived late on Sunday evening, we were warmly greeted by the delightful Danish proprietor, Gert. Having been shown to our rooms we were then invited to have drinks on the terrace with a view of the garden and the sea - perfect. The rooms were iimmaculate, clean, fresh and bright with individual duvets on the beds. The ambience was wonderful, the décor and artwork, stunning. The food was delicious and everything was fresh and home made. From the moment we entered until the minute we left we were made to feel relaxed, comfortable and that nothing was too much trouble. Gert even went out of his way to order some wine for us which we had appreciated over dinner. Certainly, we have never had such good service. We were made to feel very special. Well done to Gert, Anna and your team.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpottyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing