We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a great stay”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Hillside for six nights and found Gert and his team to be extremely welcoming and friendly. We really loved the hotel, it was more like home from home. Our room was lovely and we had side views to the sea, we were very happy with all aspects of the room it was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. We loved all the beautiful Scandinavian art work throughout the house. The house and grounds are picturesque, nice touch having the lambs and beehives at the far end of the grounds, good to catch a glimpse of the red squirrels too. This is a place for complete relaxation and being pampered.

Gert's idea of guests meeting at six thirty in the lounge areas if they wish we found to be a great idea to enable us to meet and chat to others before sitting down to dinner. We had a fabulous Champagne and sea food evening which is a twice a year event and we are pleased that we were lucky enough to be there for it. The whole evening was excellent.

Gert and his team are extremely attentive and friendly, they could not do enough for us.

All in all a fabulous stay and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piper4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
294
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend at Hillside to get a break from the busy London life -and what a lovely break it was. Hillside is a very charming and stylish hotel, which offers an atmosphere of total relaxation.
From the point you enter the premises you are in for a treat! Gorgeous interior - a fresh mix of Scandinavian design and Danish artwork. The view, spectacular - you are overlooking Ventnor and the bay, which you can enjoy from the lovely garden or from the amazing Orangery (taking your pre-dinner drink here is a treat in itself :)).
The Hillside team is suberb, warm and welcoming, making you feel 100% at home.
We'll definately return, it's our perfect London get-away!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmathiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We recently spent a simply lovely few days at this delightful Hotel, a wonderful welcome by Gert and his team, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so relaxed and very spoilt ! The Hotel is quite immaculate and furnished with amazing Danish art and furnishings. It is also set in a beautiful hillside overlooking the sea. The food was delicious too with excellent service.
We most certainly will return.

Room Tip: I would ask for a larger room next time, we were offered a choice but wanted twin beds so had a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a gem of a hotel. It felt more like being in a lovely house - with staff who made you feel so special. The food was excellent, our room was beautiful and very comfortable. It was lovely to come in each day and have tea or coffee served in the conservatory overlooking the garden and the sea. There are two comfortable sitting rooms and the conservatory - so always plenty of room to relax.Everything is spotlessly clean, with great attention to detail - [really comfortable beds.] Congratulations to Gert and his team who have made this hotel such a wonderful place to stay and" recharge your bateries."

Room Tip: A seaview room would always be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We read the review of the hotel in the Sunday Telegraph and thought it was our kind of hotel, we were not dissapointed.
Everything was superb. We had room 1 which was beautifully appointed with a wonderfully comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom.

We ate in every night and the food was always of a high standard. The service was attentive but unobtrusive and nothing was too much for the staff. Breakfast was truly amazing, sausages to die for.

Hillside would not be so good if it wasn't for the excellent staff, including the two lovely ladies who cleaned the room each day with a cheery smile and a great sense of humour.

Hillside is though, so very good because of the unfailing drive and enthusiasm of Gert for whom nothing was too much trouble.

We will definatly be coming back. One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Well done to everyone for a truly inspiring hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large with a bay window and although on the side of the house still had a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were delighted with this lovely hotel. We stayed in the "Stables" which is in the gardens and enjoyed a huge bedroom on the first floor with a large ,comfortablee sofa, welsh blankets, new Bang & OlufsonTV. The shower room was below on the ground floor reached by a spiral staircase which was fine for us but might not be suitable for the elderly. The views from the hotel's garden room overlooking the bay are wonderful. The food was very good and the pre-dinner aperitifs were generous! Gert, the owner and his team are friendly and helpful and he clearly has a passion for delivering a top notch experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Recently stayed at Hillside for 3 nights and our stay lived up to expectations in every way. The decor is good and the all the rooms spotlessly clean. What impressed most of all was the way that Gert and his team make everyone so welcome. It seems effortless when people get it right but they certainly have paid attention to detail and put their guests first. We dined there each night and the food and wine were both superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing