We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times now and will be coming back again and again. Hillside never seizes to deliver top notch relaxation in beautiful and welcoming surroundings. A brilliant getaway for anyone looking for time off from the hustle and bustle of city life and dwelling!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meldgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Wonderful Hotel with good food lovely views superb scandinavian decor and on top of that Gert and his, team make you feel as if you are at home nothing is too much trouble and spotlessly clean

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bornholm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. Scandanavian hospitality at its best, the team were very welcoming and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings beautiful. The food was superb!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury , UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We loved this place so much back in April (see earlier review) that we visited again. Its a brilliantly run establishment with exquisite decor, a wonderful host (Gert), attentive staff (particularly Petra) and delicious food......plus red squirrels in the garden!

Having cycled round the island in April, on this occasion we were mountain biking - loads of well marked bridle ways offering stunning views of the Island and its coastline. I can see why the IOW is voted one of the best cycling destinations in the UK. Gert was happy to store our bikes in his garage.

We finished the weekend with a visit to the crab shack in Steephill Cove - a delightful place close to Ventnor, offering delicious fresh crab sandwiches caught by the owner from his boat in a wonderful sheltered, picturesque but uncommercialised setting.

I'm sure we will be back again. Cant recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hillside folllowing my daugthers wedding the previous weekend.
I must say the hotel was stunning; our room overlooked Ventnor and the bay, it was spotless and had fantastic goose feather and down duvets. Gert and his staff were very attentive, nothing was to much. The food was very good, we had dinner there for 3 nights, which was amazing.
I would highly recommend a stay at the Hillside.

Room Tip: we stayed in room no 9, the bedroom was adequate and the bathroom was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We cannot recommend Hillside highly enough. Every effort is made to ensure guests have a lovely stay, nothing is too much trouble and there is that old fashioned thing called "service with a smile"!!!! We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Managed to get away from London to visit Hillside again last weekend and things are just as super as they were last time. So relaxing and fantastic weather to boot. Champagne and Seafood themed dinner just made it even better. :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBlue68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
160 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing