We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay and still exceeding expectations............”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury , UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3rd stay and still exceeding expectations............”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We enjoyed our previous stays so much (and the cycling opportunities on the IOW) that we booked again. Gert and the team really know the meaning of the word hospitality and it is testiment to them that we again found our expecations being exceeded......we only stayed two nights but felt like we had been away for a week. Spotlessly clean, one of the best breakfasts I can remember (sufficient to fuel a lap of the island on our bikes without much of stop!!) and first class attentive service.

We dined at hillside both evenings and we were treated to great food. When we go again we will try Gerts new (ish) restaurant in the town which I believe is called Bistro, just for a change.

A couple of the guests we spoke to during our stay were grumbling about rigid check in / check out times and the absense of flexibility on the dining time which is set at 7.00 oclock. I think this would be valid criticism of a larger hotel but I would class hillside as a boutique B & B / small hotel were this kind of practice , in our experience, is common.

Already looking forward to our next trip.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

For the sunniest part of the Isle of Wight we got mainly wet, but did get the chance to enjoy the superb garden for coffee one afternoon, the conservatory and garden are a great extension when the weather permits.
Trying to describe the hotel is a challenge, but a good one! It is individual, immaculate and friendly. Booking the restaurant is worth it, everything possible is local and the wine list is reasonable. If you like arts, are something of a foodie and appreciate quality, this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I went to this guest House with my sisters for my birthday.The rooms were spotless,well done cleaning team.
The views were lovely,a great location for visiting.The only thing we thought was strange,we had to ring on the front door bell to enter the house,and that was only if no one was behind the curtains watching us ,to open the door before we rang the bell.
The beds were really comfortable,which makes a lovely change from a lot of hotels and guest houses.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fOOdtrip65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Boy was it wet but Hiiside was superb:- a warm welcome, cosy rooms, interesting wine list and fab food all offset the miserable weather.
Small bits were 7.00pm eating time a little too early I feel and the individual single duvets are an art form I didnt enjoy
Overall a first class stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Like other trip advisor users, we have stayed at many small hotels but none can match Hillside for satisfaction. From the welcome on arrival throughout our 4 night stay we received outstanding care, kindness and determination to please and we must give special praise to Gerard for his delicious cooking. The renovation of the property has resulted in a delightful combination of the old with the fresh brightness of the Scandinavian decor. Thank you to Gert and his delightful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our second visit and as with the first time it was a very pleasurable trip. The rooms and food were as usual very good. Gert was as ever attentive and charming.
We also ate at the new Hillside Bistro in Ventnor. The food and service was excellent. So if you would rather not eat at the hotel this is a very good alternative

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nothing too much trouble - Gert is a consummate host who values all his customers. The perfect place to stay - even looked out for my pregnant wife!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbeyfield_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing