We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers View”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golfers View”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As a group of 4 golfers we had a great 3 night stay at Hillside. The rooms and furnishings were crisp and clean and the service was friendly and could not be faulted. The taster menu in the hotel restaurant was a delight - comprising fresh, quality ingredients cooked with imagination and skill. The Bistro restaurant was equally good with a change of cooking style but set in a similar decor with an art theme that stimulates discussion of the modern pictures.

Golf on the island affords some stunning views (Freshwater Bay) and charming scenery (Shanklin & Sandown) whilst the local friendliness of the 12 hole Ventnor course was a real pleasure. Whilst they may not be championship courses they have plenty of challenges and provided us with really good golf in a welcoming atmosphere. I would recommend the Hillside to any small group of golfers looking for a high quality base and place to relax and enjoy excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It is funny how you can read reviews on trip advisor and one person can leave a rating 5 for the same service as another leaves a 1 or 2. That is really the case with this hotel. If you want a beautifully decorated and clean hotel with extremely attentive service then this is the hotel for you. Nothing is too much trouble for Gert and his staff. The breakfast and dinner were all very nice and as I am a cook myself I have reasonably high expectations. The service is VERY attentive. They clearly are very proud of their hotel and all treat it like their own very precious home. We thought it a little strange when we were first shown to our room the lady took her shoes off when she went up the stairs. Although we were told we did not have to do so it did make a feel a bit subconscious. The only complaint we had was that our room, though really lovely with fabulous enormous windows, was quite chilly. After we told them Gert fell over backwards making sure it was warm enough by putting a heater in whenever we were out. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just back from our second visit to Hillside and it's even better than last year (which is saying something). The welcome is warm and hospitable, the accommodation of the highest standard, and the place exudes a self-confident charm and sense of style.

Food and wine are terrific, and are enhanced by the opening of the Hillside Bistro in town five minutes away. It's a superb pace to retreat to and unwind in, and the team who run it are excellent.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Truly one of the best short breaks we have ever had. First time we have been away over Christmas as a couple, so weren't quite sure what to expect as this was a package offered by the hotel. It exceeded my (high) expectations by quite a margin. Food was fantastic, room comfortable and the service was way beyond the bounds of normal duty. From start to finish, we were made most welcome. Fabulous experience.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view, which was good, of course, but the weather wasn't great, so the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Isle of Wight and spent three nights at the Hillside Hotel.
As reported by others, Gert was a most attentive host and all members of staff were equally charming and helpful.. Gert has clearly spent a lot on the refurbishment of Hillside and the building and grounds are in immaculate condition. However, the minimalistic style was not to our taste. He was very protective of his pale cream carpets which are fitted throughout much of the house to the point that he took his shoes off before carrying our luggage upstairs, making us feel that we should do the same.
Our bedroom had lovely views over Ventnor and out to sea but we were surprised to find that it had no tea/coffee making facilities for a morning cup of tea in bed. When we asked for some we were told that we could have tea downstairs but not in our room! This is something one might expect in any self respecting hotel.
There was one warm and comfortable lounge and one that was somewhat austere but the dining room, with a bare oak floor, modern Nordic wood tables and chairs was unrelieved by rugs, curtains or even table clothes and hence was stark and somewhat noisy, even with only two tables occupied.
As we had arrived on a Sunday we had dinner that evening at the Bistro in town, owned by Gert, where we had an excellent meal served by a charming waitress. Dinners on the two following evenings were taken at the hotel where, sadly, the standard was not up to that enjoyed on Sunday evening at the Bistro, surprising since we had to choose our meal several days beforehand to allow the chef time to get it right!
Breakfasts, served between the limited hours of 0800 and 0900, were also disappointing. In particular, the 'Full English Breakfast's were not freshly cooked even though there were only four guests staying! We discovered later that the chef had everything cooked by 0745 - no wonder the bacon & eggs were dried up!
I'm sorry if I sound negative, but having read the earlier glowing reports before arriving at Hillside I was expecting our stay to be of a much higher standard than it turned out to be. I am reminded of the story of 'The Emperor's New Clothes'.
We will not be returning to Hillside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank jasiknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My bride and I honeymooned on the Isle of Wight in October and the Hillside Hotel was the perfect location for us. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, including giving us tea and biscuits in a sitting room each afternoon after we returned from exploring the island. Our room was warm and comfortable and the view of the English Channel was great. Breakfast was served each morning and dinner was available in the hotel most evenings. On evenings the restaurant was not open Gert made sure we had no problems finding an excellent meal at Hillside Bistro in town. We bought bus passes and managed to tour all parts of the island, made even easier by the bus stop just down the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hillside Hotel from 1 to 4 November 2012. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome and comfortable. Gert has thoughtfully converted a property of great potential into a destination that delivers. The decor is bright and light, with south facing windows everywhere. There are many delightful places to chat, read a book, or enjoy a cozy fire both inside and outside. The view over Ventnor and out to the Channel is wonderful. Gert vets all his guests to ensure that everyone has a friendly and peaceful visit. He is attentive to all and the result is that everyone enjoys their stay. A special note must be made of the custom beds--they are so comfortable, when I first got in, I laughed out loud!

I highly recommend Hillside Hotel and if you are looking for a small personal hotel, I can't imagine a better place to stay on the Isle of Wight. Frankly, I'd rate it as one of the best little hotels I have stayed at anywhere.

Gert, If you happen to read this, I will be back for a spin in the Nordic Cruiser!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing