We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacqui & Michael”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jacqui & Michael”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arriving in the car park we were immediately & warmly greeted by Gert & offered complimentary tea or coffee. The room was very clean with lovely high quality bed linen, I really appreciated the down pillows & there were fresh white towels in the sparkling en suite .There are stunning paintings adorning the walls where ever you look & historical photos & documents in the lovely reading room . The only disappointment was the unavoidable road noise heard through the lovely sash windows,( this luckily quietened down by 10pm ish) & no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. We would definately ensure that we request a sea view or a room overlooking the stunning gardens when booking a return visit. Consider booking in for dinner at the hotel or their Bistro in town. Hillside is a beautiful thatched listed building set in lovely grounds & our stay was made all the more enjoyable by the 1st class service provided by hardworking & super attentive Gert & his team. Breakfast was 8-9am, a lovely choice of continental or cooked full english etc.We left with a gift of homemade marmalaide, a nice touch!. Thank you

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or bothered by noise ask for a room further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Everything about this place was a delight. Cleanliness and service was, more than, excellent. All the team members were helpful, polite and friendly. The food and wine was just wonderful. We'll definitely be returning, it's the perfect place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoM-F34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend here as a base for walking and eating crab! Lovely rooms, although we didn't have one on the front with sea views it was still bright, spacious and relaxing. Comfortable beds, linen and towels. Filtered water was a nice touch and the first tea or coffee was on them. That said we would have preferred to have a kettle in our room. Breakfast was a good selection, served 8-9 so if you like a lay in on weekends this may not suit. The wifi is fast which was important to us and there is a lovely reading lounge and sunny terrace and patio. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, typically high touch Scandinavian service ethos, and work incredibly hard. We would thoroughly recommend the place and I suspect will return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slmorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at this wonderful hotel on Isle of Wight and we loved every minute. A place filled with atmosphere and beautifully decorated with classic Danish furniture and a lot of exciting painting all around. The place is run by Danish Gert and his team who all went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. AND we did! We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and at the Bistro (the same owner). Both places we had fantastic meals.
I would certainly recommend this place to others and would definitely like to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a super little hotel, extremely well run with spotless and chic decor and lovely floors. The service was great too. The food was good too and the food at the Bistro under the same ownership was excellent and great fun watching the chef put all the food together. The small but very delicious wine list was good value.

A few small grumbles, we arrived to a room which had a 5 foot bed (we had been told it would have been 6 foot also there was some traffic noise) however when we told Gert we were moved to no 12 a lovely downstairs room.The shower room is very small and there is not much shelf space and I agree with another reviewer that breakfast till 9.30 would have been nice. However we would certainly recommend this place and go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My girlfriend and I have just come back from a short break on the Isle of Wight and, I've got to say, this hotel was perfect! It was easy to find and when we drove up a lady came outside to welcome us which was the first tick in the box. The room was fantastic. When I booked I asked for a room with a view and wow did we get one. Facing straight out to the sea; it was superb. Everything was perfectly clean and tidy. Nice size with en-suite; I think the mattress and pillows were memory foam which were very comfortable.
After returning each day from excursions around the island (I'd recommend Seaview, Carisbrook Castle and The Garlic Farm) we were welcomed by a staff member opening the front door to us on our arrival which I love and were swiftly offered refreshments. Perfect attention to detail like this was obvious throughout our visit.
Breakfast was great with a fine selection of cereal, toast, pastries, fruit and cooked items ordered from a waiter/waitress. The first morning though I did order a small English breakfast but was informed they had no beans and the waitress didn't know what fried bread was. But I had porridge with honey instead which was fantastic.
We dined at the restaurant for one night and the food was lovely. The pate starter was really something! The wine list was extensive but only one wine of both red and white lists had a half bottle choice (as opposed to a full bottle). Obviously catered for couples but as we didn't fancy drinking a bottle I asked the waitress for only a glass of something and she brought through one which was very nice. Though I can also recommend The Pond Cafe just a ten minute walk away.
It was apparent over the break that it is mainly older couples who stay at the hotel; I myself being 23 did make me think we were the youngest people staying here by at least 30 years. I don't think this should be a turn off though; all were pleasant people (we even bumped into some away from the hotel too). I can fully recommend this hotel to any couples who are coming for a holiday.
The attention to detail, service and all the small touches really do make this hotel a rarity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a wonderful short break we have just had at the Hillside. We live on the island so it was only a short drive for us, but it could have been anywhere. Everything was top notch, from the welcome from the friendly staff, to the setting. It will certainly be somewhere I can recommend, but also to retreat to when we have had a busy spell. Room 9 was great as it had wonderful views over the sea and a lovely big bathroom. I would love to go back but for a little longer next time! xx

Room Tip: Room 9 had lovely views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing