We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bourne Hall Country Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
401
41
19
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
41
19
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern arthis teamisle of wightvegetable gardenhome grownsmall hotelhigh standardno tea or coffee making facilitieswarm welcomeoverlooking the seaunderfloor heatingenjoyable staywonderful weekendbreakfast was excellentdanishhousescandinavian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is difficult to express just how good the Hillside is ,the hosts are warm and attentive, the rooms immaculate,the grounds superb and the building a magnificent
Don't miss the chance to experience this gem

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place. What a fabulous host. Such attention to detail throughout hotel and restaurant. Immaculate hotel and gardens. Food in the attached bistro in town was wonderful - reasonably priced beautiful wines. We often look back over our 3 day stay with real pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I returned 2 years after our previous stay and found the Hillside just as good as we remembered. Gert again had the front door open as we got out of the car, and again took our luggage up to our room. Complimentary tea was again served. One change was that, being out of season, neither dinner nor cooked breakfast was available on the premises, but required a short journey to the Hillside Bistro in town. Not a problem, as either Gert, or the next generation, of Stephanie or Anders drove us there. (They even drove us into town when we'd arranged to eat elsewhere one evening!) Hillside was spotlessly clean and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. Visit no.2 over. Visit no.3 won't be long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachydiplax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having searched for quite a while to find somewhere to stay in IOW to take my mother to celebrate her 81st birthday, I was expecting to have ended up in a Fawlty Towers scenario but luckily came across this extraordinary Hotel.

I have travelled extensively on both business and pleasure for over twenty years and the night I spent at Hillside ranks as one of the most pleasant and comfortable experiences I have spent anywhere. The proprietor Gerd did everything to accommodate us in the finest tradition of hospitality. The accommodation is superb, the tastefull and modern interior was complemented by exquisite but simple modern Danish furniture. We ate dinner at the Bistro in Ventnor which is affiliated to the hotel where we had a first class meal and excellent service. Breakfast was equally good and on leaving we were given some delicious homemade marmalade to rake with us.

I cannot recommend Hillside highly enough and look forward to the opportunity of staying there again when we next visit the UK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loungelizard2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was clean, bright and very comfortable, with the most fabulous view down over the bay. The service was attentive with out being pushy. The decor is simple, clean and scandanavian in character. There are wonderful pieces of modern art and sculpture to enjoy. We ate breakfast in the hotel and went down the road to 'The Bistro' to eat in the evening. The food was fabulous - wonderful fresh seafood in particular. We went as a couple but it would be the perfect venue for a celebration, family or friends. We cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: We peeked into un - occupied rooms (doors were open) and all looked beautiful. I believe there is at least one downstairs room and a couple of singles too. For us the sea view was a winner.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews