We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel only marred by early breakfast finish and checkout”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel only marred by early breakfast finish and checkout”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed last weekend with friends and found the hotel excellent in every respect from room quality to friendliness of staff. The position, breakfast quality and ambience was superb.

The only factor stopping a rating of five is that on a weekend break where one wants to slow down the pace and chill, breakfast had to be taken between 8am and 9am with a 10am checkout. The offer of their bistro in town instead of breakfast for brunch did not really compensate.

That said we would definitely return but would request that the hotel reviews it's weekend breakfast approach. I work in the hotel industry myself and was surprised to see this approach to weekend breakfast as I've never seen it operated before, a 10am or 10.30am finish is normal practice. I can only think that it relates to staffing costs and overhead control, which again is surprising given the hotels price point.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SMO47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
294
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Hillside on Saturday. The building is beautiful and Anders tries hard to hold it all together but there were some very disappointing things that would stop me from recommending this hotel...
No check in or using the hotel's facilities prior to 3o'clock, can't even store luggage
No kettle in the room and offered only one complimentary hot drink downstairs instead
Food (dinner and breakfast) in the restaurant sounds better than it tastes, my partner also found a piece of plastic In his dinner food (which was still charged for at full price £30 per head)
Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9, even on a Sunday (we came to the Isle of Wight for a rest!)
Check out is at 10 am, just what you need on a relaxing weekend...not!

All in all, for £160 you can find better places to stay which will also let you relax, Alistair Sawday's recommendation let us down on this occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmatters123
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here recently and enjoyed 5 star accommodation with warm and personal service. The building and grounds have been extensively refurbished with much attention to detail; history is respected and acknowledged but there is a crisp, modern scandinavian flair to the furnishings and decoration. Sat outside, relaxing in the sunshine and overlooking the sea, we could have been anywhere in the world! The hotel owns 'Bistro' just down in Ventnor town and we ate there in the evening, the food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Would wholeheartedly recommend Gert and his team to anyone looking for understated luxury in a small quirky seaside town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmatters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our first trip to the IoW and what a wonderful experience it was. Aside from the weather, which coincidentally was perfect, we feel we could not have stayed at a nicer oasis than Hillside. It's a very relaxing hotel with an understated clean modern style coupled with the warmest hospitality and first class service one could wish for when enjoying a few days away. We travel often for UK breaks and will remember Hillside, with Gert, Celia, and team, being amongst the best. Very highly recommended. Yes, do also trust the other reviews as well as the national press recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsWeSeeIt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having already sampled the wonderful restaurant at Hillside on a previous visit to IOW, we decided to use it as our base whilst exploring the island. We spent six nights in one of the most comfortable beds ever and experienced a level of service which surpasses that found in any of the 5 star hotels we've stayed at. Gert and his team deserve all the accolades given in previous reviews, they really could not have done more for us, far beyond the call of duty! Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay- we're still dreaming of your wonderful mushroom soup!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

15 of us ate here for my 21st birthday in june 2013, we had to preorder our food as there was so many of us to ensure they had enough stock. The food was gorgeous, service couldnt be any better, they made such a fuss of us, we had wine on arrival, constantly topped up throughout, and then a lounge to relax in after the meal. I would definatly reccomend this to someone wanting a really special evening out. Definately book, would be great for a few friends, or couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moocowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having seen glowing reviews in national newspapers, that were backed up by highly complimentary testimonials on internet sites, my wife and I decided to entrust Hillside with an important event in our married life – our golden wedding celebration. To accommodate our immediate family we booked three rooms in the hotel and the stables suite in the grounds.

This place is faultless; wonderful atmosphere, relaxing grounds and terraces, fantastic views and sunsets, tasteful design and art, and wonderful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are simply but very effectively decorated and well appointed, and the beds very comfortable. The highlight of our stay was dinner one night in the hotel surrounded by our family. The food prepared by one of the chefs from the Bistro was absolutely delicious. Gert, Celia and all the staff seemed to go out of their way to make that night and our whole weekend really special for us, but in reality we suspect that they treat all of their guests with equal care, attention to detail, and kindness.

We cannot recommend Hillside highly enough. It’s excellent in every way and we will be returning as soon as possible.

Richard and Wendy, London

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardkeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing