We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Right from the moment the front door was opened by Gert on my arrival, a tray of tea served in the conservatory and then the most fantastic dinner. My four nights were hugely enjoyable, lovely gardens, comfy bed and delicious breakfasts and dinners.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladstone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hillside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I have just spent a most relaxing five days at one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. The atmosphere and ambience of Hillside is very special. Beautifully decorated with a feeling of calm and tranquility offering areas in the hotel where you can relax and read, write or just take in the stunning views of the sea.. Attention to detail is paramount to our hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious offering homemade breakfasts of breads, jams, marmalades and even sausages, the three course evening menus were also beautifully designed and very much enjoyed, with a very good selection of wines. Bedrooms, and en-suites were decorated to an extremely high standard with the most comfortable beds and white bedlinens and fluffy towels, all beautifully set-out for your comfort. We will certainly be returning to the 'island' and the gem we have so much enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minibreaksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Stayed in Hillside for two nights on the bank holiday weekend - we had crappy weather but a fantastic time. It's a mini-hotel (10-15 rooms) - very clean and scandanavian in decor, complete with several public rooms (living room, bar area, veranda for drinks, deck chairs outside) - and the room is good sized.

We stayed in a room with two twin beds, very spacious, nice bedding, normal sized bathroom. The water pressure was good but the water could have been hotter. In addition, the windows are not double paned and there were some noisy birds outside, but I expect you might find that anywhere. We had no trouble falling back asleep.

The hosts were extremely accomodating and helpful in everyway - pleasant and polite. The breakfast is good - an assortment of cereals and fruit and juices, with a hot cooked full english breakfast. I would also highly recommend booking dinner - there are two choices (pre-ordered) and dinner is promptly at 7. After a long day of hiking, we loved being able to shower & change, have a drink at the bar, and then to relax over dinner and a bottle of wine and not deal with the town again.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Popped into the Hillside Hotel for dinner as the hotel looked so lovely from the outside. The interior did not dissappoint - it was really beautiful and quite unique. The restaurant was great, overlooking lovely terraced grounds and then the sea.

We ate a delicious three-course meal with fine wine and felt thoroughly happy to be there - in fact so much so that next time we go to the Isle of Wight we will definitely stay at the Hillside as well as eat there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I have never felt the need to write a review of a holiday destination before but HILLSIDE is exceptional and I feel obliged to tell others about it. Look no further - food excellent, hotel immaculate, cleanliness exceptional, rooms comfortable and the overall experience out of this world. We arrived having booked ahead at very short notice having been disappointed to have our holiday in Crete cancelled due to the problems caused by the volcanic ash. It happened to coincide with my 60th birthday. Once we had arrived I felt that I was being treated by special friends, nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors (the most charming people I think I have ever encountered) and my feelings of self-pity soon evaporated. Forget the Isle of Crete, you'll have a great time on the Isle of Wight. Recommended without exception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngleseyCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We originally booked the hotel for three nights but enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed for four.
The hotel is in a great location overlooking Ventnor. The hotel was completely renovated last year and has very simple but very effective decor - all white plus lovely Danish furniture. Our room had a good view of Ventnor and the sea. The room amenities were good and the bed was very comfortable, we had a job to wake up!
The owners, Gert and Anna are very hospitable and friendly. They really make you feel welcome and valued. They were always interested in where you had been and what you had done and suggested places to visit. They set a benchmark in hosting.
The breakfasts were very good, always freshly prepared with plenty of choice.
The dinner was first class, excellent quality food and very well presented with very attentive service. The wine list had plenty of choice with good value. As a beer drinker I always enjoyed a refreshing "Ale of Wight" from the local brewery at the end of a days activities.
We had a great time and did not want to leave our fantastic hosts and their lovely hotel.
We shall definitely return! We have no trouble in recommending the hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxfordshiresam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I'd agree with all the reviews so far and just add what generous hosts Anna and Gert are, nothing is too much trouble.
Had lots of laughs with Gert too - may be we have the same sense of humour. Funniest Dane I have met.

Wish we had had more days to expore and try the Hillside food.

I'm worried now that we'll never be able to get a spare room as it's going to be very popular.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireladAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £152 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing