We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven were a hotel, that hotel would be Hillside”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If heaven were a hotel, that hotel would be Hillside”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Hillside is a stunning huge old house which nestles in Ventnor's hills with views over the sea. We were initially drawn to it by Trip Advisor who rate it The Island's number one hotel and it is easy to see why. It was completely revamped last year by the current owners who have successfully created an air of comfy modern sophistication in a picturesque period house adorned with striking artwork. They have provided for all creature comforts from the divine bed, complete with perfect pillows, duvets and linen, to the bang & olufsson television. There's a communal news room with tv and all the papers, there's a living room with comfy chairs, chess board and open fire for those colder nights. If that isn't enough, there's also a conservatory and beautiful grounds to sit in and soak up the views and sunshine. Not to mention a French chef who serves up delicious meals and makes his own sausages. But what really makes Hillside special are the owners - Anna and Gert are warm and generous in their hospitality, but not overpowering. I had a genuine tear in my eye when I left - I have never felt so welcome and at home in a hotel before.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecksieBoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    39
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
295
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We took my godparents here to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary and found a gem. Anna and Gert are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has been beautifully restored and the views are to die for. We were looked after so well and the food in the evening and the ambiance were superb. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a special place to stay.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxeeLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We went to Hillside for a company seminar. The building is stunning and set in beautiful grounds and the service and food were both also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada74m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We stayed at Hillside for a week at the end of April. If you appreciate good food and hospitality of the highest order this the place to go. Gert and Anna are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely grounds and well appointed rooms, this the ideal base for touring or walking on the island.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Right from the moment the front door was opened by Gert on my arrival, a tray of tea served in the conservatory and then the most fantastic dinner. My four nights were hugely enjoyable, lovely gardens, comfy bed and delicious breakfasts and dinners.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladstone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I have just spent a most relaxing five days at one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. The atmosphere and ambience of Hillside is very special. Beautifully decorated with a feeling of calm and tranquility offering areas in the hotel where you can relax and read, write or just take in the stunning views of the sea.. Attention to detail is paramount to our hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious offering homemade breakfasts of breads, jams, marmalades and even sausages, the three course evening menus were also beautifully designed and very much enjoyed, with a very good selection of wines. Bedrooms, and en-suites were decorated to an extremely high standard with the most comfortable beds and white bedlinens and fluffy towels, all beautifully set-out for your comfort. We will certainly be returning to the 'island' and the gem we have so much enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibreaksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Stayed in Hillside for two nights on the bank holiday weekend - we had crappy weather but a fantastic time. It's a mini-hotel (10-15 rooms) - very clean and scandanavian in decor, complete with several public rooms (living room, bar area, veranda for drinks, deck chairs outside) - and the room is good sized.

We stayed in a room with two twin beds, very spacious, nice bedding, normal sized bathroom. The water pressure was good but the water could have been hotter. In addition, the windows are not double paned and there were some noisy birds outside, but I expect you might find that anywhere. We had no trouble falling back asleep.

The hosts were extremely accomodating and helpful in everyway - pleasant and polite. The breakfast is good - an assortment of cereals and fruit and juices, with a hot cooked full english breakfast. I would also highly recommend booking dinner - there are two choices (pre-ordered) and dinner is promptly at 7. After a long day of hiking, we loved being able to shower & change, have a drink at the bar, and then to relax over dinner and a bottle of wine and not deal with the town again.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing