We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled together to the Isle of Wight for the first time. We are both from Hong Kong, he is 20 and I'm 19. We spent a very nice and quiet time at the Hillside Hotel. Service was very very good and the food and champagne were great. The Ventnor town itself was a bit disappointing, however the hotel was definitely an amazing surprise. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and big. Would definitely recommend it to anyone considering going.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
294
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
baden-baden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Very warm welcome by the hosts, really great people! Excellent service!

Ventnor is probably not the most beautiful town on earth, but Hillside is definitely an upgrade for this place. The guest house is styley and new, with a large garden overlooking the sea.

Great food cooked by a French chef, accompanied by very good wines.

We will surely come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNNYBaden_baden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

What a surprise to walk in the front door of this beautiful old stone hotel! The stunning contemporary renovation with a Danish touch, sleek clean rooms along with bright splashes of artwork, made for a refreshing stay. An even bigger surprise was the dining experience. Perfect 3 course meals made with the freshest ingredients by the in-house chef. Perfect! Delightful hosts, great wine list and a wonderful view. One of our best hotel stays. Ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

It is hard to believe that in just 11 months, Anna and Gert have firmly set Hillside on the map as a stunning 5-star guest house for visitors wanting a little luxury and style. Quality is the key word throughout. The decor and finish is of the very highest standard and the service personal and discrete, although some of the large modern paintings may not be everyone's taste. The 3 course evening meal menu is limited to a meat, fish and vegetarian choices but the food is superbly prepared, freshly cooked, totally delicious and exquisitely presented. The bedrooms have a clean white look to match the rest of the house and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Situated high above Ventnor overlooking the English Channel (and local tennis club) it is easily accessible from the ferry ports to the north and has ample parking. Just off the main road, there is some traffic noise during the day as cars and buses (many with faulty exhausts) climb the steep hill behind the town. At night there is little or no traffic so a good nights sleep is guaranteed. You can walk into town and reach the beach in under 10 minutes. The climb back may take a little longer!

I would recommend Hillside to anyone looking for a pleasant and comfortable stay with the very best food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at the Hillside for 3 nights in June. We was welcomed and felt at home immediately. Our room was very tranquil and the cleanliness was excellent. The upstairs room had a lovely view as it is set in beautiful surroundings of country but looks out towards the town. We were pampered and spoilt and I felt the service wasn't overpowering, however, for some people it may feel like that slightly. We chose to eat there for two nights. There are set menu's which can be changed slightly but only if you ask earlier enough. We did ask to eat one night but we asked too late and we could not be accommodated but that was not because the resturant was full. On the whole the food was excellent. Gert and Anna were very friendly and were great hosts, they definately made us feel at home. If you want relaxation and to be pampered we would recommend a visit, but be prepared for a very steep walk into town and back (the town too is recommended).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Bored of reading reviews? If you’re looking for a peaceful holiday, in a fantastic setting with delightful hosts stay at Hillside. It’s that simple.

What makes Hillside so special is Anna and Gert. Anna and Gert are truly motivated by providing their guests with a relaxing holiday. We stayed for a long weekend and by the end of the holiday it felt like we were staying with friends. Nothing was too much trouble. They’re completely focused on giving you the best, most relaxing experience.

Tea was served on the terrace when we arrived, restaurants were booked for us. Drinks were served in the conservatory in romantic candlelight before we headed up for an early night in the most comfortable beds we’ve ever slept in.

It’s a completely unique holiday experience – and I don’t use those words lightly. If you stay at Hillside you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guestreview100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have just returned from a three day stay at Hillside. The proprietors Anna and Gert offer guests such a warm and friendly welcome you feel part of the family.

Hillside itself is a beautiful Georgian property which overlooks Ventnor with spectacular views out to sea. Our room was so comfortable with the best pillows ever, ensuring a restful nights sleep.

Breakfast and dinner were delicious with pre-dinner drinks served in the conservatory overlooking the wonderful garden and sea.

A gem, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing