We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute delight!”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I have just returned from a four night stay at the Hillside and I couldn't fault a single thing. Anna and Gert are the perfect host's and they cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. There house is warm and welcoming and is refurbished to the highest standards. Everything that is on offer at the Hillside is done to perfection. The rooms are bright and airy and the beds and linen all exceedingly clean and comfortable. My family and I all settled into the Hillside quickly and were very comfortable in our surroundings. Breakfast is a delight and dinner was wonderful. The Hillside grounds are kept to a very high standard and there are many tables and chairs to drink your cocktail or coffee and leisurely read a book. The location of the Hillside is very good and near to the major towns of Shanklin and Sandown and in walking distance to Ventnor. We arrived at the Hillside with high expectations and we were not disappointed.

Stayed: September 2010
2  Thank NLD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hillside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

The hotel has recently been fully restored. On the outside it’s a beautiful classic stone house, on the inside the owners Gert and Anna have created a modern and stylish hotel, providing great comfort and a relaxing atmosphere. From the conservatory and beautiful grounds you can enjoy the views and sunshine.
I would recommend Hillside to anyone looking for a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BjarneHansenCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I have resisted writing a review of Hillside for some time but, having just read the last couple of reviews, I feel moved to say something about our two night stay on the 10th and 11th July. The owners had obviously spent a great deal of time, money and effort on the restoration of Hillside. They were very welcoming but I have to say that whilst I and my husband and my sister-in-law largely enjoyed our stay we did find the hotel a little too regimented for OUR taste. We have a light carpet in our bedroom at home and, quelle horreur, we drink tea in bed every morning and manage not to have disasters with spillage. We really do enjoy that relaxing tea thing in a morning so, hey-ho, we expect to be able to do that on holiday and found it extraordinary that we couldn't - we have stayed in world-class hotels and have never encountered this rule before. We didn't have to guess at it because the host told my sister-in-law and my husband in no uncertain terms that we could not have drinks in our room! We did come back from lunch at about 3.30 on Sunday and did find the door locked so I feel that this should not simply be dismissed as exaggeration or, even lies by other reviewers just because their experience was different. Very nice but we wouldn't go back because we like a more relaxed regime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank petcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We returned yestererday from our second 4 day stay at Hillside and we were as delighted second time round as first.
The hotel remains beautiful both inside and outside. Attention to detail is second to none.
Our rooms were sparkling white throughout with lovely splashes of colour from the Welsh wool bed blankets. We had a lovely view from the top of the house underneath the thatched roof over the sea and the vi- sprung beds were very comfortable.
The hosts Anna and Gert are extremely attentive yet unobtrusive offering an exceptional level of service. The Hillside team are fully deserving of all the praise and plaudits they have received.
The communal areas are very comfortable and relaxing spaces as well as being bedecked in many original artworks.
The food and wine were of a high quality and priced to offer very good value. The evening menu has been extended and you are now able to select from a meat, fish or vegetarian option.
One of my favorite things to do on sunny mornings was to take my coffee out on to the terrace after breakfast and sit in the sun reading the papers and drinking in the sea views.
We will return again without doubt next year for our third trip. A wonderful hidden gem to experience in the Isle of Wight.
We wish Annna and Gert all continuing success and enjoyment from a truly remarkable hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesGillLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I cannot believe the poor reviews recently posted on TA for the Hillside and quite frankly are horrified at the rudeness and personal attack on the owner.
We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay. We travel extensively and found our stay to be nothing short of superb. We chose the Hillside due to the excellent reviews and in our experience consider to be correct.
The following is a summary of our stay:

- Asked for a large room with a sea view and got it. Anna one half of the husband and wife team who own the Hillside allocated us a beautiful room that not only had a stunning sea view, the room also over looked a beautiful patio and lawn with a water feature complete with a mature tree that housed three lovely red squirrels. What better than lying in bed watching squirrels play in the tree in a peaceful restful setting through a window that we had open for the three days (no problem opening a window at night as previously stated by JPWlondon)
The rooms were decorated with quality fixtures and fittings and a light carpet. At no time were we asked to avoid food and drink in our room, not even was there a mention in the information brochure in the room. However when someone has gone to the expense and trouble as Gert and Anna have so obviously done, we would not dream of eating or drinking in the bedroom, we would not do so at home in our bedroom with a white carpet so why would we treat someone else’s property any differently?
- Dined in the restaurant on our first night, spotted a table we rather liked, asked for it and got it.

From arrival to departure we found both Gert and Anna polite friendly and very hospitable. We are very private people and at no time did we find Gert and Anna anything but professional and discreet yet attentive when we needed them to be so. We can only imagine that some people don't know how to behave and conduct themselves when staying in a hotel
The food we ate both on the evening and at each breakfast was of an excellent quality. We never felt that drinks were forced upon us like JPWlondon felt, and found Gert to be the perfect host. The night we chose to dine in the restaurant Gert offered us complimentary glasses of port with our cheese course and we retired to bed feeling Gert genuinely cares about the customer’s experience.
We wish both Anna and Gert continued success in their business and would have no hesitation what so ever in recommending the Hillside

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We recently stayed at the Hillside and totally agree with the other terrible reviews. The hotel is more like a boot camp than a hotel and the owner is bizarre and incredibiliy creepy. We all felt awkward and like we were being watched the whole time. The stay was meant to be relaxing, but was anything but! You're practically forced to eat in and if you do go out you have to be back by 10pm, no food or drink is allowed in your room, not even a cup of coffee! The hotel is very warm, but we were even told to shut our window at night. it's a pity because the hotel is very well designed and the decor is pleasant, but the atmosphere i could only describe as being tense and very strange. Like the other poor reviews, i do question how the hotel has manged to get so many excellent reviews, as i would never revisit this hotel and furthermore this has completed tarnished my view of the IOW and has put me off visiting the island again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank JPWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsideventnor, Owner at Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Hillside has no record of anybody of the above reviewers identity staying – nor knowledge of anybody expressing anything even near to the opinion published in the above review. Despite initiating contact we have had no response and do not believe this review to be genuine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our hosts made us immediately welcome and at home in the beautiful surroundings of Hillside. A beautifully appointed hotel which feels more like a home, bright, warm and a true feeling a space and relaxation.

The proprietors were the perfect hosts and were always on hand to help and provide a top quality service. The choice of food, wines and beers were excellent as was the quality of the offerings.

We will definitely be staying again when we need a total recharge from our hectic lives and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felicityht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £151 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing