We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be on everyone's list of 'must do in my lifetime'!”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My Wife and I stayed at Hillside for 3 nights, 11-14 February. This was, quite simply, the best place we have stayed on the Island. Everything about it - the welcome, the calm, space and ambiance, the room , the delicious food and above all the delightful hosts - were wonderful. It made a 3 night break feel like a week of rest and recuperation!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captainceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hillside. Anna and Gerd are the perfect hosts and the food was delicious. We were lucky to get the last room available for the weekend which didn't have a sea view and was a bit on the 'cozy' side but was lovely non-the-less. We spied some of the other rooms as they were being cleaned and they looked very bright and airy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Ventnor itself is a fab little place and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of walks on the beach and sight seeing in low season.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hillside. The owners, Gert and Anna and their staff are wonderful people who go out of their way to make sure that you have a great stay. The food was excellent. The hotel is a beautiful 200 year old building set up on the hill overlooking the bay at Ventnor with a lovely garden and conservatory. The place has been lovingly restored by the current owners to a very high standard. Good combination of old property with a modern twist. Very comfortable bed with good quality bedding in a gorgeous room. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSTSteyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

It was wonderful to return to Hillside and enjoy its comfort and beauty again.
We were welcomed so warmly and our hosts went out of their way to ensure that our stay was happy and comfortable. Everything was impeccably clean and stylish. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel each night and the food was delicious, well balanced and beautifully cooked.

We enjoyed various outings during the day, although the highlight was the Roman Villa at Brading with impressive mosaics and interesting artefacts. It was also perfect for the rainy day as the ruins are under cover! The Garlic Farm was also very worthwhile. Whilst enjoying a delicious lunch there, we were entertained by red squirrels and peacocks which were outside the window near our table.

A perfect stay and we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank marjoryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed three nights just after Christmas and had such a warm welcome. Accommodation is immaculate Anna & Gert made us so welcome and put so much effort
Into making us comfortable.
The food was better than we have had in some so called top restaurants.
We were reluctant to post a comment as we want to keep Hillside a secret

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acappellafellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

There are so many good things i would like to say about Hillside. However i will try to summarize it here. First of all, as someone who had never visited Isle of Wight, i did not know what to expect. I surely did not expect such high standards in terms of cleanness, beautiful interior, lovely garden / terraces and gourmet food that we were so lucky to experience in Hillside. The owners' genuine effort to make guests' stay as memorable as possible with such friendly and warm attitude was a reminder of what the hospitality is and should be all about! My boyfriend and i have very high standards when it comes to accommodation, service and food. I can honestly say that our expectations were exceeded at the Hillside.

Who cares about having a kettle and cheap tea bags in the rooms when your room is so tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with spectacular sea views? I surely don't!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misspoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed here back in September and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hillside. The whole house has been decorated to an extremely high standard, the owners have impeccable taste. It is modern and contemporary but welcoming and relaxing all at the same time. It was in a great location but even if it wasn't the hotel in itself is reason enough to go back to Ventnor.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emvowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
353 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
486 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £162 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing