We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JandC'schristmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Mount Guest House
Ranked #9 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent 12 nights at Victoria Mount over the Christmas 2011 period. Stella and Mark were fantastic hosts who have a talent for the personal touch. We stayed in the luxury room (with balcony,) and found it to be perfect for our longer stay. The furnishing and general decor is kept beautifully and overall the accommodation is kept spotlessly clean. So much attention is paid to detail in this guest house, it really is a credit to them. Breakfasts were varied and cooked to perfection but the warmth and friendliness of the establishment really made our holiday special. Nothing was too much trouble for Stella and Mark, we will always be grateful for everything they did for us during our stay and wish them every success for the future

Room Tip: For long stays the luxury rooms are a must - especially if you smoke! (ashtray kept on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900CarolJ900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for a 4 night break in November and I have to say I can't fault anything about our stay.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms with a balcony. The room was very well furnished with good quality bed linen and furniture, a memory foam mattress and a large shower. The addition of a DVD player, a Tassimo drinks machine with tea, coffee and hot chocolate pods and fresh milk and water in the silent fridge were nice touches.

Breakfast was PERFECTLY cooked by Mark with a wide choice of options for the full English along with cereals, juice and fresh fruit if you wanted it. It was without a doubt the best breakfast we've had for a very long time!

You can see from the website that the guest house is high up - Ventnor is very hilly indeed - and the climb from the street is steep so it's obviously not suitable for disabled or less able guests but if you are fine with the steps then I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPeppercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I wanted somewhere comfortable to stay for two nights, within easy reach of the centre of Ventnor and a few of it's pubs. This was in an excellent position, almost opposite The Volunteer pub, which was on our list as it features in the Good Beer Guide. We chose to stay in the standard double room, as we didn't think we'd have much time to look out of the window at the sea view. The room was plenty big enough, with loads of storage space. En-suite shower room was nice and clean, and the shower was lovely. The memory foam bed was very comfortable. Personally, we would have preferred a normal kettle to the Tassimo machine as we like to make tea with our own bags and the machine doesn't quite do the water as hot as a kettle, but that's just us, and not really a negative for most people. I'm sure.
Stella was very helpful with local information (buses etc).
The house is lovely inside - they have done a great job of making it into a guest house. The only down side, as others have mentioned, is the lack of parking outside. We were lucky at first to be able to park outside, but had to move the car to the free car park a few hundred metres away, down a steep hill. You really wouldn't want to lug much luggage up and down there.
Breakfast was superb. We've never been offered so much fresh fruit anywhere else. The full English was good, as was the continental on the second morning.
All in all, a perfect place to stay to explore Ventnor. I would recommend it to others, and stay there again should we go back to Ventnor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackadderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Having just returned from 3 nights with Stella & Mark and re-read all the previous reviews, we have to agree with them all. We booked the king-size room with balcony & it was superb. Lovely little touches, like the fresh milk and a couple of bottles of water in the (silent) fridge!
Breakfast.... well what can we say - beautifully cooked and so much of it. And the fresh fruit salad would be hard to beat anywhere...so much variety!
A truly lovely find!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our group of 8 booked all 4 rooms in the Victoria Mount Guest House for a weekend running trip. The rooms are lovely - ours had a comfortable sofa and loads of storage space as well as a king-sized bed and a pretty balcony to really enjoy the views over Ventnor and the sea. The Tassimo tea and coffee machine and real milk were lovely touches. The shower (very important for runners!) was great. Mark and Stella may have been a bit bemused by all 8 guests wanting porridge and toast for breakfast, but were more than happy to accommodate and also to let us use the breakfast room to eat our lunch between runs on Saturday. I would have no hesitation recommending the Victoria Mount.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms with balconies have super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

First time we have stayed in a a Guest House we normally stay in a hotel. We were delighted with our stay. The owners were great from the onset of our arrival.
Our room was nice, clean, with a very comfy bed. Room had good facilities- tea, coffee, chocolate, DVD player and Sky TV.
Towels were changed every day and bed lilnen every two days, which I might add is a lot better than most hotels...
The Full English Breakfast was Huge and very tasty. they also had lots of tasty alternatives for a smaller appetite.
We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there.If we return to the I.O.W the Victoria Mount Guest House is where we will stay..FAB...

Room Tip: Clean, tidy good facilities, very comfy memory mattress on bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susieanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

You won't be disappointed if you book a break at the Victoria Mount Guest House. The rooms are truly luxurious with great attention to detail. The little extras such as the coffee/tea maker, DVD player and fresh milk in the fridge do make a difference. Our room featured a balcony with table and chairs and lovely views. Our hosts were welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. We hope to return to Victoria Mount soon - it certainly gives any 5 star boutique hotel a run for its money. A real find.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kingsmede Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 18 in Ventnor
191 reviews
0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#12 of 18 in Ventnor
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Mount Guest House

Address: Victoria Mount Victoria Street, Ventnor PO38 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Mount Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Mount Guest House Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing