We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Mount Guest House
Ranked #8 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent a lovely few days on the island. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Spotlessly clean, great breakfasts, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds and great hosts. Don't hesitate, just go!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had such an amazing time at the Victoria Mount that we didn't want to go home- in fact, we felt completely at home there. The king size room was spotless and excellent, with marvellous views of the quaint town, the downs and the sea beyond. The location was fantastic, with easy access to all amenities including a lovely scenic short walk to the beach.
What really made our holiday special was the attention to detail and helpful welcoming attitude of Mark and Stella. Nothing was too much trouble,including accommodating my Marmite obsession at breakfast!
We heartily recommend this place as a holiday retreat which will leave you completely relaxed. We will be back- thank you Mark and Stella for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnabellePiaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

'My girlfriend and I stayed at Victoria Mount for 3 night and, well, it was perfect. We paid a little extra for a king size bed and a balcony but it was worth every penny, beautiful sea view. The breakfast was spot on, up there with the best full English ever! If I go to the Isle of White again I will be rebooking. Mark & Stella are excellent hosts and do a mint job! Highly recommended!'

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webby1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

'This Guest House is a "MUST" look no further. It is 5* for everything. Stella & Mark are welcoming and friendly. The breakfast is amazing with plenty of choice. Everything is "Super Clean" & the rooms are beautiful. The view's from Victoria Mount are stunning. Stella & Mark are always on hand to advise about where to go for either a fantastic meal or to sight see. We would not hesitate to book again or to recommend to friends & family. OUTSTANDING!!'

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and had a fantastic time, Mark and Stella are extremely welcoming and very friendly. Our room was cleaned every day and was very clean on arrival and was a lovely room very comfy and very quiet, there are great views over the town of Ventnor. We would stay here again as we were made to feel at home and felt more like friends than guests, breakfast was excellent as was overall service. The only down side was that we could not have stayed longer in such a wonderful guest house

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at the b&b for 3 nights in may. unfortunately, there was a poor view over the town and the main road with bus transport and lorrys at the supermarket at the right side of the house (not the sea view as promised by the b&b website). The entrance to the house was steep and long and there was no parking lot nearby.
The internet did not work properly and the bath was very small (the handbassin was not cleaned during our stay). Although it was quite cold with about 15°, the heating was not working.
The breakfast was very good, but all in all we were very disappointed about our visit and the price is by far too high.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjn1964, Owner at Victoria Mount Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We always feel disappointed when one of our guests feel let down. However, your review is unfair, untrue and misleading.
There is a spectacular view over the town to the sea as shown on our website.
We do mention on our website that as the name suggests, the house is above street level and that there is a free car park 2 minutes away.
Your room and bathroom were cleaned daily.
Your luxury 350tc sheets were changed during your short stay and your towels were replaced each day.
You gave us an 'excellent' for cleanliness on another review site so I think you must be confusing us with another guest house as we do not have a bath just a very large shower.
The temperature when you stayed was 19 degrees and sunny. If you were cold, you should have let us know.
Trip Advisor gives guests the freedom to write what they please but we feel that we should be allowed to reply and to ask the public to look at the other reviews posted in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed a very pleasant experience. Stella and Mark are most hospitable hosts and we could find no fault in the room, breakfast or any other aspect of this excellent establishment. The Volunteer pub immediately opposite is a real bonus for those who enjoy real ale! We should certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobbers1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Mount Guest House

Address: Victoria Mount Victoria Street, Ventnor PO38 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: £101 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Mount Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Mount Guest House Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing