We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duncan & Tina Worcs”
Review of Windsor Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Carlton
Ranked #14 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Duncan & Tina Worcs”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Hotel was lovely, we stayed in room with twin/king size bed with a beautiful sea view , it was decorated tastefully & very clean & comfortable. the breakfast was excellent served by Wendy who was very helpful & made us feel really welcome as did the owners Paul & Ann. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with sea view & twin/king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
A great review from great guests -thank you. The Windsor Carlton has featured in a number of Heritage Open Days because it is steeped in history, and keeping the decoration simple and clean shows the Victorian features perfectly.
We are chuffed that you would return to the Windsor Carlton, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Returned today from a weekends break at the Carlton Windsor Hotel Ventnor IOW. The hotel was beautiful, and decorated to a very high standard, we had room Caroline, it had a four poster bed, everything was top quality, tea and coffee machine with pods all top quality, we paid £95 per night for 2 sharing a double room with spectacular sea view we could not fault this hotel, theownerwas lovely as was Wendy who served our breakfast, the dining room as with the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean, and the menu was excellent, nothing was to much trouble for the staff. I would definitely reccomend this hotel, and if you are a lover of antiques, this hotel as many original features and the hotel decorated to a very high standard to show case some of the beautiful original light fittings and the beautiful mirror that adorns the reception area. A really lovely hotel, great friendly staff, and I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to family and friends. Look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Sorry this hotel did not have swimming pool or fitness centre, could not retract selection. But I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so please you had a great stay and would recommend us.
Booking direct with us is the most cost effective way of booking your stay, we look forward to taking your return booking soon. Thank you for taking the time to review the Windsor Carlton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We did have a little trouble at finding the accomadation but once arrived the owner was waiting and made sure we had a parking place right out side the guest house. Unfortunatly we only met the lady owner twice the day we arrived for a brief minute and the day we left when we settled our bill.
Our room was spectacular very clean and airy over looking the sea. The bed was very comfortable the room had every thing you could have asked for. After reading other comments on this guest hotel we were really looking forward to the breakfast. The breakfast room was very clean and decorated with taste the breakfast did not in our eyes meet up to the hotel, very disapointing. I do not think we are fussy people but for the price of the accomadation we have stayed in as nicer places offering a better breakfast. Just a small moan for a fabulous week-end.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just spent a three day weekend at this lovely friendly B&B. Spotlessly clean rooms,ours (room 1) had a fantastic sea view. The en suite shower was teeny but very clean and quite acceptable.Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff, and the breakfast absolutely delicious. We even bought some of their home made jams to take home with us!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Booked this B & B hotel on line and Wow what a gem of a place. The hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast wonderful cereal fresh fruit yohurt made by the owners, then order whatever you want full english, scrambled eggs with salmon, poached eggs etc etc. Waitress was a very friendly lady, nothing was too much trouble for you. Bedroom was a delight, lovely white large towels in the bathroom, would definitely return again when on the Island. To the owners I say, well done you should be proud of your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Contributory factors to a relaxing week's stay over Easter were the welcoming hospitality of the owners, Ann and Paul (who, at the time of booking, even arranged for ferry tickets to be forwarded), and the sumptuous breakfasts served by their friendly waitress, Wendy. Room Beatrice provided extremely comfortable beds with equally comfortable arm chairs for appreciating the sea-view from the triple aspect window. Although we would have preferred a bath, the shower facilities were quite acceptable - and understandable on an Island mindful of water economy. Parking is tight but adequate, as the road is not a public thoroughfare. All in all, excellent value, deserving of its 3-star status - and we look forward to our next visit.

Angela Needs and Pennye Dawe

Room Tip: Of the 5 rooms on offer, you'd be spoilt for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent location with an uninterrupted sea-view. Dedicated (free) parking in front of hotel. Owners were very welcoming and helpful as was Wendy the breakfast server. Our room (No.1), on the top floor, was immaculate, well-equipped and provided a great view of the seafront. There were a wide variety of breakfast choices, with the traditional 'full English' being freshly cooked to order. Overall, an extremely enjoyable three night stay in a comfortable and welcoming environment.

Room Tip: Room 1 has very compact ensuite facilities - not a problem for us, but it could be for those who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 18 in Ventnor
183 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Carlton

Property: Windsor Carlton
Address: 5 Alexandra Gardens, Ventnor PO38 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Windsor Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Carlton Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing