We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class!”
Review of Windsor Carlton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsor Carlton
Ranked #15 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Carlton for three nights and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! To call it a B&B seems slightly unjust, its a beautiful tastefully decorated building, impeccably clean all in all a real class act! Anne and Paul the owners are pleasant and friendly and Wendy the waitress who takes care of everyone at breakfast is fantastic. The breakfast menu is impressive and the food cooked to perfection. Anyone wanting to stay in the Isle of Wight couldn't want for a better place to stay! The best reason to visit Ventnor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StaceJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Chose The Windsor Carlton to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary, we love Ventnor and after reading positive reviews it did not disappoint. Stayed in room 5 "Caroline" on first floor, had beautiful four poster bed with quality bedding. Gorgeous views of the sea and cliffs. The room has nice touches including binoculars, books, dvd player and a tassimo machine. Beautifully furnished and decorated with contemporary look but still retaining its victorian features. I loved the armchairs in the room, relaxing admiring the views. The property is very clean and kept to a high standard. The host's were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast room light and airy with breakfast being cooked to order. Breakfast was yummy , great egg benedict and freshly brewed coffee. Definitely will stay here again !

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a room with a sea view. Room 5-Caroline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medusa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in room Eleanor, which faces the down, for 3 nights. The room was large and spotlessly clean, can't fault it. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were fantastic. We tried a few different things off the menu and they were all really superb, the Eggs Benedict and the French toast with forest fruits were particularly fine. The hotel itself is on a quiet private road close to the centre of Ventnor, so handy for shops and pubs etc. It was good value for money. We will definitely go back as soon as we have an excuse!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Windsor Carlton. Marvellous views from the bedroom. Stylish decorated property throughout. Thorougly recommend
Freshly cooked memorable breakfast and finished off with the owners fabulous home made marmalade !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Windsor Carleton is a lovely, ideally placed Victorian guest house in Ventnor. Our bedroom was room 2 (Beatrice) and from there we had wonderful sea-views right across the bay. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated and the only slight downside was the bathroom was quite small. The owners were extremely friendly and the freshly made breakfasts each morning were delicious. We had originally booked 3 nights at the Windsor Carleton but we were so happy there, we were pleased the owners were able to accommodate us for a further night. This was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and we loved Ventnor. We would definitely hope to return to the Windsor Carleton sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I'll start with the good points:
+ The bedroom (01 - Eleanor) was very big, clean and had excellent views of the sea
+ Breakfast was great in terms of both service and quality of food
+ The staff were amazingly friendly

The bad points (in my opinion) were mostly based on the room we stayed in, rather than the hotel in general, these were:
- The bathroom was tiny
- The bathroom sink was in the main bedroom, on the opposite side to where the bathroom was
- The toilet seemed to leak. After flushing there was a continual dripping sound that lasted over 30 minutes
- The only mirror in the room was too high up, I could only see as much as my forehead and I'm not amazingly short

I think overall, this was a great place to stay in terms of the main hotel, friendliness of staff and quality of service. However, I think that for the price of the accommodation, I would expect more (i.e. the sink should be in the bathroom and there should be a well-placed mirror).

Room Tip: Eleanor (01) has great views of the sea and is very spacious, however the bathroom is very small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Beanie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased that overall you felt the Windsor Carlton was a great place to stay. We were disappointed that you were unhappy with your room, however.
(So that others are aware, room Eleanor faces St. Bonaface Down and is not a sea facing room). Your stay was in room Sylvia which has a small shower en-suite. Due to this detail only, and for no other reason, room Sylvia is our budget room. However, the bedroom is a good size, it has a great view of the sea (in other hotels sea facing rooms come at a premium). All other facilities are available, including free WiF, free parking and a great breakfast selection cooked to order. Information about all our rooms can be found on our website, we have nothing to hide and describe the rooms & en-suites in detail, there are also pictures of each room. We would always recommend looking at our website before booking a room to avoid any disappointment. Another recommendation is to book direct with us, as this is usually a cheaper option to booking through an agent, and we can describe the room to you just in-case you did not have the time to view our room descriptions.
One of our main concerns was the fact that you thought the toilet was leaking. As this is not a normal state for any toilet we would have appreciated the chance to correct this fault during your stay, thus allowing us to eliminate the annoyance of a dripping leak.

Tips for guests:- Please check room descriptions on the website before booking your room so you know exactly what you have booked - this eliminates any disappointment. Always book direct, it is usually cheaper – which helps if you are on a budget, and please report any problems preferably before you are back home so they can be corrected during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were in Ventnor for a friend's 60th birthday and spent two nights at the Windsor Carlton Hotel, in the 'pink' room (sorry, the room had a name but I cannot remember it!) with the Queen Anne bed, with a view of St Boniface Down from our window. The Hotel is right at the edge of the town and the seafront and very convenient. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean, with the usual tea and coffee facilities but with the extra of a choice of herbal teas. Nice touches included a hairdryer, toiletries and books on the bedside tables. The biggest surprise of all was discovering two brand new (or beautifully laundered) waffle cotton bathrobe hanging in the wardrobes, which we both gladly made use of. The shower cubicle was large, an oblong shape rather than the usual square so there was plenty of elbow room! I loved the large, chocolate-coloured stone floor tiles and the looped cotton bath mat was very comfortable to step out onto. There were two easy chairs and an occasional table in the room. The only niggle was the lack of surfaces to put our toiletries on. There was a generous basket attached to the shower cubicle for shampoo and shower gels and a soap dish. But the basin was in the bedroom and while there was a glass shelf above it, we felt it needed to be surrounded by a vanity unit or at least some sort of surface either side of the basin.
The whole house, a charming late 19th C terraced house was well decorated and clean with a very pleasant light and airy breakfast room at the front on the ground floor. There was a wide choice of hot breakfast items, all of which were cooked to order. In addition there was a range of cereals and dishes of fruit and seeds and a fruit bowl, with fruit juice and plentiful tea/coffee and toast. The jams and marmalade are homemade and available to buy (which I was annoyed at myself for forgetting - would have made a good present!).
The owners and their lady help who waited on us in the breakfast room were very friendly and helpful.
Private parking was available outside the house and there was a private garden with table and chairs that we took advantage of on the morning we left.
I am sure we will be returning to the Windsor Carlton and I would have no hesitation in recommending it for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a colourful and glowing review of your stay at the Windsor Carlton. (We think you would make a very successful career in review writing, if you haven’t already!) You were with a large group of people who had travelled over for a party, and it was a bit daunting to see you all standing there on your arrival – but you were the nicest group of people and it was a pleasure to have you all stay.
The pink room you and your partner stayed in was room Eleanor, and we are so pleased you had a comfortable stay. We take your point about additional surfaces around the basin and are looking at ways to improve this.
We are pleased that you would have no hesitation in recommending the Windsor Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back for a returning visit.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 18 in Ventnor
191 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kingsmede Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#12 of 18 in Ventnor
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Carlton

Address: 5 Alexandra Gardens, Ventnor PO38 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Windsor Carlton Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing