We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served us food at an odd time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were very hungry and in urgent need of a restaurant at an odd time of day. We saw this hotel offering their restaurant to non residents and thought we would give it a go.

Unfortunately we arrived between lunch and dinner time so the restaurant was closed. However, we were not turned away and were instead made to feel very welcome. We were invited to take make ourselves comfortable in the garden whilst sandwiches were quickly made up for us.

This is the the sort of service you do not see much of these days!

The gardens were outstanding and we could see there was a tennis court, a pitch+putt area as well as a swimming pool.

The hotel is dog friendly and we may well opt to stay there next time we are in the area. If, on the other hand, we are just passing through we will definitely stop off for a sandwich.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed with our 1 1/2 year old son here for 3 nights with half board.
The rooms are clean and the food was excellent (really good value for money, if you go half board) and the staff / family that runs the hotel are helpful and friendly.
Drinks at the hotel bar are very affordable and the whole hotel creates a relaxing atmosphere.
The hotel is very child friendly and has two lounges, one has toys. That was great to bridge some time.
The whole hotel including a park like garden clearly has seen better times in the past, but that makes it actually a bit quirky and we liked that (shabby chic).
The location at the top end of a cliff offers stunning view and a short walk to the beach and nice hiking trails.
For those like us not having a car: We took a taxi from Ryde for about 25£.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutzputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We got married here on 20th April 2013 and the staff were amazing throughout! We had 60 people attend and approx 40 of these guests staying at the hotel for 2 nights, they have all said what a fantastic place the hotel was. The food was amazing and grounds are well looked after. The whole weekend was very good value for money and the resident dog Worzel is such a sweetie! We will completely recommend this hotel and I believe quite a few of our guests will be returning.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with young girls, the room on the top floor has a 'Princess tower'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbaker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I recently got married at Ventnor Towers and can I say how perfect it was. The hotel staff couldn't have worked harder with all our strange requests and all my mad friends. The hotel is comfortable and relaxed in a blissful area. Its a real getaway place to go to relax and unwind. The small town is walking distance with the sea even closer. Coupled with the very hard working staff i couldn't recommend this place higher to go on holiday or book for a wonderful wedding.

Thankyou John and Catherine for everything you did to make our day so special :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebakeshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Had a couple of nights break here and found it much as all the other reviewers.. Relaxed atmosphere ,comfortable beds ,very clean bathroom ,good breakfast etc.
Parts of the communal areas could do with an update , some of the furnishings are rather tired ,they could have fresher pictures on the walls for example ,but it didn't detract from the stay.
The setting is superb with lovely views over the gardens and sea.
It would especially suit a family with children as there is space for lots of activities .As we were lucky with the weather we went for coastal walks directly out of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which opened directly onto the grounds which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked two nights at Ventnor Towers, half board, then decided on a third as rates so reasonable. Beautiful old buiding with character and we instantly felt relaxed with very friendly owners and Catherine, front of house manager. Beds very confortable and very clean rooms/bathrooms. Breakfasts excellent with plenty of choice and the cooked full english went down very well. Evening meals very tasty with new menu each evening. Enjoyed a drink from the bar whilst children played with toys provided in the sun lounge..... with the most amazing views out to sea. Our Easter break was a great success at Ventnor Towers and despite the very cool weather we managed some great walks from the hotel, throught he gaden down onto the beach, with fab views. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineM975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I together with another couple spent a night at Ventnor Towers this weekend. We were going to the island for a night out, nice meal in Ventnor and just wanted somewhere comfortable and reasonably priced to stay for the night. We got a great deal by telephoning the hotel direct and got a better rate than on Laterooms etc. We receive a lovely warm welcome when we arrived from John and Wurzel the dog and were shown to our rooms which were in the extended part. The views were divine and each room had a balcony. The weather was cold but the rooms were warm. The furnishings of the rooms and the common areas were a little tired and old fashioned but perfectly acceptable. John did show me a couple of other rooms the following day so I knew what else they had to offer for our next visit and they were really lovely...clearly newly refurbished and modern. We had a good nights sleep and the bed was comfortable although I would have preferred a duvet rather than blankets. The breakfast was delicious, perfectly cooked and nothing was too much trouble for John and the team. Overall this was a great stay and we would definitely recommend it as a good value hotel with very friendly and warm service.

Room Tip: The lovely rooms were downstairs in the original building next to the snooker room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
903 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Old Park Hotel
Old Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Lawrence
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventnor Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventnor Towers Hotel

Address: 54 Madeira Road, Ventnor PO38 1QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventnor Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ventnor Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ventnor Hotel
Ventnor Best Western
Ventnor Towers Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing