We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Highly Recommended Wedding Venue! The Groom's Review....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Highly Recommended Wedding Venue! The Groom's Review....”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Absolutely superb! On Saturday 7th December'13 my wife and I celebrated our wedding with a reception at Ventnor Towers, 3pm til Midnight. Many of the guests joined us in staying at the hotel the night before and after. So many of our guests told us it was the best wedding they had ever been to! And I totally agree. And Ventnor Tower's and it's staff played a big part in making that happen. Thank you to John and all his team for helping to make our wedding such an amazing day! We would recommend this hotel to anyone for an ideal location for a wedding reception -especially if, like us, you wish to feed and entertain 50 or so guests with just a £2000 reception budget.

I dont normally write these reviews, but I feel so endepted to the hotel that I owe it to them to do so. So lets start from the beginning....We discovered Ventnor Towers last via it's website, after spending many unsuccessful months searching the Island for a venue that would suit our plans. For just over £2000 the hotel provided for 50 guests; a three course meal plus a welcome drink, wine with the meal and toasting champagne for the speeches (note that the 6 little 1s under two years all got a three course meal for free and were not included in the 50 ; an evening buffet to feed 80 guests; the use of the fuction room, with a dance floor that catered for a barn dance, a great sound system (this played our own home made CDs of selected disco music. We hired disco lights for £35. Alot cheater and better than hiring a DJ), a grand piano (for £100 we hired a piano player for two hours to play during the meal), and amazing views of the sea. Also included in the hotel's fee is the couple's overnight stay in the Bridal Suite (It has an amazing white wooden balcony, high up looking out to sea. We had a photo shoot there, as soon as we arrived back from the church. Due to the backdrop, the resulting photos are great!)

We looked at another similar hotel, who wanted £2000 for 'exclusive' use of the hotel (that's before you get started with all the costs for all the above), as they told us no other guests would want to stay there with a wedding party -understandable I guess. But Ventnor Towers didn't ask for this -and because our wedding party booked out all of the 30 odd rooms in the hotel, we had 'exclusive' use of the hotel for free!

When you first arrive at Ventnor Towers to inspect the venue, keep an open mind and avoid first impressions. The front entrance of the hotel off of Madeira Road and the doorway into the reception don't do the hotel justice -for the simple reason that this is really the back of the hotel and so resembles just that. The actual front (and far more visually appealing) is what faces out onto the hotel grounds, leading to a cliff edge with panoramic sea views. Also at this back entrance, first impressions lead you to believe there are just a few parking spaces, until you discover the hotel has a separate car park just up from the reception -but hidden out of view at first sight. This parking catered for all our guests/a fully booked hotel. Once inside the hotel we were taken to the lounge to discuss business with the very friendly and down-to-earth. Both the staff and the hotel really grow on you. We were then taken down some stairs to the reception/dining room to discover just what we were searching for!

John invited us to come back whenever we wanted to discuss plans and (along with our baby boy) through the summer months to use the pool -all for free! The wedding Band were also aloud to visit to rehearse and try out the stage and sound system -all for free. We had a Christmas themed wedding and when we asked John if the set menu could be changed to turkey and Xmas pudding, this was not a problem -and at no extra cost! The food by the way is also superb.

I advise you take note of any suggestions John has, due to his experience. For example, he suggested we change the welcome drinks from wine to mulled wine. This was a nice touch to the Xmas theme. He also suggested we get a father Christmas to come as a surprise to give out presents to the children. We did just this and it was one of the highlights of the day. Come December the hotel had quirky Christmas decorations throughout and two tree -something else we got for free! And the hotel was heated very warmly throughout.

Any negatives? Hard to think of any, except for one annoying glitch on an otherwise perfect occasion... When you invite 60 or so family and friends to your wedding, don't expect everyone of them to give the staff the respect they deserve. The law of averages means that out of that 60 you are bound to get a couple of petty minds who think the hotel is to blame for anything from; a baby crying in the room next door (that is going to happen if you book out the hotel along with 6 babies; a spider in the bathtub; or the weather not resembling the photos on the website. These guests won't consider that these petty complaints reflect on the entire wedding party as a whole -and on a very grateful bride and groom who really appreciate all the hard work that Ventnor Towers put in for us.

Anyway, we have been invited back to use the pool next summer - and we will probably stay the night also to relive a few memories of one of the happiest days of our lives!

Room Tip: Make use of the Bridal Suite's (Room 7) balcony for a photo shoot of the Bride and Groom. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    69
    25
    22
    8
See reviews for
80
66
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent a long time looking for wedding venues at the beginning of this year, and were thrilled to discover Ventnor Towers.
The staff were very warm and welcoming, and helped us to plan our day. The dining room was just the right size for a barn dance, which was exactly what we were looking for, it also had a stage, a grand piano and stunning views of the sea!
The staff let us us the swimming pool over the summer and during the heat wave it felt like we were abroad! The grounds are beautiful, and the area of Bonchurch is well worth a walk to, as is the seafront. Most of our guests enjoyed a walk the morning after the wedding, before driving back home.
On the day of the wedding, the staff worked very hard to make our day magical. The food was delicious, we had a three course Christmas dinner with all the trimmings and it was cooked to perfection. The six babies we invited ate for free, and were made very welcome.
We had a Father Christmas come to the wedding, which was John's idea as was having mulled wine for welcome drinks, both these things added a nice Christmas feel to the day, and many of our guests said that it was the best wedding they had ever been to!
We loved how the hotel was decorated for Christmas with two large trees, one in the lounge and one in the dining room, plus various Santas, a nutcracker, and lights. Our room was very spacious and warm, with a comfortable bed and a lovely balcony overlooking the stunning sea views, which we used for a very successful family photo shoot in our wedding attire.
We would definitely recommend Ventnor Towers to anyone looking for a wedding venue on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely balcony - stunning sunrises if you get up early enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent the night at Ventnor Towers for a family wedding and it was the best wedding reception I have ever been to! I definitely recommend Ventnor Towers for a relaxing break or for a wedding / function. The people were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room had the most beautiful view of the sea and the hotels surrounding gardens are lovely. The food was fantastic and it was great to have our meals together in a spacious bright room looking out to sea. The hotel had a real cosy, warm feel to it. I felt able to fully relax and thoroughly enjoyed the wedding reception. The bedroom had radiators which you could turn on or off, comfy bed, large window, plenty of storage. In the morning we went for a walk along the gardens which led on to a lovely walk along the cliffs. A***********

Room Tip: We had a sea view on the higher level family room. Was also quiet, comfortable and warm - slept wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

When my husband and I first viewed Ventnor Towers with my daughter and her then future husband, we were looking at various venues for their wedding reception.
We were unanimous in our final choice. We could see that the hotel was in the process of refurbishment and rejuvenationation, but we all enchanted by the quirkiness and unpretentiousness of Ventnor Towers and the helpfulness of the patrons.
The staff made it especially warm and welcoming and did their utmost to make the wedding reception just as the bride and groom wished. The day itself did not disappoint:
The food was delicious, the staff were again helpful and we had a glorious time.

Room Tip: Number 30 has a great view, but the bed although comfortable, squeaks when you turn over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the ventnor towers for a wedding last weekend.When we were shown to our room it was very cold.It was dark outside,the curtains hadn't been closed.The room was very cold,even though the radiator was on.I went to flush the toilet and it didn't work,we told reception and they told us that the toilet had been turned off as the overflow pipe outside was dripping too much.They did turn the toilet on,however it wasn't right and the following morning was blocked!!We had to get a plug in heater for the room as it just didn't warm up.In the night the heating turned off and we woke up in the morning very cold indeed.All these problems,once told to the staff were fixed,however,there shouldn't be problems when you stay in a hotel.The room,although spacious,was very tired.The curtains,sofas and bedding were very old.The wallpaper was peeling off in the bathroom.In the bedroom there were various damp marks,and a hole in the ceiling.

Room Tip: Don't have room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernice p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for one night at a Wedding gig. Difficult to review for a number of reasons.
A tired sort of place, but with a kind of Agatha Christie feel , more 2 star than 3 , but a kind of atmosphere that was strangely comforting and relaxing. Yes the place needed painting from head to toe, carpets more tired and faded than I was, plumbing half up the shoot, but a nice spot on the cliff and with a good sea view unless one had a room with the damn great tree outside. Bit of a ramble to find the bedroom but its built on a slope so is split level with knobs on. And has had bits added here and there. Bits dropping off here and there too.
Food great but sometimes a bit of a wait. Staff very nice but not enough of them. Bed comfy. Tea/Coffee making facs. and TV. No mobile signal ! which everybody moans about but its great to get away from twerps playing or shouting on their phones all day long for once. Heating on all the time ( December) so nice and warm.
Overall a comfy place with good food and staff but don't expect much modern stuff, expect a 2 star worn out look with a good relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view without a tree in front and the higher the better ( if you can do stairs )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
250 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Like the next 2 reviewers we spent a night at Ventnor Towers as part of a local offer and enjoyed a murder mystery evening. The Hotel owners and staff are warm and friendly. Dinner was OK, Breakfast was excellent. The Hotel and bedroom furniture does need updating but eveything worked. The hotels main selling point is its position on the cliff and the stunning views. Recommended if you can get a special deal.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawtalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventnor Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventnor Towers Hotel

Property: Ventnor Towers Hotel
Address: 54 Madeira Road, Ventnor PO38 1QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ventnor Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ventnor Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ventnor Hotel
Ventnor Best Western
Ventnor Towers Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing