We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
77
71
28
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
71
28
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombest western hoteldining roomswimming poolfaded grandeurisle of wightextensive groundsthe cliffgood quality ingredientsadds to its charmwedding receptionviews are fantasticstay somewhere elsemobile phone signalhomely feelsea wallvictorian hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We are usually really fussy about where we stay & have been known to cut our holidays short! However, we have stayed here a couple of times now and are already planning our next trip. If you want five star hotel facilities then this isn't for you as it is a small family run business, so if you want a hotel where you are looked after personally and with such care, kindness and friendliness then this is it, they couldn't be more obliging, looking after us and our young children. The gardens are wonderful and our children loved exploring and the freedom they get in the grounds. There is a 'secret' wendy house tucked under an apple tree, full of exciting toys and treasures & in the summer they spent every day in the pool. The main hotel is full of character and is a lovely victorian building with beautiful high ceilings and the most wonderful views across the sea. The snooker room provided an evening of entertainment as did relaxing by the bar while the children played with the well stocked toy box in the lounge. We found the food great and certainly came back a few pounds heavier, even the kids had their own special menu when the daily prepared menu was felt to be too rich for them! We love this hotel and it is the people who make it so wonderful and we are looked after so well and are really looking forward to our next trip back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelondonpalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My colleague and I arrived at the hotel at 9pm after travelling since 11am that morning. We we're tierd and hungry. we asked the reception if we could order room service only to be told they do not do room service. The receptionist offered to order us a take away which we did. whilst waiting she showed us to our twin room. to get to the room we were led down some stairs to the basement!! The carpets were ment to be cream but they were so dirty and stained they were disgusting and appeared grey! The room was no better, it had an old fashioned tv with indoor ariel that we could not get a picture on at all. the cold water ran warm when we cleaned our teeth! The sink wouldnt drain,it was blocked and The bath had soap scum around the edge from whom ever dared to use it before us! The room was so cold as the heating wouldnt work so we slept in our clothes! We did ask the reception for another room but she said she had none available! Next morning at breakfast there wasnt another sole in the dining room, we ordered breakfast and enjoyed the views. Breakfast came and as my colleague put her first fork full in her mouth she found what I can only discribe as a long thick curly chest hair!! that was enough! when we told the staff, she offered us something else but to be quite honest we couldnt have eaten after that, she left us sitting there with the plate infront of us! We went to pack, I went out onto the patio area to take pictures of the view as it was a lovely day with great surroundings.....unfortunately the patio was covered in dog muck! which I steppin in! Why would the patio area for guests be covered in dog muck?? We left very quickly, the staff didnt even ask if we had enjoyed our stay most probably because they wouldnt have liked the reply! We will never ever stay in this hotel again and i would not reccomend it to anyone, instead I will warn people away from it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howarthhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This was the fourth time we have stayed at the Ventnor Towers. We have always enjoyed the warmth and friendliness of the owners and staff, who always go out of their way to ensure your comfort . There is a good choice of food on the menu and it is all home cooked in the lovely dining room with sea views. The hotel has a lovely warm, homely feel, we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We took a late booking for two double rooms at the bank holiday weekend. Having tried many hotels, we could not get two vacant rooms, only one in each hotel.
Having rang Ventnor Towers Hotel, we found they had 3 rooms available. I now know why!!!!!
On arrival the jury was out - before we entered the building we got the impression of neglect and work needing to be done. We were shown our rooms and found in my in-laws room although having beautiful views, big cracks across the ceiling. Our 'Turret' room at the top of the building (many stairs to climb) obviously had had water leaking in. Paper was hanging off the walls, the turret had odd pieces of wallpaper not matching the rest stuck badly on and peeling at the corners. The bathroom paper had water marks over it and the toilet would not flush waste away. Be had to use the inside of the waste bin to clear this.

As we walked up the several staircases the condition of carpet and walls got poorer by the time we had got to the top a servants quarters would have looked better!!

We decided to stay and see what the food was like. My In-laws had lamb which was so tried and overcooked as to be inedible. We had scampi and chips, which the menu priced at £14 for the main course. The scampi, chips and peas were all frozen, the starter prawn cocktail, was tinned shrimps in a rather bland sauce.

Throughout the hotel, there were cracks, paper hanging off walls the owner mentioned that they had had a heavy storm in the dinning room area and that water had come in, but he forgot to give excuses for the rest of the building. From outside it was obvious by the large cracks in the stone work that major repairs are needed. But we all felt that the owners were ready to take our money but that none of it seems to be ploughed back into maintaining the buildings. Carpets to the stairs of the lower dinning room were very dirty.

We checked out as soon as we got alternative accommodation. We moved to the Royal Hotel, Ventnor, which expensive but superb. But the delux rooms we managed to get at short notice did not cost very much more than Ventnor Towers. On checking out we were charged £87 each per night plus VAT. This was an expensive stay for being in a dump.

Beware of photographs on Websites, Ventnor Towers shows the Turret Room we had and it looks good. How long this was taken I don't know but it certainly does not reflect the actual room.

If you want a good hotel the Royal at Ventnor is wonderful but a bit pricey. A good clean well maintained hotel at a lower price than the Ventnor Towers is the Luccombe Manor in Shanklin where you get good accommodation, excellent food and are not conned!!!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WakefieldJohnFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We choose the hotel for the views and the beautiful sunny bright function room, we were a little bit nervous about the small volume of staff and food quality but loved the relaxed feel that the hotel provided. We had no reason to be Nervous. On our special day they could not have worked any harder. A small but amasing team did not stop from the second they opened there eyes to the time they passed out in the early hours. The room looked amasing the food quality was great. They made every wish come true and could not do enough for us. The kids were relaxed playing and everyone who attended commented on how friendly and relaxed the atmosphere was. Thank you to all the staff at Ventnor Towers Hotel. See you for our 1st wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews