We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely beautiful cottage with fabulous sea...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Marine Parade

Stonesthrow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stonesthrow Cottage
Front patio Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Stonesthrow Cottage
Front patio
Garden
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom balcony
Top floor bedroom
View from main bedroom balcony
Ventnor Beach  - a minute's walk away
Ventnor Park - 5 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful design and decoration of the property
Liked least: The WiFi was very slow, but this could be due to poor service provider
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanda A
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Relaxing House, Views and Sunsets Amazing”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This is a beautiful house, with the master bedroom overlooking the ocean with French doors leading out onto a balcony, also fabulous views from the living room and 2nd floor bedroom. To wake up in the morning with the sound of the waves crashing on the beach and sit and watch the sun setting in the evening was amazing, would love to return here soon. We stayed with our 2 children and we all had a fantastic time ..... literally a one minute walk from the beach. You will find wonderful books to peruse and a very well equipped kitchen, we were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Listening to the sea whilst lying in bed with the early morning sun shining in
Liked least: Could not find anything to dislike, felt very lucky to have found such a gem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocododds
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I just spent a week here with my wife and 6 year old son.

We had an excellent time and found the house to be well equipped and well located.

The furnishings were perfect, the view was outstanding and we could easily walk to anywhere in ventnor within a few minutes.

Would definitely recommend to anyone else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Home from Home....................just wish it was my home!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Arriving in Fishguard you will have approximately 25 minutes before you find yourself traversing the cliffside road of Ventnor. The first thing that strikes you are the stunning views out to sea as you wind you way down towards the coast. On arrival at 6 Marine Parade you have a sudden warm feeling that you have made a wise and very shrewd decision to rent this house.

The position of the house is literally a "stones throw" (approximately 80 yards) from the Esplanade of Ventnor with panoramic views across the English Channel and Ventnor Beach. Upon entering the house you are greeted by complimentary Wine, local bread, milk and preserves. The house is deceptively spacious and provides ample accommodation for a family of four. The house is well appointed with all the extras to make your stay as convenient as possible, a real home from home. Climbing to the first and second floors of this house your sense of making the right holiday rental choice is further confirmed by the elevated views and spacious bedrooms.

The owner has been always contactable despite arranging local contacts within the area of Ventnor should you have a requirement for local assistance. Prior to your holiday you will receive great communication and a pdf with all the information on Ventnor's things to do along with that of surrounding areas. Ventnor itself has pubs, a great beech and plenty of restaurants and cafe's for places to eat with the family.

We visited Shanklin, Ryde, The Donkey Sanctury, Robin Hill Adventure park, where you will find lots to do for kids plus great shopping and eateries for the parents.

Our holiday has been a fantastic experience and am looking forward already to our re-visit next year during the summer holidays. I would highly recommend this cosy and yet spacious home with some of the best sea views in the UK. Would highly recommend this holiday rental to anyone wishing to make the most of their holiday on the Isle of Wight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Not living there permanently
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilAEsse...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great House, great location!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I've visitied the IOW since I was a child and this is probably the favourite place I have stayed. A lovely welcome from the lady who greeted us and showed us round and we were thrilled with the house as it was bigger than expected and very well equipped.

The views are fabulous and you are literally 30 secs from the beach. We especially loved the main bedroom with balcony overlooking the sea and every evening my wife and I had a beer or wine there or sat in the swingseat enjoying the view and sounds of the sea. Our daughters of 10 and 14 also loved the top floor room that was well equipped and allowed them to have some independance from us and their baby brother

My only regret was that I forgot to sign the guestbook when we left so that the owners would know how happy we were. Hopefully this makes up for it :-)

Ventnor has definately had a rennaisance in recent years and is a lovely place to stay with everything you need close to hand.

Would definately recommend and would love to visit again one day soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of the property
Liked least: Minor comment, main bathroom would benefit from updating
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall,West Midlands
Reviewed 10 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
Thank you very much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$637
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing