We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome.......... Magnolia Tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Welcome..........
Magnolia Tree
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Log Burner Fireplace in Portland Stone
Comfy...........
Log Burner
Bathroom
Ground floor bath and shower room
Bathroom seagulls
Kitchen
kitchen
Kitchen
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Garden Double Bedroom
Garden with sea views
Sea views of the English channel from the property
Middle Twin Bedroom
Sea view from the middle bedroom
Sea view from the bedroom
Nearby Steep Hill Cove Beach
Ventnor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
G F
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our first visit to the IoW and what a place to stay in! Breakers Sound has to be the most idyllic place we have ever had as a holiday home.
From the moment we arrived everything about the property was perfect. It was meticulously clean, had everything you could possibly require (the kitchen was even better equipped than at home!) and immediately instilled a feeling of calm and wellbeing. Even the initial inclement British weather couldn't put a dampener on our enthusiasm. The cottage exceeded all our expectations.
The morning room was a fabulous place to sit in, with its multiple views of the garden and sea; the living room was cosy and comfortable; the view of the waterfall feature whilst dining was lovely and waking up from luxuriously comfortable beds and being able to see the sea was wonderful. We even saw a red squirrel and two foxes during our visit.
Breakers Sound was an excellent base from which to explore the island, and a welcome sight to come home to each day. It was also a 'magical' place to wake up in on my birthday and to be able to browse round the many different facets of the incredible garden - top marks to the gardening team!
We hope this will be the first of many visits to the IoW and we would definitely wish to return to this splendid cottage. Staying at Breakers Sound certainly made it a holiday/birthday to remember.
Congratulations, Andrew, on creating such a warm and welcoming holiday home - truly a 5* establishment..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Oh my, I am overwhelmed but your lovely review, thank you so so much. Please remember that all returning guest are entitled to a 5% discount on all advertised prices. Thank you Gill and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
What a lovely review, thank you so much. For £2 million it’s yours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful thatched cottage, comfortable, great location.”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is our third visit to the Isle of Wight and this cottage, and we love it. There is lots to do for families, and this house makes a perfect base. Nothing is too far away, Ventnor is lovely, and some nice walks are nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Dear Joanne
Thanks for your visit once again to Breakers Sound. I’m so glad that third time round you still enjoyed the high level of comfort. I aim to please. Thanks also for a lovely glowing report. All best Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark1384
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better Than We Remembered”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed during feb half term, a return visit and even better than we remembered! The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, impeccably clean, fully equipped, lots of space and enjoyed playing family monopoly games in the summer room. 3 generations had a lovely stay. Would love to be able to see the garden in the summer as it’s beautiful now and can’t believe how much it’s already in flower. Highly recommend staying here. Our 5 year old son said on our return home that he will miss the”holiday home!” The Linch Family. February 2018

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Dear Linch Family. Thank you so much for your lovely five star review. It is always great to receive such great feedback from my guests I really have tried my very best to create a home from home. Thanks again. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaUo...
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent three months in Europe - 2 all over the U.K. and 1 in Germany/Austria. Breakers Sound was by far the best of the 20 places we stayed. I can't recommend it and the Isle of Wight strongly enough if you want a quiet getaway with lots of interesting things to see and do that are quaint and without billions of other tourists. It's absolutely beautiful and delightful, as is this wonderful cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2017
Oh Rebecca, how so very very kind of you to make such a lovely review of Breakers Sound. I am so glad that the cottage featured at the top of the chart for your stays in Europe and would welcome you back with open arms. Those lovely beds and pillows will be waiting for you........
All best wishes
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GibbsJ
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful chocolate box cottage.”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

An excellent location for access to the rest of the island.
The inside of the cottage is lovely, we felt very at home. Everything that we needed was there.
Bed was really comfy and what a pleasure to fall asleep listening to the sea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaUo...
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favorite stay ever!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We LOVE this cottage and we LOVE Isle of Wight. East of here is Ventnor and Shanklin (Google images of the charming old town Shanklin!) with lots of restaurants. West of here is more unpopulated fantastic coastal paths and incredible views. North is another shopping town of Ryde and in the middle of the island is the big city of Newport with everything you could need. All of these are just minutes away by car. But this cottage is so cozy and private and quiet that we have trouble tearing ourselves away! It's PERFECT.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Dear Rebecca. Oh my, what a lovely lovely review, thank you so much. So I suppose the next time I visit Breakers Sound, I'll expect to find you hiding in a wardrobe somewhere ?
Kindest regards
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing