We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a couple of kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackgang Chine

Blackgang Chine
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Blackgang Chine is a park and gardens themed with a wide range of fantasy attractions as well as heritage exhibitions and adventure play. Children can enjoy playing in Cowboy Town, Pirate Cove, Fairyland or Dinosaurland - fantasy play areas to encourage imaginative play, parents can relax or join in the fun! Opened in 1843 Blackgang Chine is still owned and run by the family of the founder and now also run a sister park, Robin Hill, near Newport on the Isle of Wight.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Like a couple of kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Blackgang Chine for the day whilst on Holiday on the Isle Of Wight. We are both in our late twenties. This attraction is amazing!!!! Although it is probably aimed for kids we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and there was enough to keep us entertained for the whole day.

There is so much many different things to see and do, our particular highlights were the dinosaur part, giant snakes and ladders was a giggle, the maze was hilarious (low because of cut backs!!) Cowboy town was good and the wonky house. There are alot more to mention but you should discover it for yourself!

It is well worth visit, definately suitable for all ages....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fordfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    502
    190
    78
    56
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times before but often in august, we came at the end of July this year and it was so much quieter my children were able to go on the rides time and time again without queues! The views are beautiful and our daughters aged 2,4,7 and 8 love the entire place. The free return for 7 days is fantastic the only shame was that the fireworks are only on Wednesday nights in august and as the summer holidays start before this we would love to have seen them in July x

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clairegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was very excited to be returning to Blackgang Chine 30 years after I was taken there as a child. There wasn't a great deal there in those days, but I used to love going there every year. The attractions have developed since then and we were not left disappointed.

The entry price can seem a little steep but by purchasing the tickets that give you unlimited returns within 7 days we were able to visit 4 times in our 7 day holiday which actually offers very good value.

The Shadow and Sheila dinosaur show was a particular hit with all of us (boys 5 and 8, me 40 and Granny 65). The Cowboy Town was probably the boys favourite, with one day seeing Granny and I sat in the sun there for 2 hours while they ran round shooting with other children! Area 5 was also really good with the enormous T Rex moving his head and tail and the ground vibrating with his growling.

The rides can get a little busy, particularly on the late night opening days, but by being able to return within 7 days we made sure we were at the park at opening time on 2 days when there were no queues at all.

The food was a price you would expect but was actually very nice. We ate twice in Cowboy Town and once at the main café.

The only thing I would warn people about is that because of the hilly location it wouldn't be very easy for people with limited mobility.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Well worth it excellent value for money! We spent the whole day there the children thoroughly enjoyed all the rides ( children aged 7,10 and 13) area 5 the new dinosaur area was brilliant along shadow, Sheila and the babies we also made use of the free 7 days return going back for the evening shows and one afternoon .. A must see when your on the Isle of Wight .. Quiet surprised at the negative reviews children with good imaginations can have hours of fun !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dinasaurs, Cowboys and Fireworks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were on holiday with our two grandsons aged 9 and 6.We purchased a joint ticket for Blackgang and Robin Hill(also reviewed).It appears expensive but we visited Robin Hill twice and came here on Wednesday and spent the afternoon and evening which ended with a great firework display.

The cowboy town was their favourite area. Our 9 year old said "I like the mayhem". The six year old enjoyed the “Snakes and Ladders "slides. The new area 5 with moving dinosaurs was enjoyable. The pirate area came alive from around 5 o'clock with a live band, wizard and jugglers.

I would recommend going on a Wednesday during the school holidays and the wait for the fireworks was worthwhile.

When we asked our grandchildren where they would like to go next year the answer was "anywhere provided we can go to Blackgang"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordonCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackgang Chine also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Blackgang Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing