We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The met”
Review of The Met

The Met
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Met is about relaxation, quality tapas and fine drinks; bringing a little of the Mediterranean to the beach-front at Ventnor on the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a taste of our continental style hospitality outside in the sun on our paved seating area overlooking the glorious Ventnor beach. Alternatively why not come inside and enjoy our sumptuous leather seating. Drop in for a coffee or a glass of wine and you'll be certain of a warm welcome from our friendly staff and a truly memorable experience, any time of the day. Our light and airy bar also serves ice-cold specialty beer and cider to cool you down after a day on the beach. Whether you are planning a big night out or just popping in for a chat with friends, The Met is your perfect venue.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The met”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice location on seafront so you can watch the world go by, staff a little slow, I stood at bar waiting to be served while the two young girls just chatted for five mins. Food was only average, have eaten here a few times before but feel like the quality is now slipping. Hopefully they can get back on track as this is a nice bar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    142
    63
    48
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Loved sitting and watching the world go by. Good value food and friendly staff, recommend the venison burger !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food at The andMet”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having dined and relaxed here over many years,I'm disappointed that the quality of food, wine and staff service has declined so greatly
On the whole, the young staff try to be helpful but are simply slow, inexperienced and untrained.
Perhaps I hit a duff day,recently but my 'awesome tiger prawns' were anything but.This is a dish I have enjoyed many times.On this occasion it comprised 5 smallish dried out husks for a cost of £9, The quality of the bread has always been poor-the cheapest pittas, those grim 'part baked baguettes, but I think it's really hit rock bottom now.Most other eateries in Ventnor now offer home made or artisan quality bread.
The last salad I ate there was a disgrace and very over priced for a tapas sized portion.Cheap flavourless tomatoes and half a tired old egg with some wilted lettuce underneath.
For a wine bar, there is a very limited selection of wine by the glass and the house reds are grim.
It's got a lovely ambience and great views, but, please try and get things back on track and think about some basic, quality ingredients..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quercus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Front position”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes we found this met bar on the front of Ventnor and although not many staff they worked their socks off and food was brought out almost on time and excellent was the food and drinks and i would thoroughly recommend it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loftytoyota1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tun Wells
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rubbish and a scam”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

They have a minimum card payment of £10, which when you just want a couple of drinks is outrageous - just a con to get you to buy more of their stuff.

I can understand a min payment of £5 to cover bank fees but not £10.

Sloppy inconsiderate service to top.

Would not recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Will1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Met also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing