We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips”
Review of Mill Bay Inn

Mill Bay Inn
Ranked #18 of 55 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: Open from 9am every morning for Hot & Cold drinks, Food from 11am Full Menu - Daily & Fish Special Boards - Children's Menu Sunday Carvery 12-7pm Bookings Advisable
Restaurant details
Description: Open from 9am every morning for Hot & Cold drinks, Food from 11am Full Menu - Daily & Fish Special Boards - Children's Menu Sunday Carvery 12-7pm Bookings Advisable
Reviewed 7 April 2024

The lady behind the bar and staff were lovely, young waiters were on hand and were swift to clean away tables after people finished. We both had fish and chips on a special offer and found the portion sizes were great, fish was cooked and fluffy, nothing was greasy. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2024

Love this place. The owners are always so accommodating, they feel like family! The food is great value too hence why keep returning. Particularly like the fish & chips & had a huge carvery, followed by the best chocolate fudge cake & really good quality ice cream! I hope you realise what a wonderful team you are and lovely service you provide. It's a 10/10 from me. See you again soon!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adventure05833701848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely Sunday carvery lots of veg to choose from and four different meats excellent value for money would definitely recommend.. the staff are very helpful as well 😄

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Acejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Love this place and the staff. Great menu with lots of choice.
Had a takeaway carvery for 2 as, why would I spend all Sunday afternoon in the kitchen for just me and him indoors??!
Staff couldn't of been more helpful and accommodating with me and my fussy food choices.
Chef is a happy chap. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely recommend having a takeaway carvery. To be fair it's just as good sat in there but you'll need to book as it gets busy.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Great to visit the Mill Bay again in the New Year. Our meals of the home-made meat pie and Chicken curry were, as always, excellent and very good value. There was also a nice Real Ale on and my wife's usual local gin is always available. The Mill Bay also provides a take-away service which we have used in the past which offers the same great quality and value.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mill Bay Inn also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Mill Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.