We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

The Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$51
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Royal Hotel has achieved 2 AA Rosettes for excellent food for over 17 consecutive years and has appeared in every Michelin Good Food Guide since it's inception in 1911. Lunch and afternoon tea are served daily in our beautiful, Colonial-style conservatory and terrace with its backdrop of rare, pink, climbing mountain geraniums. Spend the evening in our glorious, award-winning restaurant and the menu created by our head chef Steven Harris, is sure to delight and surprise any seasoned gourmet.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Excellent food, good service, lovely ambience in a very pleasent hotel.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    30
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Lovely Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We went to the Appuldurcombe Restaurant at the Royal Hotel for dinner one evening in November 2011. The experience was faultless from start to finish.

Although not cheap, the meal was not as expensive as we were initially expecting either; the menu was £31 per person for 2 courses, or £40 for 3 courses (with the only exception being if you selected lobster for your start or main, which incurred an additional fee).

Silver service was offered throughout, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our drinks were kept topped up and fresh (hot) bread rolls and butter were also supplied free of charge. We were surprised at the speed we were served considering meals were made to order - our food arrived after about 5 minutes, with only a few minutes between each course.

The food itself was very nice - the portions were not huge, but with the rich taste this was plenty and more was not needed. I personally had the mushroom soup starter, carbonara main and chocolate torte, and all were very tasty and filling.

The atmosphere was one which may not be particularly child-friendly however; the restaurant was very quiet at all times, with people speaking in a lowered voice and watching their etiquette carefully. Whilst this was fine for us, it might not be the place for high-spirited celebrations. Equally, a family or large group dining here would be expecting a large bill at the end of the evening.

When we'd finished our meal, we were advised to pay at the main hotel reception. At no point were we asked if we would like to add gratuity (leaving this to us to suggest should we wish to).

We had no complaint from start to finish. This is not a "cheap and cheerful" place to eat, and does not offer huge portions, but does provide impecible service and food unlike anything you taste elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Ginster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The restaurant: excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Dinner, Saturday, on an unusually warm September evening. (You need to book to dine in the restaurant as this is a busy hotel).

The food was faultless - inventive, stylish and delicious dishes with plenty of local produce.

I'd describe the service as old-fashioned; in a good way! Nearly all staff managed that difficult balance of warm professionalism.

The Royal is a traditional, elegant hotel and the dining room reflects this. It's a lovely but large space; not the venue if you're looking for something more intimate. Do retreat to the conservatory for coffee as they have a grand piano and talented pianist.

(Giggle-moment of the evening was when he arose to take a break and the music continued......he WAS playing the rest of the time I'm sure!).

Very difficult to comment on any differences we would have liked to have seen. Maybe a word with female bar member of staff whose manner was brusque and bossy "Sit down! I'll bring your drinks over!" More than made up for, though, by mature lady working in restaurant who was obviously a real favourite with regular patrons.

Cost? £120 for two people, three courses with all the extras you can think of. Definitely to be returned to.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed at the Royal Hotel many times over the years, largely because the food is so good and so have had the pleasure of dining there very often. It has been two years, however, since our last visit, and this time, we were not staying at the hotel. So it was with some trepidation that we arrived for dinner. Would Alan Staley, the brilliant chef, still be there? If yes, would the food be up to his usual high standards? What a relief! The whole meal was absolutely delicious from start to finish, so we reserved a table for later in the week and had another wonderful dining experience. If anything, the food is even better than it was two years ago.
Service has always been exemplary - very professional, friendly, unobstrusive - and fortunately, that has not changed either. We were welcomed as old friends by Pam, who has worked as a waitress there for many years, and the restaurant is very well managed by Paul.
Most of the diners in the restaurant are guests of the hotel, but non residents are warmly welcomed and treated equally well.
Although not cheap, considering the quality of the food and the whole experience, this constitutes excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndTedcametoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Lovers Paradise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Superb ! The Royal Hotel provides the perfect dining experience ! Having previously enjoyed a lovely stay here, we stopped off on this occasion to enjoy lunch, as part of a day visit to the island. Our memory served us well. We were not disappointed ! The menu is varied, and the quality and presentation of food is second to none. The service is both quick and efficient and the staff, particularly our waiter from South Africa, who had a lovely smile, { if only our daughter had been with us ! } were extremely amiable and pleasant. Thank you so much for making this short trip even more relaxing and enjoyable. We will be back !!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Wight, England
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Gurnard, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing