We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner”

The Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$52
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Royal Hotel has achieved 2 AA Rosettes for excellent food for over 17 consecutive years and has appeared in every Michelin Good Food Guide since it's inception in 1911. Lunch and afternoon tea are served daily in our beautiful, Colonial-style conservatory and terrace with its backdrop of rare, pink, climbing mountain geraniums. Spend the evening in our glorious, award-winning restaurant and the menu created by our head chef Steven Harris, is sure to delight and surprise any seasoned gourmet.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We ate in the restaurant on the 1st August, the food was wonderful. I had a difficult time choosing from the main courses and desserts, so will have to return to try some of the others. The staff were very helpful and attentive which all helped to make a memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    30
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, superb food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent choice of fresh fish, supplements very reasonable ,as were the wine prices. Very fresh and well presented meals. Every plate was a joy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CampariCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit like stepping back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked an evening meal whilst staying locally just to try something different. Strange atmosphere or no real identity at all. We were shown to a table by the window and although there were other guests eating it was not very busy so we suppose that did not help. Choice of food was ok not jumping out as WOW , really did fancy a nice juicy steak but a bit disappointed when served two modest size beef fillets (almost boiled egg size) and far from juicy. There was a slightly less choices menu but nothing to our liking on the night so chose main menu ,the wine chosen was a bit overpriced @ £25.00 but house wines do vary so much pending location. The Trifle ordered was listed as rhubarb and strawberry ,no rhubarb and really was just strawberry's and cream. A little disappointed also to be charged an extra £6.00 supplement so we ended up paying £110.00 for a pretty basic meal for two. Needless to say only had one meal at the Royal.

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
593 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Gourmet night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We went to one of the special gourmet nights. It was great. An interesting mix of people - 8 of us in total around a communal table. Great food. Each course personally introduced by the maitre d'. And wines to match. A thoroughly enjoyable night. With thoroughly enjoyable cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Food and service of a high standard - the ambience is very good. Food is well cooked and presented beautifully. Catch of the day item on menu was always good. Starters were unusual and very good - can highly recommend the Ballywagga Soufle! Deserts very good too - the cheeseboard was of a particularly high quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janomatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Wight, England
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Gurnard, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing