We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance combined with cold unfriendly service!”

Geranium Restaurant - The Royal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Restaurants in Ventnor
Price range: £8 - £55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Geranium is The Royal Hotel's award-winning restaurant which has achieved 2 AA Rosettes for excellent food for over 25 consecutive years. Our evening menu created by our head chef Matt Egan, is sure to delight and surprise any seasoned gourmet. A delicious traditional lunch is also available in Geranium every Sunday. Afternoon tea and lunches Monday-Saturday are served in our beautiful, Colonial-style conservatory and brasserie. In the summer, we offer outdoor dining in our beautiful gardens with its backdrop of rare, pink, climbing mountain geraniums.
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

After researching places to go, we popped in here hoping for lunch. The menus looked good and we were looking forward to the experience. On arrival it was clear this was a very well established and elegant place, right up our street! However what we walked into was a sterile, unfriendly and cold establishment. We headed to the bar nevertheless to seek life. We ordered drinks and asked to see the menu. No lunch today except sandwiches, despite their website offering lunch and all day bar food. We enjoyed our drinks and the 3 staff who were walking around didn’t even acknowledge us. It was comical. We thought wow what an arrogant bunch! OK, it was a Monday but there’s no excuse for poor service!

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank RodG1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

We had enjoyed a very nice Dinner here when we last visited the Isle of Wight 7 or 8 years ago. Unfortunately this experience was not in the same league at all.
We didn’t find it to two AA rosette standard and the plaice main course had to be sent back as it was overcooked to the point where there was barely any fish to be taken off the bone. In fairness the staff tried to recover the situation as best they could by taking the other main away and returning two fresh main courses later - and not charging for one of the mains - but unfortunately the evening had been spoilt.
The Soufflé starters were ok but the sauce they came in was congealed and gloopy which detracted. The dessert range seemed all quite similar and not offering much diversity at all. Service was good but all to no avail if they are let down by the kitchen.

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023 via mobile

Saturday evening we had an amazing expectation the Hotel. 1st time eating here and it won’t be out last. From the splendid facade and gardens on arrival to the Maitr D greeting us, it was superb. The restaurant took you back in time, lovely striped wallpaper and huge paintings, the ceilings were huge a d chandeliers twinkly 🤣
The waiting staff were attentive and very polite. As each course arrived, they explained why the meal was as the array of components was to die for. The starters, Cheese soufflé, was amazing, Gallybagger cheese is now my go to, crispy melted cheese and the lightest lightest soufflé I have ever tasted and the sauce tangy and rich was a dream. But my favourite was the slow cooked egg, curried hollandaise on brioche with bacon jam. I’m defo gonna try to replicate this dish. Mains a beautiful lamb rump and rich jus perfectly cooked whilst the sea bass was fish of the day was soft and creamy yet crispy skin, amazing. Desserts were a great end to a super meal, chocolate delice and mango sorbet, how the hell was the sorbet so soft on the tongue, a sort of sherbet effect when eaten all together. Head chef is going places, that’s definate and his team are amazing. Thanks for a great experience Guys….We will be back.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Delicious Royal tea this afternoon. Fantastic combination of sandwiches, fresh scones and mini desserts. Particular favourites were the passion fruit tarte and pineapple eclair. Worth the money; beautiful surroundings along with great service and a quiet, calm atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank JIFE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at the royal hotel on the 14th July 2023.
The welcome when we arrived was warm.
The staff throughout were all kind and attentive. Very professional with a good knowledge of the menu.
I had lamb. My wife cod. Both meals were superb. The desert were all hand made and wonderful.
Surprisingly it was not expensive at all.
We immediately booked for afternoon tea in august.
First class experience. Hats off to the staff and head chef.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank 179lesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Geranium Restaurant - The Royal Hotel also viewed

Isle of Wight, England
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Geranium Restaurant - The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.