We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”

TZ's True Food Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £9 - £30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Asian fusion inspired homemade food and local produce , cooked to the highest level in a stunning little seafood restaurant . Lunch and dinner all cooked with a twist and the best the island has to offer
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

This is top quality cooking and presentation. To start with the restaurant looks great and has a good atmosphere. Service was friendly and attentive. But what really grabs you about this place is the quality of the cooking. I had the fish of the day - swordfish - which was some of the best fish I’ve ever had; my wife had an excellent steak. The small plates we had were very good too (particularly the duck gyoza). If I was going to quibble, which seems a bit harsh, I would say that rice or noodles might be a more appropriate accompaniment, for some of the dishes, than potatoes, but that shouldn’t detract from the overall experience.
The restaurant is small; reservations are therefore essential.

Date of visit: April 2024
1  Thank GeoffC164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2024

What an amazing culinary experience! Michelin inspectors get yourselves to this place! The food was creative and fresh with great service. Intimate setting and feel very special. These chefs need to be recognised on a wider platform as their Asian fusion small plates were so good. We were amazed Ventnor could offer such a great culinary experience. Thank you and take a bow.👏🏻

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2024

The most amazing food wonderful staff and true food experience made our anniversary very special and have booked again for Easter

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank michele k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Love this restaurant - the staff are great and the food stunning. We had the 7 course tasting menu via a TPIW voucher which made the cost very reasonable for what you get. All the dishes were great but the Thai green curry was an absolute stand out dish - true depth of flavours. Wine prices after on the high side with the cheapest being a bottle of Pinot Grigio at £27 (we had this and it was very pleasant) - but are in line with other restaurants of this calibre. Great dining experience thank you.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank adings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

This was the best, most interesting and best value meal we have had in a long time, and I include Smith's of Wapping and Sam's of Hammersmith. Cheaper than either of those august establishments, too! Cost £163 for two including a fine bottle of Touriga Nacional. Friendly staff. Excellent service. Two points: 1) Nobody carries cash these days, so why not add a service charge? Nobody would refuse to pay it. 2) Two hours is not qute enough time for 3 courses plus coffee. We felt slightly rushed at the end, and the staff obviously a little stressed lest we impinge on the time of the next guests at our table. Otherwise this place is a real find. The steak (as they say) is "to die for". Presented this way, it is indeed "to be resurrected for"! Easter thought.........

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grggggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed TZ's True Food Kitchen also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to TZ's True Food Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.