We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Eversley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eversley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great hotel, helpful staff, very nice rooms, excellent food, breakfast and dinner were what you would expect in 4 or 5 star dining room in a 4 or 5 star hotel. Good position for local sights and amenities and a good starting point for traveling around the island. We will stay here again when we next visit the Isle-of Wight. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the premium rooms, they are larger, lots of stairs to keep you fit !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Excellent hotel with absolutely brilliant food and excellent service. We stayed in room 4, which we paid a little bit extra for - it being a large room with a leather settee and chairs, TV, etc. Large bathroom with a walk-in shower.

All-in-all, a pleasure to stay at the Eversley.

Room Tip: We paid a little bit extra; we were in room 4 (first floor), which was large, with an extra large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelsey4419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel over the weekend in late September. Our room was at the top of the Hotel, which was a bit of a trek, but the room was very large & very comfortable. Staff were very helpful, and breakfast was also very good.
Would stay again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17, which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here Friday and Saturday nights. On arrival our cases were taken up to our room for us which was up quite a few flights of stairs, with no lift, so was a little difficult due to my lack of mobility.
All the staff were really friendly and helpful and room clean on arrival and kept clean during stay.
Good choice of breakfasts and staff always read back and confirmed what we had ordered.
On the Saturday afternoon ( after 1.30 so no garage mechanics available) my car developed a fault. The lady on reception, probably the most helpful person I have ever met, made numerous calls for us until she found someone to come and and deal with the problem.
As mentioned in other reviews, the walk from the hotel down to Ventnor sea front, is down a very steep road (for me with reduced mobility) so needed a cab to get back. Mobile phone coverage is very poor on the seafront. There were 3 different networks between the 5 of us who went down, and we eventually had to get a barman to call a cab for us. Best to book a cab for the return journey before you leave the hotel. Would definately stay here again

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms on the ground floor. Higher floors have rather less water flow through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

spacious, lovely gardens and a heated outdoor pool. walkable from the beach and fom steehill cove (worth a visit). don't expect too much from the decor. good breakfast, cosy bar, reasonable value for UK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

First impressions of this hotel were ok. We were given a room upgrade to their premier room. And after hauling our case up 4 flights of stairs we reached our room. And OMG how fantastic it looked. We couldnt have hoped for a better suite. With sofa, chairs, kinsize bed, not to mention the seperate enormous bathroom with roll top bath. And a seperate dressing area. Amazing. But then the flaws appeared. No mirror at dressing table. Not able to have a proper shower and the water going from very cold to scalding hot. Tv in bedroom could do with being a bit bigger so that us blind old dears can see it from the bed.
These really are only niggles. The downstairs is where this hotel falls flat, it needs to be dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century. A lick of paint and modern furniture in the lounge and dining room is all that is needed. The food is lovely, and being able to choose the content of your breakfast is a great idea. The staff need to learn how to pull a decent pint!!!!

Room Tip: Ideal location from which to explore the island. But no good if you looking for nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly67birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently spent a week at the hotel and couldn't fault it. We had a standard room and would probably upgrade to a premier room next time for more space. The hotel is ideally located to walk into Ventnor in the evening and to Steephill Cove. Breakfast was very good but the restaurant in the evening could do with a re-think of the menu. The staff are very friendly and appear genuinely interested in ensuring that you have a good stay. Don't be put off by the negative reviews this hotel has attracted. This is a three star hotel and you should not expect 4 star plus facilities as others who have reviewed this hotel appear to have expected more for their money. I would definately stay there again and look forward to booking in next year.

Room Tip: The road the hotel is situated on isn't very noisy so a room anywhere in the hotel will be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bickleybedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
207 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eversley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eversley Hotel

Address: Park Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Hotel Class:3 star — Eversley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eversley Hotel Ventnor, originally built as a gentleman's residence in 1873 has been in our family since 1964. Over the years we have built a reputation for our quality cuisine and friendly, attentive staff. Should you choose to stay, be it for 2 nights or 2 weeks, the Isle of Wight is a wonderful place to experience. The Hotel is situated by the picturesque Ventnor park, and our grounds lead to beautiful costal walks. The Eversley Hotel is approximately a 6-minute walk from Ventnor town and Ventnor beach. Nestling at the foot of St Boniface downs & lapped by the English Channel,Ventnor is renowned for its mild climate and almost Mediterranean feel, the perfect choice for your Isle of Wight holiday. The hotel consists of 2 buildings the main Eversley and the Dalston building, both built in the 1870's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eversley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eversley Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing