We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Eversley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eversley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the eversley hotel for 3nights in June 2013.
It was our first visit to Isle of Wight and we were very pleased that we chose this hotel!
Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the pool area; the rooms are large with en suite shower room, free view tv, DVD player and small seating area.
We chose to have breakfast at the hotel and were not disappointed. Each morning you could have a full English breakfast freshly cooked to order, toast and jam, selection of cereals and fruit. The staff were very pleasant and happy to help.
The hotel is situated on a fairly busy road, and the car park can become full very quickly; we were lucky enough to always get a parking space though. The hotel is a 5-10minute walk to the nearest beach, however it is incredibly hilly, so not ideal if u have walking difficulties. The hotel is on a main bus route and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again soon

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
58
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during the IOW festival with my partner (both in our mid 20's) - left booking a hotel quite late hence being quite a way from Newport - but we did thoroughly enjoy our stay and would come back again!

The room was fantastic - clean, spacious and with everything we needed. Bathroom was also large and clean. The staff were very helpful - giving advice on local buses to get to the festival. Upon leaving, one gentleman working there even mentioned he looked for us to offer us a lift into town as he was - very good of him!

Very well priced too considering the quality and service and what other were charging during the festival weekend.

The only area for improvement was the communal areas that we saw (bar and corridors to the room) felt a little dated and could do with a refresh - but thats definitely not anything that should put you off staying here though!

Room Tip: Although looking onto the main road, the premier en-suite room we had was quiet and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BourneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a splendid experience, three nights in the Eversley. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The food at both breakfast and dinner was perfect, beautifully presented, freshly prepared, tasty and (both meat/fish and vegetables) cooked to perfection. After suffering reheated breakfast buffets at plush ***, **** and ***** hotels, what a delight to get freshly cooked eggs, mushrooms, bacon, saute potatoes and sausages, AND for them to be carefully and attractively presented on the plate. The chef and kitchen staff were clearly making a real effort, just like the visible members of staff.
My seabream was cooked to perfection, with delicious crunchy skin; the lamb shank fell off the bone; the vegetables were neither overcooked nor undercooked. Simply stated: perfection. Time and again. Perhaps it was not quite fine dining, since none of the dishes could be described as innovative, but perhaps that's not what's needed at a holiday hotel.
The hotel itself was immaculately clean and delightfullyt charming. One could just imagine Miss Marple as a guest. The lounges had the feeling of the 1930s or 1950s, though with modern paintings on the walls, and the old-world, unhurried charm of those days.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of Ventnor and the Esplanade, and is also quite close to the Botanic Gardens (worth a visit).
The price for our two rooms half-board included the ferry charges from the mainland and added up to fantastic value for money. Definitely the hotel to choose next time we visit the IOW.
Just one negative point. The hotel has no lift, so anyone with a mobility problem would find the stairs to the bedrooms rather tricky.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road into and out of Ventnor, but there was so little traffic that it did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A very comfortable, clean, quiet hotel with plenty of parking. We opted for a Premier double room on the first floor, highly recommended with a VERY large double bed and large bathroom. All of the Premier rooms are at the front of the hotel, in theory facing a main road but this being the Isle of Wight it is in fact very quiet, especially at night.

The food was really excellent, especially the evening meal. There are not a lot of restaurants in Ventnor so it was fortunate we had opted for half board, again highly recommended. The table d'hote menu changed regularly and was further supplemented with additional a la carte and bar menu options; all in all a very impressive selection.

The hotel booked the ferry crossing for us which saved us almost 50% on the regular price, well worth a phone call to the hotel to request this. They emailed the ferry tickets which you print and display in the windscreen, scanned on arrival at the ferry terminal and that was that.

This is a great hotel for a short break for couples. A path up some steps from the back of the hotel leads directly onto the coastal path so it is an ideal base to walk West towards St Catherine's lighthouse via the Botanical Gardens, or East to Shanklin and Sandown.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for Premier room and half board
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eversley on a sunny weekend in late May. There's a pool with sunloungers, where you can chill out - and plenty of indoor sitting-rooms where you can hang out when the weather's not so kind.

The staff were great - incredibly helpful, we had a really great night's sleep and the breakfasts were huge.

The bedcovers were great - very contemporary. But everything else was a little tired. The shower (we were on the top floor) was pretty slow, and a lot of the furniture in the communal rooms was rather elderly.

One more thing. I found the fact that you couldn't even see the leisure facilities irritating but it was all under lock and key until you gained access through filling in a form. They were such nice people I'm sure they would have shown us, without us having to fill in the form, but it felt like a hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens - the views are lovely. Check what the water pressure is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getawaymoreplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful Family five days at the Eversley , fun in the pool and sitting in their well kept garden . Lovely meals and fabulous breakfasts . The Staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble . Lovely to see it so busy . Booking again soon .

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LHHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is like stepping back a little bit in time. Lovely old school courteous service. Nothing was too much trouble from the fabulous staff; they set up a table in the lounge area especially for us as we couldn't sit in the restaurant with our dog. What a lovely surprise that was and so thoughtful! The breakfast was freshly cooked and the haddock and poached egg to die for.
We felt it was akin to going to stay at your grandparents house. All cushions and swirley patterned carpets with a lovely homely welcoming atmosphere.
The gardens are beautiful and even though it was too cold there is a great swimming pool.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We were in room 14 but we peeked a look at 4 and 5 which were gorgeous! So do ask for moderner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushca48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eversley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eversley Hotel

Property: Eversley Hotel
Address: Park Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eversley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eversley Hotel Ventnor, originally built as a gentleman's residence in 1873 has been in our family since 1964. Over the years we have built a reputation for our quality cuisine and friendly, attentive staff. Should you choose to stay, be it for 2 nights or 2 weeks, the Isle of Wight is a wonderful place to experience. The Hotel is situated by the picturesque Ventnor park, and our grounds lead to beautiful costal walks. The Eversley Hotel is approximately a 6-minute walk from Ventnor town and Ventnor beach. Nestling at the foot of St Boniface downs & lapped by the English Channel,Ventnor is renowned for its mild climate and almost Mediterranean feel, the perfect choice for your Isle of Wight holiday. The hotel consists of 2 buildings the main Eversley and the Dalston building, both built in the 1870's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eversley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eversley Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing