We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again!”
Review of Eversley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eversley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This appears to be a hotel of two halves, the reviews seem to be full of happy guests but we were anything but! It seems the key to this hotel is to book a superior room only, however when I booked a family suite I was not offered any choice of which room I had. We ended up right up at the top tucked away in room 29 which had very clearly not benefitted from refurbishment. Curtains hanging off the rail, needed a lick of paint, nothing co ordinated in room, curtains, bedlinen, cushions- all different!! As a single parent I didn't feel that the hotel was very secure either, simple yale lock on bedroom door and fire exits left open all day with easy access into the hotel for anyone without passing reception. We had bunk beds which I had not wanted and assumed that as my children were 14 and 12 we would get twin beds. The double bed mattress was very worn out and sagging. The windows and doors rattled all the time and we only had a shower which wasn't a major problem but again would have been nice to have been offered the choice. Breakfast was ok, nice cooked but not much choice of cold, cereals etc..The public areas of the hotel we found extremely dated, very dark and dingy in the dining room and a very odd mixture of furnishings and décor. Also I agree with a previous reviewer the hotel generally smelt a bit musty!! We were also a little confused when there were dogs staying in the hotel, there was no mention of this being allowed on the website and its not something we have experienced before in £120+ a night hotels. My daughter is a little scared of dogs ...luckily they were only small dogs but nonetheless this should be made clear as some people really don't like dogs or worse still are allergic! The staff were indifferent, friendly on arrival but then on the most part didn't talk to us again with the exception of a lovely girl who worked mainly in the restaurant serving breakfast, wish I knew her name to give special mention as she was probably the best thing about our stay here. Clearly people have different experiences at this hotel but in a hotel of this standard/cost all guests should be having the same experience and receiving the same service and that is most definitely not the case. Admittedly I didn't complain on arrival, I just mentioned some of the things that we weren't happy with on departure, after all they can't redecorate overnight or ask the guests with dogs to leave, they were full so I knew we couldn't be moved, therefore we made the best of it and just let them know that we were not overly happy with our stay, we did get a fairly lame "oh sorry you should have said we may have been able to help". I wouldn't stay here again ...especially not with children its so old fashioned and in my opinion not geared up for them. There are better Hotels on the Isle of Wight in the same price bracket.

Room Tip: Choose only superior or refurbished rooms...or another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in July 2013.The place was well decorated and furnished, and our rooms were comfortable and well equipped except for the telephone being missing, and this was put right as soon as we mentioned it.
Our room was clean like the rest of the hotel and it was serviced well each day.
We ate in the restaurant on each of the four nights and found the food to very good quality, well cooked and presented and the service from the young waiters and waitresses faultless, although the menu changed little from day to day.
Thanks to the efficient friendly staff who made sure our stay was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked a table for a Birthday meal on a Wednesday evening at the Eversley Hotel during our IOW Holiday, and had remarkable service from the lovely young receptionist who took the booking then ''doubled up" as one of the waitresses on the evening and the friendly barman.
The ambience of the dining room was as we expected.
The meal portions were more than generous and the quality of the food was good.
My stroganoff was enough for two people and I'm a big eater!
Our only criticism was the substitution of lemonade with soda water and not being asked if that was acceptable at times of ordering drinks - believe me, drinks don't taste right!
Good customer care and thanks for a memorable enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we visited this hotel in may 2013 our third visit,hotel has had a refurb nice rooms walk in
showers flat sreen tv etc,but at the cost of poor service.Same menu all week so you run out
of choices cannot speak for sundays,poor room service last day room was not cleaned,curtain
rail track not repaired as promised,this a shame as this was a nice hotel,but a lot of minor
but important details need to be looked at.We will not be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We went here for a friends retirement dinner - second time for a restaurant visit as we are local - the food is not what we expected on both visits - we did not expect the standard. Well prepared fresh food served with excellent service & good value. Looks like the place could do with a bit of updating but don't be put off - its a well run establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the eversley hotel for 3nights in June 2013.
It was our first visit to Isle of Wight and we were very pleased that we chose this hotel!
Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the pool area; the rooms are large with en suite shower room, free view tv, DVD player and small seating area.
We chose to have breakfast at the hotel and were not disappointed. Each morning you could have a full English breakfast freshly cooked to order, toast and jam, selection of cereals and fruit. The staff were very pleasant and happy to help.
The hotel is situated on a fairly busy road, and the car park can become full very quickly; we were lucky enough to always get a parking space though. The hotel is a 5-10minute walk to the nearest beach, however it is incredibly hilly, so not ideal if u have walking difficulties. The hotel is on a main bus route and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again soon

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during the IOW festival with my partner (both in our mid 20's) - left booking a hotel quite late hence being quite a way from Newport - but we did thoroughly enjoy our stay and would come back again!

The room was fantastic - clean, spacious and with everything we needed. Bathroom was also large and clean. The staff were very helpful - giving advice on local buses to get to the festival. Upon leaving, one gentleman working there even mentioned he looked for us to offer us a lift into town as he was - very good of him!

Very well priced too considering the quality and service and what other were charging during the festival weekend.

The only area for improvement was the communal areas that we saw (bar and corridors to the room) felt a little dated and could do with a refresh - but thats definitely not anything that should put you off staying here though!

Room Tip: Although looking onto the main road, the premier en-suite room we had was quiet and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BourneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eversley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eversley Hotel

Address: Park Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £84 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eversley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eversley Hotel Ventnor, originally built as a gentleman's residence in 1873 has been in our family since 1964. Over the years we have built a reputation for our quality cuisine and friendly, attentive staff. Should you choose to stay, be it for 2 nights or 2 weeks, the Isle of Wight is a wonderful place to experience. The Hotel is situated by the picturesque Ventnor park, and our grounds lead to beautiful costal walks. The Eversley Hotel is approximately a 6-minute walk from Ventnor town and Ventnor beach. Nestling at the foot of St Boniface downs & lapped by the English Channel,Ventnor is renowned for its mild climate and almost Mediterranean feel, the perfect choice for your Isle of Wight holiday. The hotel consists of 2 buildings the main Eversley and the Dalston building, both built in the 1870's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Eversley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eversley Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing