We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eversley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
No24 Ventnor(Ventnor)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Maur(Ventnor)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Leconfield(Bonchurch)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
58
60
27
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
60
27
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelpremier roomisle of wighttea and coffee makingnice quiet locationthree stargood sizewould stay againshort breakcoastal pathfawlty towerslovely hotelstorage spaceswimming pooltraditional hotelsouth coastnice room
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have visited the Eversley during the Christmas period for 10 years, sometimes Twixtmas, sometimes Christmas and sometimes New Year. This year we came for Twitmas and we were very disappointed. The staff seemed to have been pared down to the barest minimal and were overworked. The only friendly face we saw was Paul. One of our party was poorly one day but when I asked if anyone else had been poorly I was told that she must have ' brought it with her ' I found this particularly upsetting. No one ever asked how she was or if she needed anything. The food, usually outstanding, wasn't as good as in previous years and the main hotel rooms were very cool and we all felt chilly. On our recommendation friends joined us but I doubt they will come again. Over the years we have ignored small things ( curtain hooks missing, tired decor) as the overall package was delightful but this year we couldn't. I doubt we will return as we felt undervalued and unwelcome. Such a shame as it's usually the highlight of the Christmas season...

Room Tip: Upgrade to premier room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsybeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just spent my 4th New Year at the Eversley Hotel in Ventor, Good food, good company and well looked after as always. A big thank you to all those who make this break such a lovely break. Will definitely be going back next new year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosemaryCAlfreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

During a short December stay in the hotel, I was very pleased with the attention to detail of the staff - for example, on our arrival where we were offered a choice of two rooms: a larger one (as we had 3 people in the group) or one on a lower floor (for convenience); at breakfast the next day, the high chair had been laid out for us already; and on check-out, everything was ready and processed beforehand. Even before we arrived, we received confirmation in the form of an old fashioned letter confirming the booking - quaint, but a great nice touch.

Our stay in the hotel really only used the basic facilities: bedroom and breakfast. The bedroom was in a large converted lounge room in the "annex" which appears to be a large converted house. The bedroom was spacious, with a slightly incongruous decommissioned fireplace and freesat TV. For the cold wintry night we stayed, the room remained nicely warm throughout. The bathroom, fully functional (and decent shower) was a little small, but totally acceptable.

The hotel throughout was very clean, and though a bit chintzy in choice of carpet & wallpaper, and mildly tired decor in places, it compared well with the other hotels I have stayed at in Ventnor - especially for the price. And setting it apart was the potential of an outdoor swimming pool (not in December!) and fitness room.

For the quality, service and reasonable price, plus good location (5 mins walk from sea front on the steep path), I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3-year old for one night in November for a birthday celebration at the hotel. There was a large group of us so the hotel was busy. Nevertheless the hotel staff were very attentive throughout our stay and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The hotel was clean and our room was spacious. It is well decorated and in a good state of repair, despite what spme older reviews say. The room was warm (not hot) and had a basic en-suite (shower only). Breakfast is cooked to order but arrives quickly. There are also cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit which you can help yourself to. The hotel has a pool table near the bar and there is also a spa and outdoor swimming pool (although this is closed during the winter). Will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to the island.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in the Eversley out of season in October, which meant the place was just a bit under-occupied! The staff were all warm and welcoming, and very helpful - always friendly and always happy to provide assistance.

We'd arrived with a ten month old baby in tow, and we'd requested a room near the lounge so we could use our baby monitor. We were duly put in room 2 which was next to the lounge, but had good solid walls so you weren't disrupted by noise.

Breakfast was individually cooked, with fruit salad on offer as well. As well as the obvious English Breakfast, there was a veggie sausage, kippers and haddock as well. Our son always had a napkin put on his highchair, which was a nice touch.

We only ate in the restaurant one night - our final one. Normally the restaurant menu doesn't start until 7pm (although they have a bar meals menu) but they brought it forward for us so we could dine earlier and get our son to bed. The restaurant was perhaps a tad old fashioned hotel food - one meat, fish and a vegetable course, with vegetables. Nothing amazingly adventurous, but I guess it depends what you prefer. Portion-wise, it's perhaps more geared towards people taking the three or five course menu rather than buying two courses individually.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews